We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B, less than stellar food, not much in Louisburg but that big old fort”
Review of Cranberry Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cranberry Cove Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Louisbourg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We stayed in the Cranberry Suite for 4 nights. Great room, though a bit flowery for our taste. We must have really taxed their breakfast recipe file since every day is fundamentally the same (and not overly generous) except for an egg dish, which, by the fourth day, was definitely seeming desparate. Nice location in Louisburg, but eating choices are very limited in the town - there's only one good spot, on the main street. The Inn no longer does dinner. Don't miss the "Night in a Cape Breton Kitchen" at the theatre if it's on, though. Oh, and don't wash out your socks in the room, or you'll find a note advising you of laundry facilities next door haha.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 166 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2010

We stayed here for five nights for the Celtic Colours Festival. The owner and staff were friendly and very helpful. The house is a wonderful Victorian with antique furnishings,a cozy sitting room with a piano etc.
We were given a room with a fishing theme (I assume each room was decorated in different themed styles). The walls are thin and at one point new guests were noisy, slamming doors etc. and all could be heard. As well, the bed was a small double and had a very uncomfortable hard mattress. We did not sleep well for the duration of our stay!
Breakfasts were excellent. Given the time of year and lack of availability of places to eat (most are closed for the season or have short hours) a chance for dinner would have been a nice touch as would a coffee machine in the room.
However, all in all, this was a super base for a great week on Cape Breton.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonnacherToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We happened to pick this B&B because of its lovely exterior and curb appeal. We certainly made the right choice. The interior is equally appealling. Each room is lushly decorated and elegantly Victorian. This is an interior designer's dream house for that period. Items are carefully chosen and conversation pieces galore in each themed room. We chose the Captain's Quarter's on the top floor. Masculine with views from all directions including the harbour. Skylight drapes the comfortable bed in the wee hours of the morning until sunset. Towels and bath accessories are plush and the jacuzzi is a lovely company for tired foot soldiers like us exploring the historic grounds of Fortress Louisbourg. Breakfast of quiche was lean yet tasty and filling- just the right crimp on the crust. The host is like an old friend- very accommodating and easy to talk to- and he better be- King Louis XV might just decide to stay here because I don't see why he shouldn't.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ebbtide123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Each room in this hotel has a theme. All are beautifully decorated dwith great attention to detail - I would be happy to have any of the rooms in my home.

I stayed in the secret garden room. With a floral theme, down to framed seed packets as decoration in the bathroom. Other rooms had nautiical themes, a cranberry theme or a cape breton theme. The rooms were all spacious as were the ensuite bathrooms. The bed was very comfortable and the bath iwas large enough for you to actually take a bath in and featured jacuzzi like jets.

The public area features a fireplace and plenty of comfortable seating with tea and coffee available on request. The inn is bed and breakfast, and a delicious breakfast was served by the convivial owner.

The whole property was scrupulously clean - not easy with the antique style. No cobwebs on the chandeliers here!

We only stayed one night - but I would have been happy to stay longer and would definitely return if I am ever on this side of the world again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LonesAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

As we wanted two beds, finding such throughout Nova Scotia can be challenging - and we ended up reserving at Cranberry Cove because they had a room with two twin beds. The room was adequate, but rather small - with only skylights, in which we couldn't pull the curtain back on one as another room from the third floor looked right into that skylight, which was also right over one the beds. The room was "L" shapped, and could not have held a queen bed, due to the narrowness of both sides of the "L." The bathroom however, was quite nice, and very large. At breakfast, it was only cold cereal or one item from the kitchen - so if you didn't like what was being cooked that day - cold cereal seemed to be the only choice. As for location, as Louisbourg is not very large; any place on the main road would be in a good location.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKDJuniata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

The inn is in a fabulous location between two wonderful attractions -- the lighthouse walking trail on one end of town, and the reconstructed fortress on the other. It's interesting that there seem to be several inns in town for sale, but Cranberry Cove had no vacancies the night we stayed there. Immaculate, Victorian but not fussy, ceiling fan did the job in terms of making the room comfortable for sleeping. Good breakfast -- yogurt and cereal if you're in a hurry; cooked breakfast available too. We had a really excellent Spanish fritatta. Would definitely stay again when we come back to check out the progress on the fortress restoration. If you're doing the Cabot Trail, the town is worth a detour, and Cranberry Cove is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wotanleroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Beautiful place we stayed for one night, the room was beautiful and romantic, I wished it was colder so we could have start the fireplace.

The room was big, bathroom was amazing with a jacuzzi tub that fit two people very well. We had a fishing theme in our room, very countryish it was. The restaurant is close but they still serve tea and coffee if we wanted to, also breakfast was included, a nice continental buffet and they offered a homemade quiche with toast if interested in it.

The staff were wonderful, very helpful giving us tips on how to pass our evening.

the downsize...the walls are thin a little, the person next to us was snoring so load that we heard it which was difficult for me to fall asleep and also it was hot and muggy and they don't have AC.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wicca2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Louisbourg
0.3 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
18.3 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
17.7 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
0.4 mi away
Louisbourg Heritage House Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Louisbourg Harbour Inn
Louisbourg Harbour Inn
#2 of 9 in Louisbourg
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranberry Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranberry Cove Inn

Address: 12 Wolfe St, Louisbourg, Nova Scotia B1C 2J2, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Louisbourg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Louisbourg
Price Range: $82 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranberry Cove Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cranberry Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranberry Cove Inn Louisbourg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing