We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Louisbourg Harbour Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Louisbourg Harbour Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Louisbourg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2009

Parker the Innkeeper made us feel welcomed from the beginning. We were advised that our room was small, but we assured him that cleanliness took precendence over room size and we were not disappointed, it was spotless. Breakfast was very well presented and tasty. It is within walking distance of downtown, so very convenient. Dining at the Grubstake was the best choice. Not a far drive from the town is one of the most beautiful coastal sights. The Louisbourg lighthouse, a view of the fortress and some stunning seadside rock cliffs provide awesome photo opportunities.
Louisbourg is truly a gem of Nova Scotia .

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShutterbugFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    23
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
115
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

My husband and I just returned from a holiday tour of Nova Scotia and all of the B&B's we stayed in, Louisbourg Harbour Inn was definitely our favorite! Everything was as nice as we had hoped, our room, the inn, the view, the breakfast and most of all the innkeeper! Parker was very helpful and seemed genuinely interested in ensuring that we enjoyed our stay, which we most certainly did.

In reading past reviews we canot understand why anyone would have a problem with the inn's location-it is perfect. We enjoyed looking out at the harbor during breakfast and walking down to the wharf below to watch the lobster and crab boats come and go. The Playhouse, which puts on wonderful performance in the evening, is practically next door and the Main Street and restaurants are only a block away. We even left our car at the inn and walked to the Fortess visitor centre - a nice 15-20 minute walk. This is a place that we would not hesitate to recommend to anyone planning a trip to Louisbourg

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anamebyanyothername
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

The Louisbourg Harbour Inn is a very nice, well-appointed facility. We had an excellent breakfast the following morning.

My wife injured her knee earlier on our trip. Our host, Parker, was most helpful when her knee had a serious flare-up in Louisbourg. We would definitely stay there again and would recommend this B&B to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AbqWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paw Paw, MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

This inside of this inn is very pretty, well decorated and beautifully maintained. Breakfast was wonderful. The exterior is in need of a paint job and the location is not what I expected. I thought this sat right on the water, it sits right beside the fishing docks. See my photos for views from the water side of the inn. The owner, Parker, was a very nice man but unfortunately, shortly before he arrived he gave up our first floor "ocean view" room (which we'd reserved and confirmed 6 months before) to another guest. They were going to have trouble navigating the stairs to the 2nd floor to the room they had booked. So, we had been shifted to room 4 which faced a street behind the inn.

Not much going on in Louisbourg in the evenings except the show at the playhouse which was wonderful. We cut our 2 night stay down to 1 and moved to another property that gave us an ocean view.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alicedaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Louisbourg Harbor Inn for three nights during our 2 week trip to Newfoundland, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick. The Louisbourg Harbor Inn was without a doubt the best Inn in which we stayed. The host, Parker, and his daughter were excellent, gracious hosts who made us feel very welcomed. Parker was abundant with suggestions of places to go and sights to see. He went out of his way to make sure all our needs were met. The room was magnificient - we had room 7 - and the breakfasts were delicious!! We would recommend this Inn to all travelers!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhovious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2008

Our room at the Inn was cozy, beautifully appointed with our every need in mind. The breakfasts provided were so delicious and nutritional and served with a smile by Tanya. Parker, the innkeeper, made sure that everything was perfect and gave us terrific ideas for fun ways to spend our days in Louisbourg. My husband and I would highly recommend this destination to all!
Barbara and Kevin Barry, Austin, Tx.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank joggingbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2008

Louisbourg Harbour Inn is not within walking distance of the fortress of Louisbourg as advertised on thier website. We had to drive to a parking area and board a bus to the Fortress. Very misleading.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Peggy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Louisbourg
0.5 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
18.4 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
39.8 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
56.7 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
0.5 mi away
Cranberry Cove Inn
Cranberry Cove Inn
#1 of 9 in Louisbourg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pecks Cottages
Pecks Cottages
#5 of 9 in Louisbourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louisbourg Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louisbourg Harbour Inn

Property: Louisbourg Harbour Inn
Address: 9 Lower Warren St | Louisbourg, Louisbourg, Nova Scotia B1C 1G6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Louisbourg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Louisbourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Louisbourg Harbour Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Louisbourg Harbour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louisbourg Harbour Inn Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing