We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveler rating
13
35
47
54
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
35
47
54
72
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 221 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2011

facilities needed some updating. morning breakfast spartan. nice beach area

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobEastLasning_Mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

first night we stayed we had a bat in our room needless to say the girlfriend freaked out all nite and we never slept very much at all next morning went up to the front desk and told the front desk clerk who was very nice and offered us another cabin to stay in and gave us a little discount because of the worst ever sleep the night before (should of been a full refund i think but some is better then none i guess) when we got all moved into the second cottage the stay was great they are a little dated and small but it was still a great stay oh and the maintance workers tryed to tell us there was no bat in the cottage and they are not "out "at this time of year.....? and said it was probally a bird lol...I donno where there from but summer time is the only time bats are around in cape breton they must of thought i was a city slicker but i live in cape breton for 25 years in the country and clearly no the difference from a bat and a bird especially when im swinging a broom around at 3 am in the morning at it lol ahhh well front desk staff were great food was great ill deff be back for another stay not in the"bat" cabin tho lol

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caper1187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

If you are travelling with kids and truly want to have a vacation you can relax and enjoy then this is the place to come. We have been coming here every summer since 2005 when our son was a year old. The staff are wonderful, if you want something, they will look after you. The older cabins by the beach are perfect, you can cook your own meals, you can BBQ, the kids have the playground and you can walk a few feet to the beach. No packing up the car with everything you think you might need, if you forget something, just walk back to cabin and get it! This is as stress free as it gets with kids. Last year we even took advantage of the babysitting service that they have and went to the pub, they have the names of local girls who will watch your kids for you. For people who don't know Ingonish, you won't find more down to earth & responsible girls to babysit for you. Our kids love it there and when you come home, you actually feel like you had a vacation. As for the comments on the older cabins being"very rustic" thats what makes them so great, who wants to worry about your kids ruining stuff during your vacation, not me that's for sure. The Keltic is nice, we have stayed there as well but if you are looking for little kid friendly, that is not the place. We love it and look forward to it every year.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bronson8922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Stayed one night. For dinner they said that the lobster and crab were out of season but we'd taken photos of local fishermen landing them only a few kms away the same day. Soup was OK.
Breakfast no bread but acceptable.
Squashed bug in stairs of our block.
Internet access only in lobby NOT in rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulinVence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElaineMarketing, General Manager at Glenghorm Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

Dear PaulinVence:

You are correct June is Lobster season and I am sorry there must have been a mis-communication with the our Food & Beverage Staff. Glad you enjoyed the soup and the computer in the lobby is available for all guests to access the internet.

Sincerely,

Colleen Dunphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

For what you get, it is very overpriced. The room's are VERY 'rustic'. Hot water takes 5 minutes in the shower. You cannot switch the shower to bath as the handle is stuck. There is no air conditioning. There is no fan in the bathroom, but a window with a mesh. As such it takes quite a while to clear the fog out of the bathroom. Rooms are also rather dark.

The TVs are old and should be upgraded. We did not have the breakfast and we did not eat at their pub so we cannot comment on that. However, there is a good restaurant with reasonable prices called the Coastal Waters Restaurant just down the street.

Wi-Fi only reaches the first few rooms, although I believe they do have a computer that you can use in their lobby. The beaches are okay. The ocean view is very nice when you walk down, however there are only a few chairs. I do not see how they can be ready for the busy summer season.

Staff are very friendly though. The place is clean, but old and overpriced for what it is. The whole property needs to be renovated and upgraded.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElaineMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Glenghorm Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2011

Dear Guest:
The Glenghorm Beach Resort offers rustic cottages, motel-style rooms and we also have deluxe accommodations. The guests that stay with us in the cottages comment that it is exactly what they were looking for - on the Cabot Trail, near the ocean in Ingonish in a cottage with a full kitchen and playground for the children and pool. Guests are basically satified with the quality of the product and services we provide.

We do not usually have hot water complaints since our maintenance staff are ready to help every guest with absolutely anything they need to make their stay enjoyable. Each and every guest is important to us and we hope to solve every guest concern while they are with us to ensure they have a great experience.

With respect to the TV and air conditioning - we have been doing some upgrades each year and we do them based on priority from the guest comments the previous year. Since we are located on the Cabot Trail near the ocean most guests are not interested in the TV and they spend most of their visit outdoors either on their balcony or near the ocean.

Thank you for your comments, they are important to us. If you or a friend are planning to visit the area again please contact the Manager directly - Colleen Dunphy, she will make sure you have a wonderful experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews