We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Cape Breton” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Breton Highlands National Park

Cape Breton Highlands National Park
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Ingonish
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Treasures abound throughout the headlands and rugged cliffs of Cape Breton Highlands with its abundant wildlife, spectacular scenery and human history dating back to the last Ice Age.
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cape Breton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Travelled to the highlands to see the fall colours on October 12, 2013 and we were not disappointed. If you want to see spectacular scenery it's the place to go this time of the year and make sure you take a camera. I am from Cape Breton and every year we go to see the beautiful fall colours. Come visit Cape Breton in the fall, you won't be disappointed but you will need to buy a National Park pass, you can check the National Park web site for more info. It will take the day to drive the park so give yourself lots of time. If you come in October make sure you take in Celtic Colours Music Festival, you can check out the we site for more info.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank valb16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    847
    126
    24
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The Best Part Of Cape Breton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Highlands National Park was our main reason for visiting Cape Breton this summer. We broke up our visit into two days spending the night in Pleasant Bay and Ingonish. My friends and I are wanna novice hikers and avoided any trains that had a "steep incline" in the description.

Day 1: We arrived at the park around 1pm and stopped at the visitor information centre. We hiked the Le Buttereau trail which was a fairly easy walk with some nice views. We drove up the coast making many stops to take pictures and explore rocky beaches. We hiked the Skyline Trail which was a moderate hike with spectacular views. The trail took roughly 2 hours round trip. We hiked the bog trail, which was very informative and took 15 minutes. The Bog trail is wheel chair accessible. We arrived in Pleasant Bay with enough time to make dinner before watching the sun go down.

Day 2: We made a point to view most of the waterfalls in the park. We began at MacIntosh Brook trail *an easy walk to some beautiful falls* Then visited 3 other sets of falls stopping in quaint villages to shop and take photos. We arrived in Ingonish with time to do the Middle Head trail at the spectacular Keltic Lodge Hotel.

If you are going to Cape Breton do not miss the Highlands National park.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ClassynCheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Ontario
Level Contributor
210 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“A beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We spent two days there. (your entrance fee is good for two days, depending on when you buy). The drive is beautiful with a lot of places to pull over and look at the vistas. Worth a visit and to take your time exploring. There are lots of places for walking and hiking.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Campfiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful wooded hills”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stunning autumn colours and a beautiful shoreline. The trails are easy to follow and marked as to distance, time and difficulty.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Spectacular scenery..second to none !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

If you want to drive along the ocean, breathe in the sea air, catch some of the most Brilliant Colors of trees you have ever seen, listen to world class Celtic music, dancers and performers at the Celtic Colours Festival ....Cape Breton Island and the Highlands National Park are where you want to spend time in the month of October !

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mairhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Breton Highlands National Park also viewed

Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 
Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Cape Breton Highlands National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing