We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bean Barn Cafe

Bean Barn Cafe
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Ingonish
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Montreal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Seafood chowder and pizza were both delicious. Restaurant is cute and very busy. It's a popular place. It's right next door to the Glenghorm Beach Resort, a good place to go for breakfast/lunch if you don't have a room with kitchen facilities.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ILoveGreatFood09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beanbarn, Owner at Bean Barn Cafe, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank your wonderful review. So glad you enjoyed your stay in Ingonish and your visit to the Bean Barn Cafe & Deli. We are a small family business that takes great pride in every bit of food that we prepare for our customers. The owner uses an old family recipe and has been making his seafood chowder since over 30 years. He uses nothing but the freshest seafood & lots of it! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed it.
As for our pizza, our local folks in town just keep coming back for more & more! They know that it is the little secret in our sauce & our delicious crust that make it irresistible - glad you enjoyed yours as well.
We are the earliest cup of coffee & full breakfast in Ingonish, open every morning at 6:30am - so yes, quite convenient. Come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    63
    19
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baddeck, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place in Ingonish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

By far the best place to eat in Ingonish and the Cabot Trail! The sandwiches/subs are very filling but make sure you save room for dessert!! The cheesecakes are amazing! The staff are very friendly and helpful too. Stop by and see for yourself, you will not be disappointed! Simply delicious!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LDDAKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beanbarn, Owner at Bean Barn Cafe, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for your awesome review! Happy to hear that you enjoy your home made sandwiches, subs and cheesecake. All of our homemade bread for our sandwiches and toast is baked fresh every morning. The smell of it baking makes your mouth water.
We are truly blessed to have such an amazing, cheerful, friendly and helpful staff. See you at the Barn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baddeck, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Pizza, garlic fingers and subs simply sublime!!!!! Hands down best pizza and sandwiches in Ingonish hands down!!!! And if you don't have room for dessert get it to go. The cheesecakes melts in your mouth, the cinnamon rolls with a cup of tea are like a little piece of heaven!!!!!!! A must stop on the Cabot Trail!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beanbarn, Owner at Bean Barn Cafe, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. Sounds like you've gotten to sample quite a bit at our Cafe & we are so glad you enjoyed your pizza, garlic fingers, subs & homemade desserts. Be sure to visit us at the Bean Barn Cafe & Deli again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
120 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Beware of the coffee”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Most of their specialty coffees (espresso, Cappuccino, etc. come from a machine not much different than found in gas stations and rest stops.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 847fredm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beanbarn, Owner at Bean Barn Cafe, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. In regards to our coffee, our house blend we are told everyday, is the best in town - freshly ground premium beans. Regarding our Nescafe machine, we have lots of clientele that enjoy a sweet cappuccino, latte or steamed hot chocolate, however, for our clientele that prefer steamed, unsweetened cappuccinos & lattes, we hope to correct this next season by putting in a steamer (we would have it now except we are a small business and this piece of machinery is very expensive.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Average atmosphere, terrible food!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch and ordered pizza and it was definitely the worst pizza we've ever had. It wasn't cooked well, you could event taste the yeast and tasted terrible. The coffee was below average. The only thing good about this place is the decoration I think.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Nightynight1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beanbarn, Owner at Bean Barn Cafe, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are surprised & disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your pizza. We get wonderful compliments on our home made pizza, garlic fingers & subs all the time.
We have never heard of a yeasty taste and we apologize if your pizza was under cooked. Our very helpful staff would have been happy to have replaced your pizza if you had brought it to their attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bean Barn Cafe also viewed

Ingonish, Cape Breton Island
 
Ingonish, Cape Breton Island
Ingonish, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Bean Barn Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing