We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piece of Heaven on Earth”

Cape Breton Highlands National Park
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Ingonish
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Treasures abound throughout the headlands and rugged cliffs of Cape Breton Highlands with its abundant wildlife, spectacular scenery and human history dating back to the last Ice Age.
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Piece of Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

You will be sure that these are some of the words that you will be repeating while you are travelling through the park:

Breathtaking
Phenomenal
Fantastic
Wow
Spectacular
Amazing...

With lots of pictures being taken in between. If you have been wanting to go and haven't, you won't be disappointed. My fall trip has been spectacular!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Itching2Travel_97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    915
    136
    26
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“See it!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Lots of great views. We traveled in October and so there was still plenty of color from the fall foliage. If you like to take pictures you'll have lots of angles and views to pick from.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulBrawner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The splendor of autumn”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The views are breathtaking, and the scenery is everywhere. To see and do all that there is would take about a week.

I will caution visitors that due to the volume of people and the terrain, traffic can sometimes move very slow. Have patience .. the view around the next bend is worth it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Minstral60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cape Breton”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Travelled to the highlands to see the fall colours on October 12, 2013 and we were not disappointed. If you want to see spectacular scenery it's the place to go this time of the year and make sure you take a camera. I am from Cape Breton and every year we go to see the beautiful fall colours. Come visit Cape Breton in the fall, you won't be disappointed but you will need to buy a National Park pass, you can check the National Park web site for more info. It will take the day to drive the park so give yourself lots of time. If you come in October make sure you take in Celtic Colours Music Festival, you can check out the we site for more info.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank valb16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The Best Part Of Cape Breton”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Highlands National Park was our main reason for visiting Cape Breton this summer. We broke up our visit into two days spending the night in Pleasant Bay and Ingonish. My friends and I are wanna novice hikers and avoided any trains that had a "steep incline" in the description.

Day 1: We arrived at the park around 1pm and stopped at the visitor information centre. We hiked the Le Buttereau trail which was a fairly easy walk with some nice views. We drove up the coast making many stops to take pictures and explore rocky beaches. We hiked the Skyline Trail which was a moderate hike with spectacular views. The trail took roughly 2 hours round trip. We hiked the bog trail, which was very informative and took 15 minutes. The Bog trail is wheel chair accessible. We arrived in Pleasant Bay with enough time to make dinner before watching the sun go down.

Day 2: We made a point to view most of the waterfalls in the park. We began at MacIntosh Brook trail *an easy walk to some beautiful falls* Then visited 3 other sets of falls stopping in quaint villages to shop and take photos. We arrived in Ingonish with time to do the Middle Head trail at the spectacular Keltic Lodge Hotel.

If you are going to Cape Breton do not miss the Highlands National park.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ClassynCheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Breton Highlands National Park also viewed

Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 
Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
Ingonish, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Cape Breton Highlands National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing