We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved my stay at Louisbourg Harbour Inn (Great Breakfasts)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Louisbourg Harbour Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Louisbourg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at the Louisbourg Harbour Inn. Room was cozy, clean and nicely decorated. The breakfasts were superb and, on mornings I could not eat the breakfast they were preparing because of gluten intolerance, they made scrambled eggs just for me. Very convenient place to stay if you are going to visit Louisbourg itself.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 161 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

just returned from spending a lovely 2 nights at the Louisbourg Harbour Inn. This is a charming restored mansion, with oak floors, great deck overlooking the harbour, located right next to the playhouse. It is squeaky clean, and contrary to a previous review we found our hosts gracious, and extremely helpful. They allowed us to do some personal business, using their printer and fax, which really took the stress of trying to hunt down a place in this remote fishing village to access the internet. The breakfast was scrumptious. The sturdy outside staircase at the rear allows easy access to second floor rooms, and there was lots of hot water, a powerful blow, dryer, and a ceiling fan to keep us cool. Thank goodness for this inn, as the village has fallen on hard times. Besides the Fortress of Louisbourg, we found the Glace Bay Miners Museum fascinating.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This lovely yellow house is in beautiful condition and is situated with a view of the bay. There is no A/C but probably doesn't need it 95% of the time -- we were there during an unprecedented heatwave, and even so the evening temps were comfy. We had a very pleasant room with access to a balcony to look over the harbour. We were going to a concert that evening in the Playhouse next door, so this was a very convenient location. The room was pretty and the shower was very nice. Breakfast (8 to 9 only) was delicious and beautifully presented. Our experienced hosts were pleasant and unobtrusive. This was a very nice choice and we highly recommend it, especially if you are visiting the fortress.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artgallerygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The property is situated about 200 metres from the water, though the view is not exactly picturesque, as somewhat dilapidated buildings stand on the waterfront. Parking is at the back, and upstairs rooms are accessed via somewhat rickety external rear staircase. The main indoor staircase is at the front on the house, and being more than 100 years old, its use is not encouraged, other than to access the downstairs breakfast room and guests' lounge.
Our room was nicely appointed, and had opening windows, so we could forgo air conditioning. The bed was comfortable, and assured a good sleep.
Breakfast was a limited offering, but more than adequate to set us up for a visit to Fort Louisbourg. Dining options in Louisbourg are restricted; the Lobster Kettle is walking distance, and does good seafood, but don't expect too much.

Room Tip: Upstairs is the place to be, as the house has exposed floorboards, and I suspect it is noisy downsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenstOat24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed one night on a visit to Fortress Louisbourg. The inn is a very well restored and maintained Victorian house located in the middle of the village. The house was the family home of the owner who has two inns in Louisbourg, Our room on the second floor was spotless and nicely decorated as was the rest of the inn. The only things that made our visit less than ideal were a mattress that was softer than we are used to and the bright lights from the wharf area nearby that shine in the window if you leave the curtains open. Breakfast was very good and there are freshly made scones and muffins provided in addition to the featured entrée which changes. The owner and staff are friendly and very helpful.

Having read some of the other reviews I concur in the comments that indicate there isn't much to do or see in the village itself. There are only 2 restaurants and the one we chose was mediocre at best. However given that the tourist season is less than 3 months long, the village is small and Sydney is relatively close that did not come as a surprise. If you choose to stay in Louisbourg to have a relaxing start before attacking the Fortress (which opens at 9:30 am) you can't go wrong with the Louisbourg Harbour Inn

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimbo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The view on the harbour was great, the room and the breakfast also.

But,i didn't felt welcome...

I know that usually, Bed and breakfast's owners ask their customers to check in before 18h. If it's not possible, we have to call to advise them. A lady from the Port Hawkesbury information center called them at 16h30 to advised that we (my girlfriend and i) will check in around 20h, and we did.

I can imagine what it is to be disturbed during you diner time, of course. May be it was the reason why Parker let me felt not welcome a short moment.

Room Tip: The Louisbourg fortress is the principale attraction of the place (great!). If you like hiking, take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McBane_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Louisburg Harbour Inn is a beautiful Victorian mansion with great view of the harbour and perfect location, right next door to the local playhouse, where we got to see a local singing star now from Alberta, on a homecoming concert. The room had a 4-poster bed, nice woodwork, one chair and a rocking chair and small table. Very close by was the wonderful Lobster Kettle restaurant right on the water. Breakfast was great. On our action-packed day we saw the Marconi museum and underground coal mine tour at Glace Bay, the Fortress of Louisbourg and the concert.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heikermeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Louisbourg
0.4 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
18.5 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
17.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
17.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Sydney
Comfort Inn Sydney
#7 of 7 in Sydney
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Louisbourg Heritage House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louisbourg Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louisbourg Harbour Inn

Address: 9 Lower Warren St | Louisbourg, Louisbourg, Nova Scotia B1C 1G6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Louisbourg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Louisbourg
Price Range: $105 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Louisbourg Harbour Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Louisbourg Harbour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louisbourg Harbour Inn Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing