We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible. We'll never come back here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seascape Coastal Retreat
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2011

When we checked in, the rates seemed very high, but we were tired and agreed on staying. Upon meeting some other families who were staying at Seascape, we found out that we had been charged almost double what everyone else was paying. We were very upset and hurt that we had been taken advantage of, and decided to go speak with the owner. The first time, the staff said that we "could ask any of the other guests, they must not have been telling the truth, we would never charge completely different rates." Well, we did speak with other guests, and it was true, they were charging completely different rates.

We travel with a service dog, who is licensed by Assistance Dogs International, and allowed into all facilities.

We spoke to the owner about lowering the rates again, and he agreed. He was extremely defensive and rude, and threatened to make us leave because his housekeeper had found dog hair in the unit. Not only is this a violation of human rights, it seemed wrong. He stormed off after lowering the rate saying "I'd better not find any dog hair in that unit tomorrow."

Though the views from the property are wonderful, there are places with better views, and better service close-by. The food at Seascape is sub-par and extremely overpriced.

Our trip to Nova Scotia has been wonderful, the people have been fantastic, until we got to Seascape. It is unfortunate that this kind of behavior takes place in the community, as it reflects poorly on Ingonish. When speaking to locals, they all commented on how overpriced Seascape is, and that they had heard many people extremely unhappy with the service.

We would happily return to Ingonish, but will never return to Seascape. If you're traveling to the area, there are other great places to stay. This is not one of them.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank gontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 306 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2011

Since we were weary of lookalike motels, overly rustic cabins or overdone inns we were delighted to discover the sophisticated modern simplicity, the exceptional comfort, the complete tranquility and the sensational setting of the Seascape Coastal Retreat along with its gourmet restaurant. In the evenings we enjoyed a glass of wine on our veranda just above the bay with unobstructed views of Middle Head and then indulged ourselves only steps away with choices from the chef's unusually creatige offerings.

As a bonus you will find what must be Nova Scotia's most cheerful hostess ministering to your needs.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank macrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

The views here are sensational and I guess that is what you are paying for. I found the cabins to be cheaply decorated. I had higher expectations for the price. When they state on their website that a "Fresh Seafood Hors d'oeuvre, home made by our gourmet chef" will be provided on arrival, I was expecting something other than deep fried nuggets. I also thought printing on the breakfast coupons that "gratuity is not included" is tacky, when breakfast itself is included in the price of the cabin. That said, the breakfast was very good and the service very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kacyrole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Gorgeous stop along the cabot trail... nice, modern and well equipped cottages. Beautiful view indeed... bed was comfy! Don't rely on the pull out couch for sleeping accomodations though...unless you have a chiropractor in the family.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwazulugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Where do we start, the comforts we found here were many, modern, well decorated cottages with so many wonderful comforts like a fireplace for a cool evening, a jacuzzi tub to relax in, and nice comfy beds with a down duvet.
The cottage was immaculate, the views spectacular.
The couple who runs this place were charming and fantastic, a joy to meet in our travels, and very helpful suggesting where to go to get the most out of the scenery and coastlineon the trail.
We decided to stay for 2 nights instead of 1 night, knowing we would probably not find anything so great on the trail.
Take the breakfast included, as it is delicious and well presented in their pretty dining room with a fabulous view.
We will stay there again on our next trip on the Cabot Trail.
Gina and Richard
Kitchener, Ontario

Room Tip: All the cottages have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank souldreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We had the best time ever at this place! The cottages were spotless and cute, and each one had a great view. But - the best part was the hospitality. The owners went out of their way to make sure we had a memorable experience, including letting us have a late breakfast after a very long travel day, letting us borrow cooking equipment to make our own lobster on the beach, and telling us about secluded interesting spots in Cape Breton Highlands national park. Make sure you ask for a picnic lunch, you won't be sorry - the owner is a FANTASTIC chef! Overall this place is definitely worth the price and we had a wonderful time, can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzy3332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We loved the Seascape Coastal Retreat. My wife and I stayed there for 5 nights this past September, and enjoyed every moment of it. The owner and his wife Julie were extremely customer friendly and very service oriented.
Our cabin faced the water (it wasn't number 8, maybe 9?), had lovely views and was very quiet. Even though there are numerous cabins on this property, none of them seem to face the other, resulting in a nice sense of privacy. Our room had a gas burning stove which warmed the place nicely at night.
The breakfasts were terrific, with a sufficient variety of choices to make it interesting over our 5 night stay. Also, when returning from long days of hiking, a nice snack which was waiting for us in the fridge of our cabin.
Julie (the owners wife) gave us excellent advice regarding local hikes and other activities. The Seascape offers reasonable proximity to the rest of the eastern portion (which we thought was the nicest) of Cape Breton. Hiking is amazing, and there is wildlife to be seen. We had pilot whales, basking sharks and various sea ducks to name a few. Also, be very careful driving at night because we came close to hitting a Moose on our way back from Meat Cove.
The food of the area is surprisingly so-so, but we did have excellent meals at the Chowder House which is not far from Seascape. Go there and order the Digby Clams and either the clam or seafood chowder. It's good, and the folks who run that place are the salt of the earth. Very nice people.
We visited the Keltic Lodge one day and as soon as I saw it I was glad we decided to stay at Seascape. It's nice, but big and stuffy and looks a little run down. It also does not offer the same privacy that Seascape does.
Stay there and enjoy it!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomNYC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingonish
39.2 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
40.3 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
45.2 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
1.9 mi away
Lantern Hill & Hollow
Lantern Hill & Hollow
#1 of 7 in Ingonish
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seascape Coastal Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seascape Coastal Retreat

Address: 36083 Cabot Trail, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C 1K0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ingonish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Price Range: $197 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a full service resort. Suitable for couples. Outdoor Spa and tranquil gardens. Free vacation planning for our guests. Full service restaurant with liquor license ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Seascape Coastal Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seascape Coastal Retreat Hotel Ingonish
Seascape Coastal Retreat Ingonish, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing