We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beggar's Banquet

Beggar's Banquet
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Louisbourg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $47
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Join us for a tantalizing evening of music, dance and storytelling, and a magnificent 18th century feast!As you arrive, don a period costume and take your seat in the Beggar’s Banquet tent, a beautiful 18th century inspired backdrop for the perfect evening of entertainment and dining. Costumes optional but recommended.Your choice of four delicious, hot entrees and enjoy local, fresh seafood including lobster and crab. Fully Licensed, 6-8pm nightly.Everyone welcome—the fun is for all ages!
Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
“Absolutely Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

If you're travelling to the Fortress of Louisbourg, you should without a doubt call for supper reservations for the Beggars Banquet. Keeping the historic motif, the food is excellent, entertainment is top notch, and dressing up is half the fun.

Even if you're not going to the Fortress, this is a great night out. My family & I weren't out to the Fortress the day we went and I don't remember the last time I laughed as much as I did at the banquet. It's totally worth the cost as you're getting more than just a meal, you're getting a full night's entertainment. Realistically it's still cheaper than dinner and a movie, lasts longer, and is better entertainment.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    36
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Expereince”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

This was my first time at the Beggars Banquet and I truly enjoyed it. I loved the atmosphere, the staff was great and the costumes made it more entertaining. I loved the food as well, I had the crab and it was amazing. The salad bar was great and the heated vegetables added an at home feel. I would certainly recommend anyone to try this out, its alot of fun and a great experience, it truly gets you out of your shell and makes you just want to dance and have fun!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank AshandJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mssissauga
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The entertainment makes it special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

While the food was fine and the dressing up in costume fun but it was the staff and the entertainment that made this a truly special night.
The French Canadian singer was great and the bar maid was one of the most memorable experiences of our whole trip. I would highly reccomend the experience for all members of the family.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jkphillip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
181 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“the dress up part is the most fun, food is good but not special, but still would recommend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

We decided to experience the 18 th century dining experience at point of view's location. The most fun part is the dress up in the clothes of the era. They offer a choice of 4 mains, fish, chicken, lobster and crab legs. There is soup to start, a salad bar and a dessert. The food is ok, but did not wow us, it is not bad though, so not a reason to stay away. They offer live entertainment which consisted of a troubadour and a very extravert female persona, who livens things up. Drinks are available at reasonable prices. Adults are 39.95 , kids are 19.95. The kids menu is good value.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Reisaapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda733, Owner at Beggar's Banquet, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
We thank you for your review. Our cooks here at the Beggar's Banquet are very busy preparing for our daily fests,everthing at the Beggar's Banquet is made from scratch. You are right the dress up is alot of fun the staff as well as the guests enjoy getting dressed it takes us all back in time and our entertainers are amazing. We do hope you join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beggar's Banquet also viewed

Louisbourg, Cape Breton Island
Louisbourg, Cape Breton Island
 
Louisbourg, Cape Breton Island
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
 
North Sydney, Cape Breton Island
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Beggar's Banquet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing