We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cottage right on the ocean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lantern Hill & Hollow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed her just for one night in September 2011 while doing to Cabot Trail and it was great. The cottage was called "Beachcomber" and it was a 2 bedroom cottage. It was clean, modern, with towels, linen etc. I would imagine this place would be fully booked out during the summer period and would be hard to get a reservation; it's in the perfect spot.

I would stay here agin.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
1  Thank globetrotting2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
There are newer reviews for Lantern Hill & Hollow
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 214 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here for three nights and didn't want to leave. Everything about this place is amazing. The cottages are beautiful, the beach is incredible and Sharon,the owner, is helpful but not intrusive. We loved this place and are looking forward to another visit. Just wish it was not so far from home.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bvm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Lovely room inside the inn. Does the location justify the price? The rhetorical question posed in the previous review--in my opinion, unequicocally yes. We went over to the Keltic Lodge and were so glad we had not chosen to stay there. Lantern Hollow much more private, gorgeous setting. Sharon is unobtrusive, seems to be helpful when guests need her. Room spotless and quite attractive. Would stay here again in a flash. Only noise is the crashing of the waves.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewYorkNYTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We spent 1 night here, staying in a "suite" in the main building in what is a lovely location. Our room was spacious, had an ocean view and had two comfortable chairs - this does not make it a suite, though (Collins Dictionary definition - " a set of connected rooms..."). The bathroom was small, though adequate. There was a sitting room, a veranda and a deck available for guests as well, the latter two having ocean views. No breakfast is provided, just a coffe maker ( with only 2 coffee capsules provided - perhaps more would have been forthcoming if we'd asked, but there was also a kettle and we take our own coffee so we managed).

My main reason for dropping the rating is the price, which was by far the most expensive of all the properties we stayed at in Nova Scotia ( which included some beautifully appointed B&Bs where a great breakfast was included). Perhaps the Ingonish location merits a much higher price than other locations in NS or even Cape Breton island, but we still felt that it was too expensive for what was provided.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Brit_abroad_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

This is an amazaing place to stay!!
Cottages are lovely and very comfortable with full kitchen, living area / gas fireplace. Two nice size bedrooms and all immaculately clean. It is Ingonish so expect raw beatuy at your door step, a 1 minute stroll to the beach in front of your cottage. A must stay if you are in need of accommadations in Ingonish~ Plenty to do in the area for the outdoors types....just ask Sharon and she will dircect you to hikes, waterfalls, lakes, etc in addition to the beach at your doorstep!

Not sure how it ever got anything but excellent ratings. We found it to be awesome and we travel the world and stay in all levels of accomodations...this is simply perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed two nights five days ago in the king suit on main floor of lodge. Room was well decorated, and very quiet. Onwer Sharon knowledgeable and offered excellent dining, and hiking advice. She put a coffee pot in our room to make one cup of coffee each. Only wish would have been for better weather...her location and beach are excellent...and perhaps providing at least a continental breAkfast for her lodge visitors. We paid 414. Including tax for two nights would return

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hughespasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed in Ingonish the first week of August, we were booked at one resort but wanted to find something a little more spacious as we were 4 adults traveling to Cape Breton for vacation. We happened upon the Lantern Hill and Hollow beach front cottages and suites and by luck there was a cancellation and we were able to have a cottage for 3 days. What can I say, the cottage was FANTASTIC!!!!!, You have everything you could possibly ask for. Sharon was amazing and made sure our stay was pleasant, the grounds were impeccable, the staff were very friendly, and the beach front is better than the actual Ingonish beach. If you ever make the trip to Ingonish Cape Breton, you must stay here. Thanks Sharon for such an amazing stay. Jim, Pauline, Mary and Dave

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmieMorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingonish
1.9 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
43.6 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
655 reviews
2.0 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
21.8 mi away
Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort
2.4 mi away
Skyline Cabins
Skyline Cabins
#2 of 7 in Ingonish
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lantern Hill & Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern Hill & Hollow

Address: 36845 Cabot Trail | Ingonish Beach, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C 1L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ingonish
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Ingonish
Price Range: $183 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lantern Hill & Hollow 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps away from the Atlantic Ocean stands an enchanting beach house with guest bed & bath rooms on a hill overlooking its own kingdom by the sea...A charming seaside village of beachfront guest cottages nestled in the hollow below...All of this is situated on a 6 acre beachfront property-- a picturesque tranquil & secluded park-like setting directly along the famous Cabot Trail in Ingonish, Cape Breton Island, NS. Minutes to amenities, golf, hiking trails, sea adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lantern Hill & Hollow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lantern Hill And Hollow Hotel Ingonish
Lantern Hill & Hollow Ingonish, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing