We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking views, top-notch service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views, top-notch service!”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Keltic Lodge for the first time this past weekend and it was great! We stayed in the main lodge and our room had a spectacular view of the surrounding ocean and mountains. The room itself was very comfortable, quiet and extremely clean! While there, we dined at two of the restaurants (Highland Sitting Room and Purple Thistle Dining Room) both of which had great service and delicious food. On Saturday evening we enjoyed some local entertainment in the Highland Sitting Room.
While at the resort we went on a nice hike of the Middle Head Trail. The starting point is only a short walk from the main lodge and ends at the edge of the mountain top with outstanding views all around. Simply gorgeous! We also enjoyed a few refreshing dips in the outdoor heated pool and visited Ingonish Beach (only a short drive from the main lodge).
Overall, we had a great experience at the Keltic Lodge. Unfortunately, with only two days on our hands we didn't have the time to take in all of the other activities that the resort and beautiful National Park have to offer. We hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaimie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    290
    170
    105
    40
See reviews for
209
500
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Obviously you've seen the gorgeous pictures and they are all true. We splurged on the cost and stayed here for 5 nights in an ocean view room at the Inn (instead of a cottage). We enjoyed lounging out in the back yard at night to watch the moonlight reflect off the water. I enjoyed the big heated pool, but surprisingly there was no hot tub.

The only BUT is that this hotel is basically a magnet for tourist groups, weddings, and conventions. We were hoping for a more romantic experience. Do not expect a peaceful ambiance here, although we did not have any trouble getting a quiet night's sleep. Our room awkwardly opened into a hallway that would have literally a room full of convention-goers facing into the hallway of our room. The only unforgivable thing was the ambivalence of the hotel clerk when I complained. Instead of an apology, I was simply told this was not "usually" the case. Well, if I'm staying there 5 nights, and 2 of those 5 mornings I have this experience, this is little comfort to me. The AC worked well, but only a tiny corner of 1 of the windows opened, so we did not get to enjoy fresh air or the sounds of the ocean. I mention these things because, for the cost, one should have a perfect experience, and ours was not perfect. The Inn had some nice stuff in it (pool table, ping pong). If you like that kind of stuff, I can see why this place is enjoyed by large parties.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank femtoamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay with us. We take our guest feedback very seriously, and we are sincerely sorry for your experience. I would like to have the opportunity to discuss the problems you encountered in further detail. I can be reached at jbrown@kelticlodge.ca.

Kind regards,
Jason Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe Area, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

As part of a long anticipated trip to Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia, my wife and I booked an overnight golf package at the Keltic Lodge, Ingonish Beach, Nova Scotia. We checked in at the main lodge, where there were no porters, parking attendants or other similar service staff. We then drove a short distance to the golf course, where the only outside staff we encountered was a starter (carry your own clubs to the bag drop, fetch a cart yourself and load it yourself). The cart paths are in terrible shape (rough, gravel, rocks, etc). There might be 3-4 working ball washers on the course. The greens are not well maintained (dead spot here and there), nor are the fairways (invasive weeds in many places). Some of the tee boxes have large strips of sod missing (removed to be used elsewhere?) and are not cut low enough for a teeing ground. Our hotel room had bathroom faucets which could not be completely shut off, had a Venetian blind which was permanently askew and one of the beds had sheets which were not tucked in. Finally, the ice machine did not work. And all of this, including a very basic evening meal at the Atlantic Restaurant on the property, for only a little over CD 600. Really a disappointment after all the build up this place gets when compared with truly deluxe and first class properties we have visited around the world.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdavisonjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Please let me be the first to apologize for problems you encountered during your visit with us. I assure you that we take our guest feedback very seriously, and that we are taking your recommendations into account for our future guests. We are an affiliate of Highlands Links and do not manage or own the golf course, but we are sorry your experience was not what you had anticipated. If you would like to further discuss your stay at Keltic, please contact me directly at jbrown@kelticlodge.ca.

Kind regards,
Jason Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

The Keltic Lodge and Resort is an absolutely spectacular location. As you drive in, it is hard to believe that a hotel is located in the heart of Cape Breton and virtually a part of the remarkable National Park that exists. The lodge could be one of the top hotels in the world with more investments in upkeep and service but it is a very comfortable, friendly place with views and a setting you will never forget. It was surprisingly quiet while we were there. The hotel rooms and some of the common areas could use some updating but the main entry and bar have been very nicely updated and there was live music every night of our stay. It feels like staying in a community and all of the guests were happy to be there and enjoying the environment and proximity to nature. The Middlehead Trail is a remarkable place to take a morning or late afternoon run or hike. Just a spectacular setting!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our ocean view room in the Lodge. It was quite spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookie2008_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
127 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had been told about the Keltic lodge when planning our trip through the Maritimes . The hotel is a classic with an absolutely amazing location on a peninsula with wonderful views. The common areas were lovely but the room in the main lodge that we stayed in needs some improvement. We were on the second floor with a great view of the lake, although no balcony. The room was spacious with a comfortable king size bed and furnishings. However, there is no air conditioning but the ceiling fan was a help. The fittings were dated (haven't seen hot water steam radiators in awhile), some of the clips on the full length mirror on the back of the closet were broken so we left the door open for fear of having the mirror come off, floor tiles in the bathroom were cracked and chipped. We had a lovely light dinner in the bar/lounge area with a great guitarist singing traditional Maritime favourites. At 10:00 am there was a guided 2-3 hr Parks Canada walk through the Middlehead trail which starts just behind the hotel and should not be missed. The place really has a lot of potential and if updated would be worth the close to $300 nightly rate which included a fine buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: The musician stops playing at 11:00 so if you want to get to bed before then don't stay on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReadyToTravelYUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

The location of this lodge is what makes it worth a night's stay if you are touring through the Cape Breton Trail. The property is beautifully maintained and the views from the property grounds are superb. Also, the Middle Ground trail, which is located on the property is a an easily navigated trail that leads to wonderful scenic vistas. The accommodations themselves are a bit spartan, more like motel style accommodations rather than resort style accommodations. Front desk staff, mainly young, possibly students, were not particularly helpful. The main restaurant served up a great meal on the day we dined there. The chowders and soups were home made and excellent. The seafood chowder is their specialty. I had the daily pasta which was also very good. Daily breakfast is included with the room. Also, there is nightly entertainment in the lounge, often local Keltic music. The lodge is pretty pricey considering the outdated accommodations but the facilities on site and its strategic location within the Cabot Trail help to justify the bill.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debi1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed in "K" Cottage which had 3 bedrooms, and 2 bathrooms. Upstairs bathroom shower water would not drain, had no tissue, and no waste basket. One upstairs bedroom had no air conditioning, and both had no tissue or waste baskets. We were not given enough towels. Many turn dowels on window blinds were broken; so we could not close blinds. So far away from main lodge, we had to request a shuttle each time we wanted to have a meal. Front screen door did not latch and one of our dogs was able to get out and slip under fenced in yard, because the fencing had large gaps where it did not even come close to the ground. Dinner was not good and took forever. Breakfast buffet was good. Views are incredible!!! Grounds are in need of more decorative flowers.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your breakfast and the beautiful views. We are very sorry about the problems you encountered with your cottage. In the future, please do not hesitate to contact the front desk during your stay, as they may be able to make your visit more comfortable. Please be assured that we take our guest complaints very seriously and that we are currently working to fix the problems you mentioned. If you would like to further discuss your stay, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at, jbrown@kelticlodge.ca.

Kind Regards,
Jason Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingonish
2.4 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
42.9 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
54.7 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
1.7 mi away
Skyline Cabins
Skyline Cabins
#4 of 7 in Ingonish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
42.8 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa

Property: Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Address: 383 Middle Head Peninsula, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C 1L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ingonish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic Cape Breton resort, Keltic Lodge Resort and Spa, is located in the heart of Cape Breton Highlands National Park overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Just 2 hours from Sydney, NS and a scenic 5 hour drive from Nova Scotia's capital city Halifax, the 100 room resort has been welcoming guests to Cape Breton, Nova Scotia since July 1940. Keltic offers versatility for Cape Breton accommodations with rooms in the Main Lodge, spacious rooms in the Inn at Keltic and cozy two and four bedroom cottages with fireplaces and verandas. The Cape Breton resort is the perfect spot for a Nova Scotia family vacation with recreation facilities on-site or nearby that include a heated outdoor pool, Atlantic Ocean Ingonish Beach, hiking, wilderness trails, lawn games, whale watching, Eminence Spa and boat cruises. Adjacent to the resort is the Cape Breton golf icon, the 18 hole championship Highlands Links Golf Course. The Cape Breton golf course, rich in the Scottish tradition, has been restored to Stanley Thompson's magnificent original design. The Purple Thistle Dining Room and Atlantic Restaurant and Bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean offer a comfortable dining experience and traditional Maritime menu. The Highland Sitting Room features a pub menu for lunch and dinner and nightly live Celtic entertainment. Nova Scotia conferences are welcome at Keltic Lodge with 13,000 sq ft of meeting space spread throughout the resort utilizing the restaurants and bars for private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keltic Lodge Resort And Spa
Keltic Hotel Ingonish
Keltic Resort Ingonish
Keltic Lodge Nova Scotia
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa Ingonish, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing