We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we dreamt of”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lantern Hill & Hollow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had planned our Canada trip a year ago, and above all we were dreaming to be along the Atlantic in a quiet place, as we were coming all the way from Turkey to see North East Canada.

The set up of the resort was just as we expected and luckly we were on the cottage closest to the sea.
Being Turkish we didnot prefer fast food, and cooked our dinner with salad and had a marvellous dinner by the sea that night. Same in the morning with breakfast.
All the equipment in the cottage was perfectly working and very clean.
The owner of the place was a very pleasant lady, and it was nice to have a chat with her in the morning.
It was a pitty that we could not stay another night and had to move.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nilüfer ç
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
There are newer reviews for Lantern Hill & Hollow
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 214 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were on the 3rd week of a 3 week car trip through the Maritimes and little tired. The drive down the property brought out anticipation of what were getting for the next 2 days. At the crest of the hill, the only word comes to mind is paradise. The cottages were clean, bright, well furnished and well appointed. The beach was beautiful and I am sure reminiscent of far away lands. We asked to stay longer, alas they were booked up for weeks to come. Stay here, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: try to get a cottage closest to the beach
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave gs s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

A great place to stop for the day and relax. There was no A/C in the unit however, sleeping with the windows open listening to the surf on the beach was a great way to sleep. It could be hot otherwise and we were thankful for the ceiling fan. The rooms were large and more than adequately equipped. We booked a suite with a king bed and although OK, the mattress was a little to hard for us and the linens were medicore. One of the reasons I gave the place a 4 and not a 5. In contrast, the next hotel we booked for less $$$ had Eqyptian cotton tripple sheeted pillow top beds. Pure Luxury. But, the room was smaller and in not nearly as nice an area.

Room Tip: Get your directions nailed down before you go as it is a difficult to find and took us about 30 minu...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TONYfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

our stand-alone 2 bedroom cabin (beachcomber) was the closest of 6 cabins to the beach. great for bird watchers because we saw gannets, scoters and grebes feeding right in front of us. the cabins are relatively new and well equipped and maintained (no wifi in cabin) although a small pkg of coffee would have been a nice touch for new arrivals. nice coffee shop up the road just a km or so away. would return here.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hankbauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We only had 1 night in the cottage and we wish we could have stayed longer. Our 2 bedroom cottage was well laid out and appointed, including a BBQ. And we were just yards from a magnificent beach. It was wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bedlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in the CUTEST 2 bedroom cottage EVER (the Shellseeker)! This cottage had everything we needed, and was exceptionally clean. Our kids enjoyed playing on the beautiful beach and collecting sea shells.
The owner, Sharon, was lovely and helpful, from the time I emailed with questions right until the end of our visit.
I wouldn't hesitate to visit again, and I highly recommend Lantern Hill & Hollow to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our night here, it was quiet and right on the water. We stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage called Stargazer, with a fireplace and kitchen. Had a beautiful walk on the beach. Cabin was very clean, but would have liked to have a little coffee/tea supplied with cabin .

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMS75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingonish
1.9 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
43.6 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
655 reviews
2.0 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
21.8 mi away
Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort
2.4 mi away
Skyline Cabins
Skyline Cabins
#2 of 7 in Ingonish
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lantern Hill & Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern Hill & Hollow

Address: 36845 Cabot Trail | Ingonish Beach, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C 1L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ingonish
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Ingonish
Price Range: $183 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lantern Hill & Hollow 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps away from the Atlantic Ocean stands an enchanting beach house with guest bed & bath rooms on a hill overlooking its own kingdom by the sea...A charming seaside village of beachfront guest cottages nestled in the hollow below...All of this is situated on a 6 acre beachfront property-- a picturesque tranquil & secluded park-like setting directly along the famous Cabot Trail in Ingonish, Cape Breton Island, NS. Minutes to amenities, golf, hiking trails, sea adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lantern Hill & Hollow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lantern Hill And Hollow Hotel Ingonish
Lantern Hill & Hollow Ingonish, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing