We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“even a great day trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Breton Highlands National Park

Cape Breton Highlands National Park
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Ingonish
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Treasures abound throughout the headlands and rugged cliffs of Cape Breton Highlands with its abundant wildlife, spectacular scenery and human history dating back to the last Ice Age.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“even a great day trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We only had one day (drove out from Sydney) but still saw a lot. The Cabot Trail drive alone makes the trip worth while but there is so much else to do. There are numerous short trails that can be worked into a day trip and small museums as well. We drove the side road to one of the proclaimed first landings of Cabot and had a great time wandering the beach. The Whale Interpretive Centre en route was interesting too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank WeVentureForth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    847
    126
    24
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just be careful you don't fly off the road while you are oohing and aahing around every hill and bend in the road! Fortunately, there are plenty of places to turn-off and gaze at the mesmerizing scenery.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank HumphreyClinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watford
Level Contributor
126 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Amazing three days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Cape Breton national park was all that we expected it to be apart from the red trees. We'd been looking forward to seeing the autumn colours here but as there had been a particularly warm autumn the colours were not brilliant. However the scenery made up for it and we had the most amazing 3 days including a really good whale watching trip from Pleasant Bay

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank valgardening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

It was very beautiful to look at we didn't go far from the van because of concern about the wildlife. The scenery was spectacular .

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Swampnort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simcoe, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A MUST SEE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

If you think they have mountains out west, wait till you get here. First time I have ever been intimidated with mountain roads and a 5 tonn RV. The lookout spots are every where so take your time and " smell the roses", you might even see a whale or two. Word of advise, go up the north shore and down the south. Your passanger will be most greatfull.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Breton Highlands National Park also viewed

Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 
Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Cape Breton Highlands National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing