We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Louisbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Indialantic, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Located just a few yards from the entrance to the Louisbourg Fortress, this lodge is right on the harbor with views of the Fortress, Atlantic, and town (except for the next morning which was fogged in). Our room was a large, perfectly kept suite with a full kitchen and an outside deck with chairs.

We purchased the dinner/breakfast option which included a 1740's dress-up dinner with characters and music -- all great fun. Really happy we signed up for it.

No WiFi.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandLinda042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    52
    24
    4
    4
See reviews for
65
105
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We drove out to Louisburg last summer and didn't have a hotel booked. It was 9pm after our ghost tour of Louisburg historical site (which even thought that isn't usually my thing, it was pretty cool!). Called a few places that were fully booked then stopped by point of view.
Rates were pricier than I'd hoped but it was completely on par with the other hotels. Reception was friendly, they'd just finished a theme seafood dinner and a pirate was there to greet us. :)

The best part were the suites! You basically have a town-home to yourself. Full kitchen, view of the ocean, including Louisburg forts to your right in the distance. Clean, new, spacious, excellent suites. The balcony is great for sitting ans enjoying the ocean which is so close. You can hear waves all night long, so relaxing. In the morning, the sun shone through the balcony door and the ocean was sparkling, it was just perfect. The complex seems pretty newly built.

There is literally nothing open after 5-6ish in the town, it seems to exist for tourism only and people who live there go to bed early. If you're staying at Point of View, get some groceries and use the great kitchen! There are several restaurants around, including the one in the main building at the hotel, but we didn't try them out.

I have nothing negative to say. I was so very impressed with the size and views of these suites, in no ways did it even feel like a hotel!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flandaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Owner at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Thank you so much for your very kind words. Our rooms here at the Point Of View are very clean and spacious and the view is breath taking. Thank you for staying with us and we do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The rooms had hardwood flooring,updated bathroom, and very clean.The location was great.We particularly enjoyed dressing up in costume for the dinner.The dinner and music was fantastic.The staff was friendly and very helpful

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piker44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Owner at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Thank you for your review, I agree the staff here at the Point Of View are very freindly and work very hard to keep our siutes very clean. We are so glad you enjoyed the Beggar's Banquet. Thank you for staying with us and we do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Stayed for two nights, suite was clean, with terrific balcony overlooking ocean and fortress on horizon. Weather was not great during our stay which meant we were in the suite for most of the evening. As there was only one occassional chair it made for a rather uncomfortable evening in suite when there are three people in the room all with adult frames. Would not have been an issue if we could have sat out on balcony.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifest00short15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Owner at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you for your review. Our view here is amazing and it is so convenient that we are walking distance to the Fortress of Louisbourg. I thank you for bringing to our attention the issues of the seating in our rooms. We do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Our first impression came from the most friendly and amazing greeting we received at checkin. Our next WOW experience came when we saw our 2nd floor balcony suite that overlooked the ocean. It was spacious, well appointed, and very clean. We were there for two nights. On the evening of the second night, we attended the "Beggar's Banquet". The entertainment was fun to say the least. In our opinion, attendance is a must!!! A visit to Point of View would not be complete without it. (Put on your best sense of humour before attending). Thanks Linda and Tommy for a very memorable experience.
Cheers, Jamie and Wendy

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieWendy632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Owner at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to send us a review. Our rooms do have an amazing view. We are so glad you enjoyed the Beggar's Banquet. Reviews such as yours is what makes it all worth wild. Thank you for staying with us and for attending our Beggar's Banquet.

P.S. Sebien hopes to see you again
( Beggars Banquet also has a site on trip advisor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2011

The Point of View Suites was a seaside gem on our trip to visit the Fortress of Louisburg. It boasts a fantastic location, only minutes to the Gates of Louisburg, a view of the Fortress itself across the ocean that is directly outside of your oceanview suite, and impeccably clean suites with modern kitchen, dining table, sitting area, queen bed, bathroom, and balcony. Despite the luxurious atmosphere, their full hot breakfast was very affordable at $5.50, and although I did not attend their costume dinners, they take great care with the details of the Louisburg period to give you a truly authentic experience of that time. The staff are professional, friendly, and informative. My husband and I will definitely be back and will be spreading the word about our wonderful stay.
Darlene

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarleneDartmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Owner at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you so much for your nice comments about Point Of View Suites. It is so convenient for our quests to be walking distance to The Fortress Of Louisbourg and be able to see the Fortress from their patios. Thank you for choosing us and we do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Room 1. Besides the creaky door and mattress the noisy heater and the stomping from upstairs it was nice and clean but not a great value. No where near as spectacular as the room in the brochure.
Fun dinner.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Team-BREA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Owner at Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
We thank you for your review. After reading your review we had maintenance fix the minor little glitches we were unaware of the creaky door and heater,so thank you for bringing that to our attention. All of our rooms are different and each guest select their room of choice upon booking. We do hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Louisbourg
17.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
18.5 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
56.9 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.6 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
608 reviews
18.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
54.7 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates

Property: Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
Address: 15 Commercial Street Exten, Louisbourg, Nova Scotia B1C 2J4, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Louisbourg
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Louisbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Point of View is perched on the edge of a four acre peninsula that sweeps out to the magnificent Atlantic Ocean. As your hosts to this extraordinary property, we are proud to welcome you with a premier level of service and first-class amenities. We are the only accommodation property in Louisbourg with water frontage and private beach for your relaxation and recreation pleasures. Enjoy retiring at night and waking in the morning to the soothing sounds of the waves on our shore. We look forward to making your visit a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Of View Suites At Louisbourg Gates Hotel Louisbourg
Point Of View Suites At Louisbourg Gates Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing