We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Experience Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Sydney, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst Experience Ever”
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We actually liked it originally and would have recommended it if it were not for the owners. The cottages are plain and outdated with zero frills. The owners were unprofessional and miserable. They asked for money up front (fine) and if we had extra guests which nights they were going to be staying (which we found a little strange but since they had our visa number said that we would let them know as soon as we did). We checked out and everything was fine. We were happpy with our stay (despite the service) because it was part of a great vacation however, a week later after arriving home from vacation I received a phone call from my father (I am in my 30s and don't live at home) telling me that the cottage was trying to get in touch with me because we had "broken a coffee table and duct taped it back together." RIDICULOUS!!!! I called the owner and she was rude, unreasonable and her story kept changing. I got the impression that she tries this with people who stay there to try and make a few extra dollars. She said she was going to bill my credit card, because they still had the number. I promptly cancelled my card. I actually liked their cottages as value for money (read - cheap) but the owner has soured the experience. There are many nicer places to stay in Ingonish with better service. Go somewhere else.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Seabee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    25
    13
    8
    10
See reviews for
14
45
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Before picking this location, I checked tripadvisor and I wasn't sure if this place was going to be a good idea, but we booked it anyway. And I'm glad we did!
We got a room right in the front so we had the most perfect view of the ocean. As soon as we opened our blinds, we were speechless. We especially liked how we had two seats outside our door so it was great just having a moment outside with a beautiful view.

I personally saw no problems with the rooms. People have to remember that these kind of places aren't five star hotels. And based on where it's located, I thought the price was worth it. The bed was very comfortable and the TV was nice. We did have trouble with the lock but after a few mintues of playing around with it, we finally figured it out haha.
The people at the front desk were very nice and friendly. We couldn't even get to our room right away because the man kept on talking, but we enjoyed it!

All and all, my husband and I would definitely come back to this location and would recommend it to all of our friends. Just make sure to ask for a room right at front!

P.S. enjoy cabot trail. I cannot explain how beautiful it was!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Very small with little room for suitcases and gear. A door with a torn screen. A smell of mold even though the windows were left open. A floor tilted to one side putting our heads lower than our feet when lying on the bed. A nice tv with no direction about how to access anything. The same with the door lock, push then turn. Interesting the lady said every one has trouble with that. Curious mounting of the mirror in the bathroom, lucky you could stand in outside the door to use the mirror. Towels that must have been made in the 1950's. Nice view of the bay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raja8385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ingonish hotels

Belleville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Seabreeze for two nights, and to our delight were given a motel unit, facing the ocean. The view was a real bonus, but the property was also clean and maintained well. Yes, the room was small (but try European hotels!!) but it had a bar fridge, basic microwave, ample power outlets, a comfortable bed and an excellent LCD TV and extensive satellite! And an armchair was a welcome touch!
The location on the Cabot Trail in Ingonish was just ideal and we would certainly recommend this area. The most 'spectacular' part of the Cabot Trail is on the north side, east of Cheticamp, in my humble opinion, but, to get the greatest slice of not only the Cabot but Nova Scotian Cape Breton life, the 10 km stretch either side of the Seabreeze will offer up up views, access, trails, necessities and some excellent 'down home' dining!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LumixLeica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new brunswick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Traveled from New Brunswick to Cape Breton to check out the cabot trail, stayed Cheticamp and was very impressed with the food/hotels, came to Ingonish and stayed here which was a bad idea. I was with my wife and the front desk/manager whoever threatened to kick my wife and I out if we gave her "any problems", this was her answer to my wife saying hello, when i confronted her she told me if i didnt leave her office i'd be kicked out with my money not refunded, we stayed one night and left.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank coryebailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2009

We spent a couple of days here on a girls tip around the Cabot Trail this past summer and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were very comfortable and the staff was welcoming and demonstrated gold old Cape Breton hospitality. Great hiking and outdoor activities close by that are second to none. Great location and we'll see you again in 2010.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2009

My partner and I are in our mid 40's and visited Ingonish for a week hiking and biking. We stayed in one of the chalets for 3 nights and were very happy with our accomodations. Comfortable beds, no loud noise when expected, and only steps from the beach across the road. The location was perfect for us. We will come again. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blazer31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingonish
0.1 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
2.5 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
3.8 mi away
Skyline Cabins
Skyline Cabins
#4 of 7 in Ingonish
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Castlerock Country Inn
Castlerock Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Ingonish
179 reviews
27.9 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
182 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ingonish Chalets
Ingonish Chalets
#3 of 7 in Ingonish
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel

Property: Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
Address: P.O. Box 63, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C 1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ingonish
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Breeze Cottages Hotel Ingonish
Sea Breeze Cottages And Motel Ingonish, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing