We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic and iconic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We chose to stay at the Keltic Lodge, as we considered this an iconic place on Cape Breton. There weren't many other hotels or lodges that visually appealed to us, so it seemed like the only place to stay that fit our needs. I see that others have noted that it is outdated and expensive. I too found it outdated, but it certainly didn't seem overly expensive to me, given that breakfast was included in the room rate.

We would have liked to have stayed in the lodge, but had perhaps booked the inn in error. At first, I was disappointed but in the end I suspect the rooms better fit our needs. The inn definitely needs some kind of better air conditioning and the rooms there were musty. We did have in-room air conditioner units that worked well enough. The views from the room were quite good, but for sure they could have taken more advantage of the location with bigger windows and adding balconies. Perhaps when they renovate they'll keep that in mind? The staff were extremely accommodating and lovely. Everyone was helpful. Servers were a bit slow, but I would come here again. The outdoor pool was a hit too.

We were lucky enough to be guests during KitchenFest and enjoyed flatbreads and beer in the pub while listening to some pretty incredible music. Even the staff couldn't resist tapping their feet while waiting for drinks from the bartender.

If you are expecting a super luxurious stay, perhaps Cape Breton is not the place to stay at all. The Keltic Lodge appears to be the highest end thing around. If you are looking for Cape Breton charm and an iconic space, then choose here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,018)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

545 - 551 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel is 70 years old so it is considered a classic. We didn't stay in the main building but in one of the other buildings. The price was less. Had a view of the water but it was foggy and rainy for the couple of days we were there. Drove the cabot trail and the fog lifted, and the views were amazing. Breakfast was included in the price and was served in the Main dining room which was lovely. First day we ordered off the menu (very pricey if not included with your room), second morning it was a buffet breakfast. The grounds are nice to walk and see the views of the water.

Room Tip: This is on the Cabot trail and is convenient from both sides of the trail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank bilasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is rather dated, but it's the location that is unrivalled. The hotel sits on a peninsula and features a top 100 in the world golf course 2 min away. Go here whether it's for family, business or couple, this place will meet any needs you have.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We only spent one night at Keltic Lodge for an anniversary. Our only regret was not making it a longer stay!! The service is top notch, everyone you encounter from check-in, to the cleaning and gardening staff is courteous, polite and helpful.

The beds and shower are super comfortable (some of my top requirements for a nice hotel :) There were chairs everywhere on the grounds so you could sit and enjoy the view. There is a hike from the lodge and also a nice outdoor heated swimming pool. Breakfast buffet was lovely as was the staff. The dinner restaurants didn't have too much selection but we were able to find a few casual dining options "off campus."

Room Tip: We stayed at The Inn at Keltic Lodge. (there are several sections)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expat824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed in the Inn for two nights, so I can't comment on rooms in either the Lodge or the cabins. Here goes......this place is PRICEY....and you pay for the location not the room. The Inn (as another commenter mentioned) looks like a retirement home and the inside was not what I expected for the price. The common areas badly need to have new carpet and paint would help. Our room was on the second floor, so had a view of the ocean...but just through windows that couldn't be opened. For some reason I expected a balcony where one could sit and enjoy the view....and was disappointed there wasn't one. The room was basically like staying at a Comfort Inn (i.e. nothing special). Breakfast (provided) in the purple thistle was okay. The staff was friendly and attentive. Entertainment in the bar was okay....and free (I guess you get what you pay for......but...yeah.....we did pay a LOT to stay here). It was a little weird that in July there were so few people staying here...so maybe that's part of the problem. Anyway, the Middlehead Trail, accessible from the Lodge parking lot, was really nice. When we were there, a seagull rookery within view at the very end of the trail, was in full swing with baby seagulls following the parents around. All-in-all, if I traveled through this area again....I would take a chance on staying somewhere else where you could get two nights lodging for the price of one at the Keltic. I gave the Keltic an overall rating of 3 only because of the location....otherwise, the experience was not much better than staying at a Comfort Inn.

Room Tip: If you plan to golf.....bring DEET to keep the mosquitoes away....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our scenic location, and that our staff was friendly and attentive. Please let me assure you that we pay close attention to our guest feedback, and that we will be looking more closely at the issues which you encountered.

We hope that you will visit us again.

Kind Regards,
Jason Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Well talk about a surprise! Keltic Lodge is located in a wonderful setting in the Cape Breton National Park. Expect stunning scenery & great gardens. The rooms were good - this hotel is only open a few months each year due its location, but even so I could not fault the rooms. They are very clean and comfortable. I was here for 2 nights with a tour group and we ate in the main dining room the Purple Thistle and it was one of the best meals I had on the tour. It is well located to explore the National Park.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The lodge was built in 1940, I am not sure when the Inn was built, but I doubt that it was upgraded or renovate, since then.
I stayed at the Inn (the only room available that day).It is clean, though... Still smells really old. Of-course, it is not historic so it has no Old-Charm character ... So no excuse.
If your room on the lower floor, you will hear and feel every single walking step of the room above you.... With active children, kiss the sleep good-bye. The bed mattress is so bad that poor sleep and back pain are guaranteed.
You charge an arm and leg for this room, at least do something to make our stay bearable ... It truly feels like a cheap Motel room.... In all honesty.
On the bright side, when you are outside the room: the property is in a Prime spot... Beautiful nature ....
This hotel is the best in the area, so I was told, read, and being advertised... So know exactly what you are getting into before arrival.... It will be too late for regrets.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TOURtheWORLDMexPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the scenery surrounding Keltic Lodge. We are very sorry that your room wasn’t what you had expected. In the future, we would encourage you to speak to the front desk about any concerns you may have. Please trust that we take guest complaints very seriously, and we are working with our staff to ensure improvements are made for future visitors. If you would like to discuss your experience in greater detail, please do not hesitate to contact me at, jbrown@kelticlodge.ca

Kind Regards,
Jason Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingonish
2.4 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
36.9 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
38.0 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
2.3 mi away
Ingonish Chalets
Ingonish Chalets
#3 of 7 in Ingonish
95 reviews
1.7 mi away
Skyline Cabins
Skyline Cabins
#2 of 7 in Ingonish
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa

Address: 383 Middle Head Peninsula, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C 1L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ingonish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Price Range: $210 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic Cape Breton resort, Keltic Lodge Resort and Spa, is located in the heart of Cape Breton Highlands National Park overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Just 2 hours from Sydney, NS and a scenic 5 hour drive from Nova Scotia's capital city Halifax, the 100 room resort has been welcoming guests to Cape Breton, Nova Scotia since July 1940. Keltic offers versatility for Cape Breton accommodations with rooms in the Main Lodge, spacious rooms in the Inn at Keltic and cozy two and four bedroom cottages with fireplaces and verandas. The Cape Breton resort is the perfect spot for a Nova Scotia family vacation with recreation facilities on-site or nearby that include a heated outdoor pool, Atlantic Ocean Ingonish Beach, hiking, wilderness trails, lawn games, whale watching, Eminence Spa and boat cruises. Adjacent to the resort is the Cape Breton golf icon, the 18 hole championship Highlands Links Golf Course. The Cape Breton golf course, rich in the Scottish tradition, has been restored to Stanley Thompson's magnificent original design. The Purple Thistle Dining Room and Atlantic Restaurant and Bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean offer a comfortable dining experience and traditional Maritime menu. The Highland Sitting Room features a pub menu for lunch and dinner and nightly live Celtic entertainment. Nova Scotia conferences are welcome at Keltic Lodge with 13,000 sq ft of meeting space spread throughout the resort utilizing the restaurants and bars for private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keltic Lodge Resort And Spa
Keltic Hotel Ingonish
Keltic Resort Ingonish
Keltic Lodge Nova Scotia
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa Ingonish, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing