We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lantern Hill & Hollow
Nearby Hotels
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$206
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel(Bay St. Lawrence)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cornerstone Motel(Cheticamp)(Great Value!)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albert's Motel(Cheticamp)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveler rating
178
24
7
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
178
24
7
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housethe cottageskeltic lodgefull kitchenstayed longercabot trailthe beaningonish beachbeach bonfireocean wavesbedroom cottagehear the waveseverything you could possibly needsitting roomgorgeous placefront porchfour nights
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 216 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our night here, it was quiet and right on the water. We stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage called Stargazer, with a fireplace and kitchen. Had a beautiful walk on the beach. Cabin was very clean, but would have liked to have a little coffee/tea supplied with cabin .

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMS75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just had yet another wonderful trip to Nova Scotia and stayed at Lantern Hill & Hollow for one night. We had stayed there a few years ago, and loved it so much we had to stay once more. The location is beyond beautiful and the cottages are quaint, clean and equipped with everything you would need for one night, or one week. Sharon, the owner, graciously allowed us to stay prior to the official opening for the season, so we were the first and only guests on the property – and she didn’t bat an eye when I asked to change our arrival day last minute. We were in Nova Scotia on a golf trip, so we moved things around a bit to accommodate the changing weather – and Sharon kept on eye on the forecast for each of our golf locations. I would love to head back up in the warmer weather to stay for a few days. Each unit has a full kitchen and an outdoor gas grill. This is not a 5 star resort fancy resort with feather beds and spa robes – if that’s what you’re looking for go elsewhere – this is a wonderful, clean, simple, beach side accommodation – the perfect spot to spend some lazy, relaxing days with wine and cheese, and a few good books. I know I’ve already said this, but the location is stunning. Enjoyed watching the moon rise over the ocean and falling asleep to the sound of waves which were just steps away. Thanks Sharon – we’ll be back up when Cabot Cliffs opens!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UpstateTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We only stayed one night in the 1 bedroom cottage, I see why people say they wish they had stayed longer, the cottages are set up with everything you need. The grounds were spotless, the cottage looked new, no wear at all. When looking for a place I wanted to be near the beach, and you can't get any closer than the cottages.

Check in took seconds, and I was able to leave the key in the cottage so no check out. You will want to walk the beach.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PVHawkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Lantern Hill and Hollow for 2 nights, Sept. 16 & 17, 2012.
Sharon, the owner of Lantern Hill is very friendly and has a beautiful place to share with everyone who stays here.
Our room was lovely, spacious and modern with a warm and inviting feeling. Guests are welcome
to use the parlor and the large screened porch which faces the ocean. The stars were incredible and to fall asleep to the sound of the waves crashing was awesome. The grounds are beautiful with many areas to sit and relax.You can reserve a private cottage right on the water or stay in one of the large rooms in the main Inn.
This is the most beautiful Inn we have stayed in and we would highly recommend it
to anyone visiting this area. Sharon also has a wonderful staff, very friendly and they were very eager to share suggestions on where to eat and what to do in the area. Down the street from the Inn is a great restaurant and bakery-The Main Street Cafe-delicious meals and yummy bakery treats.
If you find yourself in Nova Scotia driving around the Cabot Trail this Inn should be an absolute must stay during your time here. You will not be disappointed!
Michael and Lola Moore
Elmhurst, Illinois

Room Tip: We liked the large rooms in the Main Inn. If you have children with you, you may prefer the cottages- they have a full kitchen.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LolaDMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

What a heavenly little spot to stay on the Cabot Trail. Spotlessly clean, pretty little cottages close enough to the ocean to hear the waves at night. A lovely little kitchen and barbeque. A little grocery store nearby so that you can take a break from always having to eat in restaurants on holiday. And a long wide beach for strolling or building a bonfire. There are several lovely sitting areas around the beautifully landscaped property. We will definitely be back on our next trip to Nova Scotia.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews