We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and comfortable in a pleasant small town.”
Review of Cranberry Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cranberry Cove Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Louisbourg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2011

My best friend and I spent 2 nights in Anne's Hideaway at the Cranberry Cove Inn and loved all of it. The interior has been restored to th height of victorian elegance, with great attention paid to the smallest details. The hundred-plus year old inn has suffered a not-quite-right addition or two, marring the outside appearance, but the owners have made it look very nice all the same. A wide front porch invites guests, as do two parlors and a cozy reading nook. Each of the 7 rooms has a different theme; we got to see 5, all of which were tasteful and comfy. Ours was the smallest, featuring 2 twin beds (comfy) and a spacious bath with soaking tub, and was just what we wanted.
The breakfasts were hot, tasty, and a little different - in a good way. Sam, the owner's son, is the greeter, waiter, and concierge. He was unfailingly polite.
Definitely a god value for the money. Wouldn't hesitate to go again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurenSH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
There are newer reviews for Cranberry Cove Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 157 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2011

This cranberry colour bed and breakfast is nice but a bit expensive regarding the fact that, if they respect their theme - red everywhere in the bedroom - even the sheets were red ! - the furniture lack of authenticity. Its more or less a bric a brac of things they got here and there but certainly not antiques. Otherwise, this is a pleasant place to stay in the hart of the small city of Louisbourg. Good breakfast and we won't forget the kindness of the hosts. Francoise - Ottawa

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francoiseh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

My husband and I had a cozy room on the upper floor -- Hidden Garden. It was a warm night, there was a ceiling fan but it got a bit uncomfortable.

The breakfast was awesome -- quiche, toast, fresh fruit salad...

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NTanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Excellent location and very clean. Spacious room (Hearts and Flowers). the room has a fan and lots of windows so kept cool nicely. Not a lot of storage space but since we didn't need to unpack much for just two nights, it was no problem. Breakast was delicious and just the right portion size.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DINKSinOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely old home, and our host Sam was friendly, helpful and an excellent chef. The B&B is close to Fortress Louisbourg which was one of our destinations. The rooms are delightful and "Anne's Hideaway Room" although small seemed quite spacious, quiet, and nicely decorated. We enjoyed walking around the town while we were there. We hope to come again another year, and highly recommend this B&B, quiet, clean, friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebjohnson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This inn is beautifully decorated with attention to period details. It is immaculate and the service was very good. We stayed in Annie's Hideway (as we needed two beds). After reading Anne of Green Gables at the start of our trip, we actually felt like we were in her room.
Breakfast was very good. Not much to do in Louisbourg except the Fort and as it was rainy and very foggy when we were there we skipped it and moved on to another location.

Room Tip: Saw 4 rooms and they were all beautiful
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francis1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We stayed in the Cranberry Suite for 4 nights. Great room, though a bit flowery for our taste. We must have really taxed their breakfast recipe file since every day is fundamentally the same (and not overly generous) except for an egg dish, which, by the fourth day, was definitely seeming desparate. Nice location in Louisburg, but eating choices are very limited in the town - there's only one good spot, on the main street. The Inn no longer does dinner. Don't miss the "Night in a Cape Breton Kitchen" at the theatre if it's on, though. Oh, and don't wash out your socks in the room, or you'll find a note advising you of laundry facilities next door haha.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Louisbourg
0.3 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
17.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
18.3 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
39.5 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
655 reviews
0.4 mi away
Louisbourg Heritage House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranberry Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranberry Cove Inn

Address: 12 Wolfe St, Louisbourg, Nova Scotia B1C 2J2, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Louisbourg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Louisbourg
Price Range: $102 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranberry Cove Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cranberry Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranberry Cove Inn Louisbourg, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing