We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Add this to your list of great Cliffside Hotels!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The Keltic Lodge on the northeast coast of Cape Breton Island (part of Nova Scotia) is situated on a high promontory looking out at the Atlantic Ocean. Wonderful views, great food, very nice rooms, excellent staff, and fun entertainment by Rob playing the guitar. It's near the Cabot Trail across the island, so you can plan day trips from there. We loved it!

Room Tip: Good views in all directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BluegrassGuy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! It sounds like you were able to take advantage of everything our resort (and Cape Breton) has to offer! It’s great to hear that you had such a positive experience.

We hope to have you back soon.

Until then,
Barry MacDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,019)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

572 - 578 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

This place will take your breath away! Views are to die for!
I can't say one bad thing about the Keltic Lodge.
We stayed and dined in the main lodge. Rooms and
food are top notch as well as the staff.
The lounge with entertainment in the evenings were the best. This
is the only place we would ever consider staying the next time
we go back to Cape Breton Island.

Room Tip: Best rooms are in the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 696chester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your Keltic Lodge experience with us on TripAdvisor. We’re so happy to hear that you enjoyed the scenic views our property has to offer.

We love entertaining our guests with Maritime charm and we’re delighted that you enjoyed the local Cape Breton talent every evening. We can’t wait to welcome you back to Ingonish, hopefully it will be sometime this summer!

See you soon,
Matthew Mackenzie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This hotel was a welcome respite from all the "hard traveling" we had been doing in the course of attending the Celtic Colours Festival. We had our own private cabin, which we shared with friends, relaxed around a fireplace, and shared wine and views. We dined like royalty in the hotel dining room enjoying magnificent coastal views with eagles soaring over the cliffs. Regretably, we had to leave and move on down the road toward less comfortable quarters for the duration of our journey. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: I recommend the cabin vs. the hotel rooms, They are much more spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for writing this review and for sharing your Keltic Lodge experience with us. We’re delighted to hear that you got to enjoy the Celtic Colours Festival, it’s an event loved and enjoyed by many. Our cottages are the perfect place to sit by the fire and relaxing while spending time with family and friends.

It sounds like you have a very enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in 2014.

Until then,
Matthew Mackenzie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Traveling the Cabot Trail in October is stunning, without a doubt, but we like to stop and enjoy the views and vistas over a nice lunch and at this time of year many things have closed along the Trail, but not the the Keltic Lodge. Off the main lobby of the lodge, there's a large open space with lots of intimate sitting areas that make you feel like you're in your own home. We arrived late for lunch, about 1:30 p.m., and the lounge was empty with the exception of one couple in a far corner, and the bar staff, two young women who spent a very fortunate summer season working at this incredible location. The Keltic Lodge is on the Trail and over looks the ocean. The bar was comfortable so we ordered a simple lunch there looking out to the ocean - local oysters (the best we have ever had) and a spinach salad. Simple and delicious, and the room and staff were warm and friendly. This is a must for anyone who wants a good lunch in truly comfortable surroundings.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank CDWBridgehampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you for choosing to enjoy lunch at the Keltic Lodge and for taking the time to share this review and these beautiful photos. We’re delighted that you were able to enjoy the gorgeous fall colours surrounding Cape Breton this fall. It’s a beautiful time of year to explore the Cabot Trail.

We’re glad you found our oysters and spinach salad so tasty! We hope we get the chance to welcome you back to the Keltic Lodge next season.

Until next time,
Matthew Mackenzie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

If you want to see the magnificence of coastal Nova Scotia (including whale sightings and soaring bald eagles), then this is the place. The ambiance is dated though and a bit seedy, and the food is consistently average. But, the views were just beyond belief and for that alone it was worth the drive out there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

What a review, thank you for sharing these kind words with us. We’re thrilled that you had the opportunity to enjoy the remarkable views, experience whale watching and go eagle spotting during your stay.

We hope we have the chance to welcome you back to our Cape Breton resort next season.

Until then,
Matthew Mackenzie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

If you are looking for a breathtaking scenic adventure with the flavor of Scotland and Ireland, Cabot Trail, Cape Breton in Nova Scotia is a great destination and the Keltic Lodge is the perfect place to stay in this paradise! The staff and the ambiance are reminicent of days gone by. From the moment we checked in until we left we were made to feel welcome in every way. We went when the colors were vibrant and the Celtic music was everywhere!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share these wonderful comments with us. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed our scenic location, welcoming staff and the traditional Cape Breton hospitality we provide.

It sounds like you had a very enjoyable and memorable stay. We hope your travels bring you back to the area again soon.

Until next time,
Matthew Mackenzie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The service we received was very good at the front desk. The room looked lovely & actually had a bit of a view, but it was very hot all night even with the windows wide open. I think it was above the kitchen.
We were told that this was "the" place to stay on the Cabot Trail, but I'm afraid it just didn't live up to our expectations.
The restaurant dinner really let us down. This is what ruined the whole experience for us. See my review of the Purple Thistle Dining room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GabriolaGirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at our Cape Breton resort and for sharing this review with us. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed our scenic property and friendly service.

We’re sorry to hear about your less than expected experience. We strive to provide exceptional services to our guests and we want to apologize for not meeting those expectations.

I would encourage you to reach out to me directly so we can further discuss these issues via mmackenzie@kelticlodge.ca. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again next season.

Until next time,
Matthew Mackenzie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingonish
2.4 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
36.9 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
43 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
2.3 mi away
Ingonish Chalets
Ingonish Chalets
#3 of 7 in Ingonish
95 reviews
42.8 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa

Address: 383 Middle Head Peninsula, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C 1L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ingonish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Price Range: $212 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic Cape Breton resort, Keltic Lodge Resort and Spa, is located in the heart of Cape Breton Highlands National Park overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Just 2 hours from Sydney, NS and a scenic 5 hour drive from Nova Scotia's capital city Halifax, the 100 room resort has been welcoming guests to Cape Breton, Nova Scotia since July 1940. Keltic offers versatility for Cape Breton accommodations with rooms in the Main Lodge, spacious rooms in the Inn at Keltic and cozy two and four bedroom cottages with fireplaces and verandas. The Cape Breton resort is the perfect spot for a Nova Scotia family vacation with recreation facilities on-site or nearby that include a heated outdoor pool, Atlantic Ocean Ingonish Beach, hiking, wilderness trails, lawn games, whale watching, Eminence Spa and boat cruises. Adjacent to the resort is the Cape Breton golf icon, the 18 hole championship Highlands Links Golf Course. The Cape Breton golf course, rich in the Scottish tradition, has been restored to Stanley Thompson's magnificent original design. The Purple Thistle Dining Room and Atlantic Restaurant and Bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean offer a comfortable dining experience and traditional Maritime menu. The Highland Sitting Room features a pub menu for lunch and dinner and nightly live Celtic entertainment. Nova Scotia conferences are welcome at Keltic Lodge with 13,000 sq ft of meeting space spread throughout the resort utilizing the restaurants and bars for private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keltic Lodge Resort And Spa
Keltic Hotel Ingonish
Keltic Resort Ingonish
Keltic Lodge Nova Scotia
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa Ingonish, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing