We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seascape Coastal Retreat
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed here overnight. The place was lovely with a gorgeous view. It is the very end of the season. The owners offered room service because the restaurant wasn't open. The included breakfast was delicious. It is pricier than the normal in Ingonish but worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for Seascape Coastal Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 294 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed for two nights in cottage #1 and were fairly comfortable there. The cottage was very clean and had a great view with plenty of things to do in the area. The breakfast and evening appetizers were a nice touch. We had dinner in the restaurant one night and felt it was a bit overpriced. We had some issues w/ the a/c stopping and starting randomly and the TV was always looking for the satellite signal, even though the weather was clear (and many channels were not available). The bed was a bit firm for us and they need fluffier pillows. The bathroom could use a shelf to put toiletries on since there is no counter space.

Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank wimberleydlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

My wife and I visited this lovely spot on our honeymoon tour around the Cabot Trail. I would highly recommend the romance package to anyone looking for a worry free, relaxing stop on their vacation. One of the best aspects of this is the picnic basket. Our's was packed with lobster, shrimp, steak, bread. We were not expecting something so elaborate and had to rush through it because we had scheduled a whale watching tour for noon that day.

Seascape is a fantastic central location from which to explore the area beaches, Cape Smokey, golf or any of the many other activities available. The cottages are small but they do have a great view of the water where we saw at least a half dozen bald eagles the first night we were there. The garden hot tub is seculeded and beautiful. A great place to drink your welcome bottle of champagne under the stars. The service we experienced was second to none. They even let us raid the vegetable garden for some fresh tomatoes to take on our long drive home to Halifax.

This is not a cheap place to stay but it does make for an exceptional treat. If you are not interested in taking advantage of the romance package you may want to consider staying at another location and dropping by for dinner at the high quality restaurant. You will not find anything quite like it in this area. Don't come here with children. The cottages are small and the grounds are not really kid friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love_Live_Eat_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The Oceanside cottages are indeed, right on the ocean. Cottage 8 had a 270 degree view of the water from the picture window - breathtaking. Well appointed with gas fireplaces, iPod dock/ speakers & kitchenette complete with complimentary canapés. Don't miss their hot tub, secluded under honeysuckle trellis in the garden. Very good food at their restaurant (there are not many options). Just 1 night during Cabot Trail tour; wish we had more!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diver4comm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed in Seascape Coastal Retreat's Cottage 6 for a week. It was expensive for us but well worth it for the relaxation, comfort, and view. The cottage was a wonderful place for a couple but not great (crowded) for families, although a few were there during out stay. The staff were all friendly and helpful.
The cottages are located just off the Cabot Trail and are very convenient to many of the Cape Breton Highlands National Park trails, whale watching, restaurants, and other activities. They are on the water (with wonderful bay views), on a moderate bank above a rocky beach. An easy walking trail has been cut down to the beach.
The cottages are air conditioned, but you probably won't need it. The breeze off the bay keeps the cottages very pleasant, and there are enough windows to get a good flow-through. The cottages are far enough off the main road (Cabot Trail) that you can actually sleep well with your windows open.
The cottage had one bedroom with an excellent bed. The bathroom is large with a jacuzzi tub. The other room has a sitting area with a chair and sofa and a large picture window looking out over the bay. (The sofa will fold out into a bed, but that will make things very crowded.) We saw many seabirds and a bald eagle flew by a couple of times. There is a small kitchenette in that room as well. It has 2 burners, pots and pans, dishes (including wine glasses and opener), a wet-bar-sized sink, microwave and small refrigerator. The freezer compartment is tiny, so don't bring frozen food. Also, there is a coffee maker with coffee and tea supplied. A dish cloth, dish towel, and soap are provided, but no paper towels or salt and pepper. There is a grill on the deck.
I have to say that the cottages really aren't set up for much cooking because it is very hard to wash your dishes in such a tiny sink. We did grill a couple of nights though.
The deck is great. It has a wonderful view and Adirondack chairs to sit and enjoy it. Unfortunately, when we were there, the insects were biting, but that's not the fault of the cottage. There is always insect repellent.
Breakfast is included, and it is excellent. It is served in the dining room between 8 and 9 am. You have a choice of hot breakfasts every day, and they will customize if you want. These include French Toast, omelette, eggs, all served with your choice of meat. Hot oatmeal, cold cereal, and fruit cups are also available. The breakfast waitress is amazing - cheerful, efficient, remembers your preferences.
Speaking of food, a small seafood appetizer is delivered to your cottage every afternoon. It's a nice touch, and all were very good -- dips with crackers, shrimp cocktail, coconut shrimp, etc.
We didn't use the hot tub (shared) in the very pretty garden, the mountain bikes (free use), or kayaks (free use), but they were available.
There were a few minor areas that could have used improvement, but they did not mar our stay in any significant way. Housekeeping staff folded up and left an obviously dirty kitchen towel instead of replacing it one day. They also did not replace a pillow case which was stained from a nosebleed one day. For me, access to more ice would be nice. Also, we like to sleep in on vacations sometimes and would have liked a longer window for breakfast. However, the dining room doubles as a restaurant serving lunch and dinner, so perhaps they have to prepare for lunch. We also like to read in bed before sleeping, and the bedside lamps are too low to allow reading. My husband used an upside-down empty waste basket to heighten his lamp.
All in all, it's a great place for a couple to stay and relax, and we enjoyed it immensely.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tipsfromtucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We booked the 2-day romantic adventure and it was well worth the money. Accommodations were great with breathtaking views and a lot of space and privacy in our own cottage. Our package came with many things including a lunch, which turned out to be a fabulous multi-course gourmet meal arranged in a day-pack to take on a hike. The meal was exquisite complete with delicious lobster and a wonderful seafood salad. Other meals enjoyed here were top quality as well. The owners and staff couldn't be nicer and made sure our stay was lovely. We travelled a long way and the Seascape Coastal Retreat surpassed our expectations. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JadedfromLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I am very shocked with the previous review. This person must have really had issues, I am a regular reviewer, world travelled (Asia, Europe, Middle East, etc.) This is easily one of the best spots we have come across. On arrival we were welcomed by the owner in person, taken to the cottage and were delighted with the modern ammenities that made the cottage feel like a home. The bathroom was very spacious and clean, the bedroom very comfortable and the living area, what can I say, very cosy, views to die for and the deck was most welcoming.
Breakfast was what I expected coming from Ireland, big feed to start my day.
We are very keen to dine tonight, as it is a rare opportunity to get fine dining in this region.

I personally have severe allergies to animals and chose this location due it's no pet policy. I can't believe that pervious woman was allowed to have a pet stay in the cottages, regardless of handicaps. My father was blind and we had a dog, we never stayed were dogs were not allowed, or expect it!!!!! We chose this location as it was child and animal free.

We will be back and will highly recommend this location to all friends and family.

This lady needs to review her statement, I think she is over reacting and needs to think before she tries to slur a beautiful place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MaryKateNI19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingonish
45.2 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
655 reviews
40.3 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
2.4 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
1.9 mi away
Lantern Hill & Hollow
Lantern Hill & Hollow
#1 of 7 in Ingonish
213 reviews
23.3 mi away
Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seascape Coastal Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seascape Coastal Retreat

Address: 36083 Cabot Trail, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C 1K0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ingonish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Price Range: $255 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a full service resort. Suitable for couples. Outdoor Spa and tranquil gardens. Free vacation planning for our guests. Full service restaurant with liquor license ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Seascape Coastal Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seascape Coastal Retreat Hotel Ingonish
Seascape Coastal Retreat Ingonish, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing