We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated, overpriced. Clean, but old.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glenghorm Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overrated, overpriced. Clean, but old.”
Reviewed June 8, 2011

For what you get, it is very overpriced. The room's are VERY 'rustic'. Hot water takes 5 minutes in the shower. You cannot switch the shower to bath as the handle is stuck. There is no air conditioning. There is no fan in the bathroom, but a window with a mesh. As such it takes quite a while to clear the fog out of the bathroom. Rooms are also rather dark.

The TVs are old and should be upgraded. We did not have the breakfast and we did not eat at their pub so we cannot comment on that. However, there is a good restaurant with reasonable prices called the Coastal Waters Restaurant just down the street.

Wi-Fi only reaches the first few rooms, although I believe they do have a computer that you can use in their lobby. The beaches are okay. The ocean view is very nice when you walk down, however there are only a few chairs. I do not see how they can be ready for the busy summer season.

Staff are very friendly though. The place is clean, but old and overpriced for what it is. The whole property needs to be renovated and upgraded.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElaineMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Glenghorm Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Dear Guest:
The Glenghorm Beach Resort offers rustic cottages, motel-style rooms and we also have deluxe accommodations. The guests that stay with us in the cottages comment that it is exactly what they were looking for - on the Cabot Trail, near the ocean in Ingonish in a cottage with a full kitchen and playground for the children and pool. Guests are basically satified with the quality of the product and services we provide.

We do not usually have hot water complaints since our maintenance staff are ready to help every guest with absolutely anything they need to make their stay enjoyable. Each and every guest is important to us and we hope to solve every guest concern while they are with us to ensure they have a great experience.

With respect to the TV and air conditioning - we have been doing some upgrades each year and we do them based on priority from the guest comments the previous year. Since we are located on the Cabot Trail near the ocean most guests are not interested in the TV and they spend most of their visit outdoors either on their balcony or near the ocean.

Thank you for your comments, they are important to us. If you or a friend are planning to visit the area again please contact the Manager directly - Colleen Dunphy, she will make sure you have a wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    29
    42
    48
    45
See reviews for
61
67
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Accommodations were very clean, modern and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Location was very scenic and relaxed. Spacious location ideal for a family get together/wedding.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nnadasdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Stayed at hotel June 2010. Nice area, nice hotel. Not a luxury hotel, but well worth what you paid for. I would go back again if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We held our wedding here mostly because of the great location. The staff was very organised and helpful, and that went a long way in us having a fantastic wedding, exactly as we had planned.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CB13Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Beautiful property, friendly staff and great food and music! I come back to Glenghorm every summer and fall. I love the location, situated on the beach and close to many beaches and hiking trails - it's perfect! I've stayed in a beach house, a cottage and a motel room, and I would have to say the beach house is definitely my favorite as it feels like a home away from home.

After a day at the beach or a day of hiking, it's nice to come back and enjoy dinner in the dining room and then a night at the pub with their great staff and local entertainment. You're guaranteed to have a good time!

We've enjoyed breakfast, and dinner in the dining room as well as Sunday brunch, and a chat with the chefs. As always, everyone from registration, the dining room and pub are more than friendly, and we always receive a warm welcome. The beach house is beautifully decorated and we enjoy the fireplace on a chilly night and the air conditioning on a hot day. The beach is beautiful to walk, the view breathtaking and I love to sit in the adirondack chairs looking out over the ocean!

The property is sitting on a little piece of paradise in Cape Breton, with friendly staff and locals, great food, fun in the pub with local musicians.....what more could one ask for. I'm looking forward to returning for my annual trip this summer!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseHubley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level Contributor
192 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stopped in without reservations after 5 one evening and were offered the 1 bedroom queen suite for half price. It was a very large and clean room with electric fireplace, fridge and microwave and kitchen utensils. We had a very nice dinner in their restaunt and a fun time in their pub with a great scotish entertainer. Had a nice walk on the beach in the morning befor we left. Really liked it here but think full price is much too high for that room. Glad we came though!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waunakee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We stayed here on our first night on the Cabot Trail. We had two reservations for our group of five. Four of us stayed in the two bedroom suite, which was located on the second floor of the building (two units below us). The suite was nicely decorated with two very large bedrooms, two bathrooms, a large living room/kitchen area and a small deck that had a limited view of the water. The property has lots of cabins that lead to the water. There is a fire ring for a group campfire. The onsite restaurant had excellent food with a "upscale casual" feel. There was a pub downstairs with live music. Internet access was in the lobby area only.
Although I really enjoyed the suite, I would consider staying in one of the cabins next visit to be closer to the water.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank nobadservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenghorm, General Manager at Glenghorm Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2010
Thank You for all your feedback. We appreciate and value all that our guests have to say. We realize that our cottages are rustic & we are presently rennovating the exteriors. We are working on replacing roofs, siding and trim work. Upon completion of all exteriors, we will upgrade the interiors. The location of our cottages is amazing, and offers a full ocean view and a beautiful sandy beach. Besides our beach front location, we are very fortunate to have a very hard working, loyal and friendly staff. If you're after a peaceful & fun stay, the Glenghorm is the place to enjoy a delicous meal in our Crofter's Table Restaurant or go downstairs & sample our pub food while listening to the best of celtic music, 7 nights a week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingonish
1.8 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
56.8 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
1.8 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Skyline Cabins
Skyline Cabins
#4 of 7 in Ingonish
81 reviews
4.0 mi away
Castlerock Country Inn
Castlerock Country Inn
#1 of 3 in Ingonish
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenghorm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenghorm Beach Resort

Property: Glenghorm Beach Resort
Address: 36743 Cabot Trail | P.O. Box 39, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C 1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ingonish
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenghorm Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenghorm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenghorm Beach Hotel Ingonish
Glenghorm Beach Resort Ingonish, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing