We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see!”

Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to the Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site, a magical place on the edge of a continent where past and present come together to celebrate Canada’s diverse heritage. Please note that we have three seasons throughout the year: Low season Opportunities to experience the Fortress of Louisbourg's quiet streets during the low season allow visitors to imagine life in the toughest of conditions almost 300 years ago. While there are no services available, a low season visit may provide the best opportunity for visitors to experience the stillness of the streets, take in the beauty of the exterior architecture of the buildings, or simply enjoy the treasures that life's quietest moments may bring. For a new way to experience the site in the low season, try our Explora app. Through sound, video, photos, quizzes and text, you will hold stories about Louisbourg in your hands as you walk through both the reconstructed town and the fortress's ruins. Explora is available to download for free at the App Store and through Google Play. Shoulder season For those seeking quiet opportunities and some on-site services, visiting during the shoulder season is recommended. Visitors have the opportunity to enjoy an inspiring setting with beautiful visuals as they stand on our history-laden grounds. Several buildings with exhibits are open for you to discover. Explore the site on your own or embark on an Explora tour of the grounds. To enhance your visit you may purchase a guided tour or participate in the Time Travel program. Accessible guided tours are available as well. We recommend reserving a place on these tours in advance. By the end of June, the site will begin to fill with costumed interpreters as we ramp up for peak season. After Labour Day, the Fortress of Louisbourg winds down once again with costumed animators interpreting some buildings into September. No matter the season, be sure to find out from reception what activities and experiences may be on offer that day. Peak Season Peak season brings a different kind of magic on-site as costumed people add life to the streets and the homes. A foggy day cloaks the site in mystery and creates scenes and images not to be forgotten. A cold day with wind and rain may draw visitors to the warmth of a welcoming fire or to the cozy inn for a warming bowl of soup. A hot day shows the town and its various gardens at their brightest. On summer feast days colour and pageantry break the routine of daily life as the townspeople promenade in their finery. Chores are the order of the day on summer and fall mornings. With the rooster's crow comes bread from the ovens that supplies both soldiers and hungry visitors. Louisbourg's inhabitants are happy to share their stories, and can be found working the forge, tending the gardens and running the kitchens. The beat of drums and the chime of the garrison clock order the soldiers' day. The sound of a cannon marks midday. You can even fire a cannon or musket yourself by taking part in our 'Have a Blast' or 'Have a Ball' programs. Music might be heard from a waterfront tavern. Children play games in the streets, while the sentry at the gate challenges those who wish to enter the walled town. A public punishment gathers spectators. Sheep run through the streets, called home by the stable hand. Each hour offers something unique and real. During the peak season you can immerse yourself in an 18th century dining experience, available daily, at the Hotel de la Marine and Grandchamp House. For those who prefer a modern experience L'Epee Royale Cafe offers a cozy stop for hot and cold beverages and a variety of pastries. Groups can pre-arrange a dining experience by calling 902-733-3552. The daily fare varies with the season. Please check in advance for menu options and our ability to accommodate any special dietary requirements. Hours of Operation Low season: October 11, 2016 - May 21, 2017) Open Monday to Friday (except statutory holidays) 9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Shoulder Season: May 22 2017 to June 30 2017 and September 5 2017 to October 9, 2017 Open 7 days per week 9:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Peak Season: July 1 - September 4 Open 7 days per week 9:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Dining Establishment Hours of Operation Grandchamp House Lower class (Less formal dining) July 1 - August 25 (Doors open at 10:30 a.m.) Hotel de la Marine Upper class (More formal dining) July 1 - August 25 (Doors open at 11 a.m.) Hotel de la Marine Lower class (Less formal dining) August 26 - October 9 2017 (Doors open at 10:30 a.m.) L'Epee Royale Cafe May 22 - October 9 2017 (Doors open at 10 a.m.) When the Fortress of Louisbourg is in low season, programs and services are provided through the Fortress Louisbourg Association after-hours programs. Whether it's the bustling street or the solitude of the shore, a visit to the Fortress of Louisbourg offers many opportunities for memorable experiences.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A must see!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

When I decided to visit Nova Scotia recently, the fortress was on everyone's list of places to visit! A must see & especially this year, the 300th anniversary of the fortress! I started out at the visitors centre & took my time checking out the displays. When I thought that I had seen everything there, I took the shuttle over to the fortress. We walked through the different buildings & imagined what life would have been like 300 years ago. The staff in traditional costume were friendly & answered all of our questions. Some even answered in character! We missed the bread being made, which would have been a nice treat, but there was soo much to see there & it was all soo interesting! For anyone visiting Cape Breton Island & Nova Scotia, I highly recommend taking the time to visit the fortress, you won't be disappointed!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank msgordon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,105
    293
    68
    14
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Historical Tour of 18th Century New France in Canada”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Avoiding the summer crowds we stopped here on a cruise. We hired a car from Budget in town and drove the 22miles to the reconstructed French fortress of 1742. We could see it way out in the distance as we approached the sea. The site was all alone on the point. No other commercial attractions are allowed within miles of the fort so there is no having to imagine what it might be if a Subway or Swiss Chalet was not blocking the view.

Two cruise ships were in town but not many folks found their way to the fortress. Information was readily available. Parks Canada guides were all terrific in sharing their knowledge and enthusiasm for the history of those times. It was terrific to be able to explore on our own and not be crowded by other sight-seers. There are lots of artifacts displayed in the various rooms along with dioramas and paintings. We even enjoyed a bowl of very tasty pea soup served in a pewter bowl by women dressed in period costume. (They did have a 21st Century machine to process credit cards)

Anyone interested in North American 18th Century history should put this site at the top of their 'to see' list since the struggles and battles that occurred here defined the future of both Canada and the United States. Take the kids.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 3100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Great day visit for history buffs”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Wonderful staff and docents in traditional garb... Ground not necessarily even throughout yet nice pathways through majority

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rkr2321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALIFORNIA
Level 6 Contributor
467 reviews
279 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Great Place to Experience History”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We loved our visit to Fortress Louisbourg. The time traveler tour was very interesting. The reconstruction is excellent, and it was fun imagining life here 300 years ago. This is a must see if you visit Cape Breton Island.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LUCKYME72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very fun way to learn history”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The kids had an awesome time and they learned about the history of Nova Scotia in the meantime, and so did the adults!!! A great family outing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Easterngoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site also viewed

Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 
Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing