We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for Sebean's roving hands!”
Review of Beggar's Banquet

Beggar's Banquet
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Louisbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $47
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Join us for a tantalizing evening of music, dance and storytelling, and a magnificent 18th century feast!As you arrive, don a period costume and take your seat in the Beggar’s Banquet tent, a beautiful 18th century inspired backdrop for the perfect evening of entertainment and dining. Costumes optional but recommended.Your choice of four delicious, hot entrees and enjoy local, fresh seafood including lobster and crab. Fully Licensed, 6-8pm nightly.Everyone welcome—the fun is for all ages!
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Watch out for Sebean's roving hands!”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Lots of fun reliving the 1750s in an acadian style banquet. A great family setting/experience. The hostess portrays herself as a 'hands-on' wench roaming the crowd, teasing the men and ramping up the fun, all the while maintaining enough respect for young families that it was a hoot.

Reasonable price, food was ok, but not gourmet: its all about the experience here.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tango9R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Beggar's Banquet, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
We want to thank you for taking the time to review our Beggars Banquet. We appreciate hearing from our patrons about their experience with us. Sabean is a hand full I agree. We get to enjoy her every day. It's a fun time for us to serve you at this event daily. The Beggers Banquet is in its infancy which means that we get to grow and strive towards giving our guests an even better under-go. Again thank you for your patronnage, and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    36
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were staying at the Point of View campground so one night we attended the Beggars Banquet there. It was fun and the lobster was wonderful! You are dressed in 18th century costumes (over your own street clothes) and entertained with old French songs and a saucy wench (the owner!) who comes around to proposition you. We had a great time.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 76Gator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Beggar's Banquet, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Always nice to hear from our RV guests. We love that your time with us at the Beggars Banquet was a positive experience. We equally have fun serving and interacting with our patrons. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We greatly appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A 'taste' off history ;)”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Dress up in period clothes and eat lobster what more is there to say? Great music, food, atmosphere, even the staff get into period clothing including the owner.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank YukonHalibut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Beggar's Banquet, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Sorry Yukon, I thought I had responded to your review of the Beggars Banquet. We do appreciate the time you have taken to write a review, not only for the Point of View but also for your dining experience with us at the Beggars Banquet. Voicing your satisfaction rewards all of our efforts at insuring you have a memorable time. Again I thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
139 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fun Experience”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This was a fun experience dressing up as peasants and eating in a large room with others. The french musician was entertaining and great to listen to. The food was good, although we have had better, but definitely worth the fun experience. Glad we did it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank feline2ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Beggar's Banquet, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you so much for really putting yourself out to promote us by sharing your positive experience with us. Not only for your stay in one of our rooms but also for your dining pleasure. We here at the Point of View enjoy the Beggars Banquet just as much as you did. We have the honour to meet so many nice folks and have fun together with them. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangier
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great time for all”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is a wonderful relaxing time with both French & English stories and music and you never go away hungry .... a MUST !!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BluenoserII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Guest Relations Manager at Beggar's Banquet, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thanks for the rave review. It adds energy to our day when we hear that our hard work has granted someone a great experience. Our food is prepared fresh daily. It might still be alive just before we serve it to you. We all have fun with our dining entertainment venue. You make it pleasurable for us also. Thanks again for sharing a meal with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beggar's Banquet also viewed

Louisbourg, Cape Breton Island
Louisbourg, Cape Breton Island
 
Louisbourg, Cape Breton Island
Louisbourg, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Beggar's Banquet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing