We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveler rating
13
35
46
54
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
35
46
54
72
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 220 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Think resorts and posh comes to mind. This is not really either. The rooms in the main lodge are basically motel rooms. They are clean but sparsely decorated. We could not get into the Keltic Lodge which is where everyone should stay!!! That is a real resort. There are cottages at Glenghorm which looked pretty run down and had people's towels and such hangin all over. Reminded me of a campsite. We did notice that further away they had more modern cottages that looked nice, probably their deluxe properties which might be good. It is on a beach which is rocky. There was a restaurant but we did not eat there. We went to the Keltic Lodge and ate in their bar (restaurant was booked) which had music and was very nice. The food was good there, although we had mostly bar food. When we came back to the lodge, they had some music in their pub. Problem was my 17 year old was not allowed in. I'm sure it's the law but we were allowed into the pub at the Keltic Lodge. Too bad too because the music was really good. Nearby is the Highlands Gold Course which my husband and son played at and loved. My other son and I went whale watching with Ingonish Whale Watching. No whales just dolphins. Captain was nice enough and tried hard but to no avail. If whale watching is your thing, go from Pleasant Bay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crackerjack1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

I am not sure in what cottage/cabin some of the people stayed, but we stayed in cabin #503 and it was more than we expected... 2 bedrooms, 2 full washrooms and full housekepping...... they even clean our BBQ after we used it... I had never seen this kind of service in other cottages I rented, where you clean everything in the kitchen before you leave or you usually have to make your own bed. The beach was amazing, my kids loved it! very calm and it was relaxing to sit in the lounge chairs watching the ocean from this property. They didn't advertise ocean view from the cottages, so I wasn't expecting having to walk far to the beach, but we were jsut a few stepd, I could see the ocean from the entrance of my cottage and could heard the waves from my room. the staff was really corteous and helpful. The restaurant was really good, we eat every day and all the plates were good. At night , they started a fire pit and kept it going, even tough there wasn't any people staying for long, most people sat down for a bit and then left. We did like this property and we would come back..... if I had to complain about something it would be one my my washrooms had a couple of small holes in the sink and the bathtub, the water was running on the shower constantly as it was hard to close, so the runnign water left marks in the bathtub....... to me it was not a big deal. I could probably pay an extra $70- to $150 a day for other resorts with a beautiful beach in Cabot Trail like the Celctic, but I rather save the money and eat better...... I agree with some reviews they could upgrade the washrooms, but if they do they would probably have to increase the prices. I talke dto one of our neighbors that was staying at cabin #501 and she mantioned the wahroom was not that good, but in our cabin out of the two wahrooms, only one neede soem fixing. I heard this resort also have suites that have been renovated and apparently are beautful inside, but the starting price for these suites are $299 a day, which is much higher than the $170 a day I paid for the 2 bedroom/ 2 washroom cottage.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWorld123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

This may have been a nice resort 20 years ago but it is quite a dive now. Shabby and didnt feel clean. The pool was closed which nobody told us when we booked or checked in. The 'beach' of the beach resort was rocky and very hard to access and when we went for dinner we waited over an hour for our food. Which wasn't too impressive when we got it. for the money I would keep driving, as you can find other places around this price point that aren't like this place. The pictures on their website are very deceiving and we felt ripped off but didnt let it ruin our trip because Cape Breton is so very pretty.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scubashe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

What more can I say, it was overpriced and shabby, services advertising in the Nova Scotia 2010 travel guide were not available, the complex is tired and run down and we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

We stayed at this "resort" for our 40th anniversary and my hubsband wanted to golf Highland Links. We booked the Muir room and disgraceful is all I can say. Small, dirty and rotting. The balcony was rusting away. There was water getting under the bathroom floor and by the time we left it was completely saturated. Brought this to the staff's attention but I may as well have been talking to the wall. By the way the walls in our room were so thin we could hear quests talking in the room attached to us. The web site said a view of the ocean which is not true. You can hear the ocean but not see it. The whole property is run down and in much need of TLC.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank morley1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenghorm, General Manager at Glenghorm Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2010

Glenghorm Beach Resort is located on the Cabot Trail. The Beach Resort name comes from the fact we have two deluxe beach houses on the property along with a children’s playground, bicycle rentals, nightly bonfires and a pub with nightly entertainment. The deluxe beach houses are professionally decorated with jacuzzi tubs, kitchenette, fireplaces and two TV’s – the room rate of the suites does drive up the average rate – the suites start at $195 per night however you can get a B&B package in a basic hotel room for $109 per couple. The cottages at the resort are rustic and we have guests that have been returning to the cottages for 20 years. The cottages are great for golf groups and families with young kids since there is a lot of sleeping space. Any hotel room comments were addressed when one of the buildings was demolished before the 2009 season began. The long term plan is to build more deluxe beach house suites however we listen to our guests and the majority did not want the rustic cottages to be changed into Beach houses at this time so they are available to rent – professionally cleaned daily. The rustic cottages are just that – rustic – however if you are looking for a beautifully decorated suite near the ocean in Ingonish with a private sand beach we have it. The hotel rooms are basic traditional hotel rooms and there is no view of the ocean from your room – but you can walk down the path in the evening to enjoy an evening bonfire or in the morning to gaze over the ocean with your morning coffee while relaxing in an arderondack chair.



The staff is extremely friendly and helpful however we have hired new students in the past few years who were just becoming familiar with the property and the procedure on customer comments. As the manager of this facility I take great pride in servicing guests from around the world and if there is anything wrong with a room or the service at Glenghorm I personally would be available to take care of it with the customer. I invite all of you to visit us in 2010 and be sure to stop in and say hello – my door is always open.



Colleen Dunphy

General Manager

Glenghorm Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews