We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is "our" cottage when we spend a few days on Cabot trail”
Review of Driftwood Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ingonish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Driftwood Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Ingonish B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 23, 2013

As I said, the yellow cabin already become "our" cottage when we book a few days get-away on the famous Cabot trail. We come back every year! The yellow cabin is separated from the main lodge, it may look dated, but it's always clean! My family appreciate the privacy and the peace, just sitting at the dinning room, looking outside the big glass window facing to the ocean, it's all about why we love to stay here. The private beach is so clean and beautiful, my family enjoy the evening walk and kid has tons of fun on the beach. The landlord Kersti is very very friendly and helpful. She loves to share the story about the history of the driftwood lodge to her guests. The yellow cabin we stay has two bedrooms, one washroom, one kitchen with all appliances, it's perfect for the family. The landlord always brings extra blankets and space heaters when we visit either early in the season or in falls. The beauty of Cape Breton island, and the dirving experience on Cabot trail is second to none. The Driftwood Lodge just sits on the trail and "inside" the Cape Breton highland national park. Location is another great feature we choose to stay here. And of course, last but not least, the staying is very affordable!
All in all, everytime my family stay in Driftwood lodge, we're always pleased. We will come back again and again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ProjectTantallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 43 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

The accommodation is modest but so clean. And the wi-fi was an unexpected bonus, I hadn't seen it mentioned on their website. A perfect location on the beach near Cape Breton Park The kitchen was sufficiently stocked for easy meals.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrlandoFLTravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We booked 4 nights in the separate lodge over the internet as the website was attractive and it had a good writeup in "The Lonely Planet" book on Canada. It was a shock to see the condition of the yellow "shack". We had to wipe the dust off the bedhead and there were many dead insects inside the lampshades. It was cramped, creaky rough and poorly maintained even though we were told it was 140 years old. Age and tradition are no excuses for poor housekeeping. We hardly slept the first night -we were so upset we had been fooled by the available information and could not face another 3 nights . We only stayed the one night and the owner charged us a second night's accommodation fee. We found much better, cheaper, cleaner accommodation just down the road. We are informing "Lonely Planet" of our opinion on Driftwood Lodge.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

It's hard not to be biased, as we stayed at a few very nice b&b's on this trip. Unfortunately, this wasn't one of them. We stayed in number 5, which was dark, rustic and musty. It was clean though and just a staircase away from the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Growe53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

As the other review mentions, these apartments are somewhat rustic; but they are charming, they were clean the several times I stayed here, and they get the job done - well worth the price: most affordable accommodations we could find in Ingonish. There are decks with a gorgeous ocean view, a big backyard and from the backyard you can walk down a set of steps onto a sandy ocean beach; perfect for bonfires or swimming. And the hosts couldn't have been friendlier. I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed at the Driftwood Lodge for a week in the course of a longer trip through Nova Scotia. On the upside, the Lodge sits in a great location on Cape Breton Island, with Ingonish Beach, the Cape Breton Highlands National Park and many hiking opportunities conveniently close. It is also not too far away from Sydney and Louisburg and its National Historic Site. The Lodge itself sits on a beautiful piece of land right at the coast, there is only a small lawn, a cliff and the Atlantic. Makes for great views from the veranda...
Unfortunately, the appartments do not live up to the surroundings. While certainly spacy, they are also very old, rundown and in desperate need of refurbishment. Some of the kitchen equipment (such as the stove, the water cooker and the toaster) look like being put in there in the 70s. The place is also not too clean, we had to wash up all dishes and clean out the fridge before we felt like using them. All this would not have been so bad for us, if the appartement would not also have been extremely noisy. You can here almost every word of what each of your up to three neighbours is saying, let alone their walking around, closing doors etc. We did not sleep through one single night...
Given that for the same amount of money we stayed in considerably more comfortable accomodations on Nova Scotia, even the landlady's friendliness did not help enough to make us feel at home. Come our next time on Cape Breton we will certainly look for another place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ingoism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Zokanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ingonish hotels
0.2 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
0.1 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
1.7 mi away
Ingonish Chalets
Ingonish Chalets
#3 of 7 in Ingonish
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Castlerock Country Inn
Castlerock Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Ingonish
197 reviews
2.4 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Salty Rose's and the Periwinkle Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Lodge

Address: 36139 Cabot Trail, Ingonish, Nova Scotia, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ingonish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ingonish
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Driftwood Lodge Ingonish, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing