We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”

Coastal Restaurant & Pub
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Ingonish
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Quebec City, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

The decor is nothing much and there's no music, but the other customers were jolly and noisy enough to make up for that. Staff was very nice, the prices are low, but the quality of the food is high! Best seafood I've ever had. And I will NEVER forget the potato peels with sour cream, chives, bacon and cheese.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steelie656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    135
    59
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible service, average food”
Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

We ate here later one evening on our way up the coast. We arrived and couldn't figure out if we were supposed to seat ourselves or wait, after a couple minutes of failing to catch a waitresses eye, we went to sit on the patio. Eventually a bus boy brought us menus-though we never did figure out if we did the right thing by seating ourselves. Our waitress was shortly behind him to take our drink order. We were a little surprised that a "pub" had such a poor beer selection, and that they were out of everything but bud lite on tap. We were also disappointed that our waitress clearly knew nothing of the few "usual" beers they had in bottles.

We both ordered The Ringer burger, which is their signature burger. It had sweet mustard,bacon, mozzarella and topped with onion rings. I had fries with mine, and my girlfriend had a garden salad. The burgers were decent, however the sweet mustard drowned out the flavor of everything else. Fries were solid bar fries-lots of grease and salt. The salad surprised both of us as it was quite large and full of vegetables.

We were quite happy with our food, however the table next to us was not. Apparently the chicken was raw, and the fries were not done. Their waitress took a long time to appease the situation.

Our own waitress went missing after she delivered our food and pitcher of water. We eventually had to go inside to ask someone else for our check. At this point our original waitress came out of the kitchen and apologized stating that the restaurant was extremely busy and they were having trouble keeping up. A quick glance around the 3/4 empty restaurant proved this untrue.

Helpful?
4 Thank Jonathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“our new family favourite”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

We decided to eat here on the last leg of our trip around the Cabot Trail and selected this restaurant based on the sign that said "recommended by the Food Network". We were not disappointed.
We have 2 very picky eaters in our family of 4, and three out of four of us felt that this was probably the best tasting restaurant meal we have had in a very long time. (the 4th had chicken nuggets...hard to make those amazing, but she did really like them) We didn't have the items recommended by the food network, but we did have the bbq quesadilla, Mexican quesadilla and the chicken focaccia. We all agreed that every bite was perfectly seasoned and full of flavour. The cook really knows their stuff when it comes to seasonings and spices.
When we arrived at around 6:00 on a Monday evening, the place was almost empty, but when we left around 7, a lady sitting outside told us that the wait was over an hour. We told her it was worth it!
As mentioned in some other reviews, the service was a bit slow, but not terrible.
Unfortunately, since we live so far away, we won't likely be back anytime soon, but we will be talking about it for a long time to come.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 1ove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good "brunch" for a crew, and great service.”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We recently had “brunch” at The Coastal in Ingonish. The breakfast was good, although the eggs benny were a little overdone. One person in our party ordered a chicken burger not on the menu. They were happy to oblige, and it looked delicious, with a yummy side of fries.

The service was excellent. Our waiter was very friendly and attentive. The relaxed and welcoming atmosphere at The Coastal is a big part of it’s appeal.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TripCaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“The ringer burger does not disappoint!”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Had a crab dip, ringer burger and a Keith's IPA. Crab dip actually had chunks of real seafood. But, the best part of all is the ringer burger. It was featured on FoodTV and it did not disappoint. You must have this at this place.

Price was descent. Service was average. Food was great.

Helpful?
Thank FearlessNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Restaurant & Pub also viewed

Ingonish, Cape Breton Island
 
Ingonish, Cape Breton Island
Ingonish, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Coastal Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing