We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Capital letter SATISFYING!”

Coastal Restaurant & Pub
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Ingonish
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Shelburne, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Capital letter SATISFYING!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If your hungry as we were from traveling most of day this is one place you will want to stop & get your stomach full & pallet teased to always come back! The food was not only capital letter SATISFYING but DELICIOUS too! The service was great & they helped us find a sweet spot for the nite, as after we ate like we did, needed a rest! You can be assured we will be back when ever we are in the area!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    128
    53
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whycocomagh, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Make sure they are open”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Went there today,having checked their website for openings.Did our journey round the Cabot Trail clockwise to be there at lunchtime.Met by notice on door.Closed for private function.This was actually a tourbus!.Spoke to someone and suggested they post closings on their website.He grinned and said Oh Sorry!.I guess a couple are not as important as a tourbus.
However they did us a favour.Went on to the Main Street Cafe and Bakery and had, probably a better meal.So Coastal we would not use you again and Main Street we will be back.We will also tell all our friends about the service OR NOT at both places

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Not sure if we hit this on a bad day, eg, the chef called in sick, considering the endorsement by Food Network's "you gotta eat here". The food was a big disappointment, including their famous hamburger, the "Ringer", which was okay but nothing special. Be forewarned-in Canada all beef must be served well-done! The fisherman's platter was beyond awful for a restaurant located on an island with fresh seafood everywhere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Isabel1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were travelling through Ingonish and stopped for a late lunch on the recommendation from Tripadvisor (currently ranked 1 out of 8 restaurants in Ingonish). We both had the grilled chicken focaccia sandwiches (mine with poutine and my husband had ceasar salad). For the extra $2.79 the salad wasn't as big as we'd expect and my fries tasted very oily -but the sandwich was amazing! We arrived around 2:20 pm and were served around 2:40 - so we were pleased. The restaurant itself was very nice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A new standard for our burgers”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

After a day of hiking and adventure my husband and I were beyond hungry. We arrived late at the coastal and were greeted warmly. We had great conversation with our waiter and I had perhaps the best burger of my life. In fact we now use this burger experience as our standard - we were in Toronto the other day and had a burger and we both said "Well it ain't a 'Coastal' ".

If we ever find ourselves in Cape Breton again we will be sure to visit this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdV55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Restaurant & Pub also viewed

Ingonish, Cape Breton Island
 
Ingonish, Cape Breton Island
Ingonish, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Coastal Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing