We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food and Loads of fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beggar's Banquet

Beggar's Banquet
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Louisbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $47
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Join us for a tantalizing evening of music, dance and storytelling, and a magnificent 18th century feast!As you arrive, don a period costume and take your seat in the Beggar’s Banquet tent, a beautiful 18th century inspired backdrop for the perfect evening of entertainment and dining. Costumes optional but recommended.Your choice of four delicious, hot entrees and enjoy local, fresh seafood including lobster and crab. Fully Licensed, 6-8pm nightly.Everyone welcome—the fun is for all ages!
Airdrie, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food and Loads of fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was a great time! Dressed up in period clothing and had a great meal in the midst of good live music. A truly enjoyable time and there is no doubt we would do it again if we return.
Well worth the cost of the meal. No one goes home hungry from this feast!

Fred & Grace Wright
Airdrie, Alberta

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Beggar's Banquet, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for dining with us and sharing the pleasure of the evening in this review. We take personal satisfaction in insuring that our playtrons have a good experience while with us. We are encouraged by your comments and thank you again for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    36
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Skowhegan, Maine
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Fun and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

As we were staying at the Ocean View right on site this seemed like a good choice and we were not disappointed. The whole evening was such fun from the minute we stepped in the door and were given our costumes. This immediately puts everyone in the mood and the whole room embraced the theme. I was very impressed with the way the evening was organized. The drinks were readily available - beer, wine by the bottle or carafe and even hot buttered rum - which I would recommend. (Note that drinks are extra!)
The entertainment was lively and fun without being overwhelming and the music was excellent. Dinner was well orchestrated and the food was good, no mean feat considering there was a full house. We really enjoyed our lobster supper and the halibut dinner. The spicy ginger cake dessert was absolutely delicious! The final chorus of Allouette! was the perfect end to a really enjoyable evening and one we will remember for ever!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Beggar's Banquet, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review. We know how successful we are by the sharing of your experience while with us. We enjoy the evening as much as our guests do. Your satisfaction is what we aim for and when we have succeeded in accomplishing this we are truly honoured. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
1 review
“Great food and entertainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Wonderful time! The fortress of Louisbourg closes so early in the afternoon that this is just the perfect way to get more out of the whole experience, for all ages! With period costumes available on site we could dress the part! We were given a choice for our main course along with lots of side choices as well as a soup and salad to begin. The food was great, the lobster,fresh and cooked to perfection! The gingerbread with a dollop of whipped cream sure ended the meal well.It was also nice to have local wines served from the bar.The entertainment was just right, with a musician playing a wide variety of music to suite all taste and Sabine the gypsy going around every table making sure no one was left out. It really was a banquet for all to enjoy! I thought the price was very competitive for the whole package. The cost of costume rental alone could easily have been as much as what the whole package was! Fantastic deal for anyone going to visit the Louisbourg fortress !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whiteanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Beggar's Banquet, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you so very much for sharing your experience and for the great recommendations. We have the pleasure of enjoying the BB nightly along with our playtrons. We have a hard working staff behind the scenes and along side of our guests that make this happen every day. You encourage us greatly by your satisfaction. Thanks Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great food. Great fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

What a fun place to go. We dressed in period clothing. The hostess dressed up came around and gave us information about life at that time. So fun. We had a choice of fish or lobster or chicken. This included a buffet of salads. The food was great. The entertainer played ballads and lively French music. We had a great night and would recommend it highly

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Beggar's Banquet, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We love hearing from our playtrons. The fun is indeed shared by all including the staff. I'm pleased that everything was to your liking. We all work hard with our guests' satisfaction in mind. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average food, fun experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Fun experience. Getting dressed up and posing for pictures. Food was just average, overlooked peas and corn, over cooked lobster. Very expensive and not great value for your money( $40 per person) plus tip, and any alcohol was extra.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miranda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Beggar's Banquet, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
I am sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us. It's unfortunate that we cannot live up to all standards. We always give our best to prepare and serve. We have had great success with the Beggars Banquet to the tune of winning the Product Development Award for Cape-Breton for 2013. We strive towards improvement and appreciate all comments and concerns. Thanks you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beggar's Banquet also viewed

Louisbourg, Cape Breton Island
Louisbourg, Cape Breton Island
 
Louisbourg, Cape Breton Island
Louisbourg, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Beggar's Banquet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing