We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Ingonish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glenghorm Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise in Ingonish”
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Beautiful property, friendly staff and great food and music! I come back to Glenghorm every summer and fall. I love the location, situated on the beach and close to many beaches and hiking trails - it's perfect! I've stayed in a beach house, a cottage and a motel room, and I would have to say the beach house is definitely my favorite as it feels like a home away from home.

After a day at the beach or a day of hiking, it's nice to come back and enjoy dinner in the dining room and then a night at the pub with their great staff and local entertainment. You're guaranteed to have a good time!

We've enjoyed breakfast, and dinner in the dining room as well as Sunday brunch, and a chat with the chefs. As always, everyone from registration, the dining room and pub are more than friendly, and we always receive a warm welcome. The beach house is beautifully decorated and we enjoy the fireplace on a chilly night and the air conditioning on a hot day. The beach is beautiful to walk, the view breathtaking and I love to sit in the adirondack chairs looking out over the ocean!

The property is sitting on a little piece of paradise in Cape Breton, with friendly staff and locals, great food, fun in the pub with local musicians.....what more could one ask for. I'm looking forward to returning for my annual trip this summer!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseHubley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    29
    42
    48
    45
See reviews for
61
67
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manitoba
Level Contributor
223 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stopped in without reservations after 5 one evening and were offered the 1 bedroom queen suite for half price. It was a very large and clean room with electric fireplace, fridge and microwave and kitchen utensils. We had a very nice dinner in their restaunt and a fun time in their pub with a great scotish entertainer. Had a nice walk on the beach in the morning befor we left. Really liked it here but think full price is much too high for that room. Glad we came though!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waunakee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We stayed here on our first night on the Cabot Trail. We had two reservations for our group of five. Four of us stayed in the two bedroom suite, which was located on the second floor of the building (two units below us). The suite was nicely decorated with two very large bedrooms, two bathrooms, a large living room/kitchen area and a small deck that had a limited view of the water. The property has lots of cabins that lead to the water. There is a fire ring for a group campfire. The onsite restaurant had excellent food with a "upscale casual" feel. There was a pub downstairs with live music. Internet access was in the lobby area only.
Although I really enjoyed the suite, I would consider staying in one of the cabins next visit to be closer to the water.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank nobadservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenghorm, General Manager at Glenghorm Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2010
Thank You for all your feedback. We appreciate and value all that our guests have to say. We realize that our cottages are rustic & we are presently rennovating the exteriors. We are working on replacing roofs, siding and trim work. Upon completion of all exteriors, we will upgrade the interiors. The location of our cottages is amazing, and offers a full ocean view and a beautiful sandy beach. Besides our beach front location, we are very fortunate to have a very hard working, loyal and friendly staff. If you're after a peaceful & fun stay, the Glenghorm is the place to enjoy a delicous meal in our Crofter's Table Restaurant or go downstairs & sample our pub food while listening to the best of celtic music, 7 nights a week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

I have a family with children 2 and 1. We reserved the Gaidheal room. It is about a 1-2 star room. We did not take it, and was thankfully upgraded to the 1 bedroom suite for an agreeable price. That suites are beautiful and roomy for a family of 4. You can hear the waves crash on the shore, there is a campfire every night down by the ocean, jungle gyms for the kids, great location on the trail, and a very good restaurant. The staff at the restaurant especially Sue not Susan was very unfriendly every time we met her. The rest of the staff was great. We would go back again if we could get the suite at the same price.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dadsunited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Think resorts and posh comes to mind. This is not really either. The rooms in the main lodge are basically motel rooms. They are clean but sparsely decorated. We could not get into the Keltic Lodge which is where everyone should stay!!! That is a real resort. There are cottages at Glenghorm which looked pretty run down and had people's towels and such hangin all over. Reminded me of a campsite. We did notice that further away they had more modern cottages that looked nice, probably their deluxe properties which might be good. It is on a beach which is rocky. There was a restaurant but we did not eat there. We went to the Keltic Lodge and ate in their bar (restaurant was booked) which had music and was very nice. The food was good there, although we had mostly bar food. When we came back to the lodge, they had some music in their pub. Problem was my 17 year old was not allowed in. I'm sure it's the law but we were allowed into the pub at the Keltic Lodge. Too bad too because the music was really good. Nearby is the Highlands Gold Course which my husband and son played at and loved. My other son and I went whale watching with Ingonish Whale Watching. No whales just dolphins. Captain was nice enough and tried hard but to no avail. If whale watching is your thing, go from Pleasant Bay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crackerjack1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ingonish hotels

Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

I am not sure in what cottage/cabin some of the people stayed, but we stayed in cabin #503 and it was more than we expected... 2 bedrooms, 2 full washrooms and full housekepping...... they even clean our BBQ after we used it... I had never seen this kind of service in other cottages I rented, where you clean everything in the kitchen before you leave or you usually have to make your own bed. The beach was amazing, my kids loved it! very calm and it was relaxing to sit in the lounge chairs watching the ocean from this property. They didn't advertise ocean view from the cottages, so I wasn't expecting having to walk far to the beach, but we were jsut a few stepd, I could see the ocean from the entrance of my cottage and could heard the waves from my room. the staff was really corteous and helpful. The restaurant was really good, we eat every day and all the plates were good. At night , they started a fire pit and kept it going, even tough there wasn't any people staying for long, most people sat down for a bit and then left. We did like this property and we would come back..... if I had to complain about something it would be one my my washrooms had a couple of small holes in the sink and the bathtub, the water was running on the shower constantly as it was hard to close, so the runnign water left marks in the bathtub....... to me it was not a big deal. I could probably pay an extra $70- to $150 a day for other resorts with a beautiful beach in Cabot Trail like the Celctic, but I rather save the money and eat better...... I agree with some reviews they could upgrade the washrooms, but if they do they would probably have to increase the prices. I talke dto one of our neighbors that was staying at cabin #501 and she mantioned the wahroom was not that good, but in our cabin out of the two wahrooms, only one neede soem fixing. I heard this resort also have suites that have been renovated and apparently are beautful inside, but the starting price for these suites are $299 a day, which is much higher than the $170 a day I paid for the 2 bedroom/ 2 washroom cottage.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhaw1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

This may have been a nice resort 20 years ago but it is quite a dive now. Shabby and didnt feel clean. The pool was closed which nobody told us when we booked or checked in. The 'beach' of the beach resort was rocky and very hard to access and when we went for dinner we waited over an hour for our food. Which wasn't too impressive when we got it. for the money I would keep driving, as you can find other places around this price point that aren't like this place. The pictures on their website are very deceiving and we felt ripped off but didnt let it ruin our trip because Cape Breton is so very pretty.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubashe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ingonish hotels
1.8 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
2.3 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Skyline Cabins
Skyline Cabins
#4 of 7 in Ingonish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
4.0 mi away
Castlerock Country Inn
Castlerock Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Ingonish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lantern Hill & Hollow
Lantern Hill & Hollow
#1 of 7 in Ingonish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenghorm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenghorm Beach Resort

Property: Glenghorm Beach Resort
Address: 36743 Cabot Trail | P.O. Box 39, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C 1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ingonish
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenghorm Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Glenghorm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenghorm Beach Hotel Ingonish
Glenghorm Beach Resort Ingonish, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing