We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience not to be missed on Cape Breton Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Oakton, VA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An experience not to be missed on Cape Breton Island”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

A colleague of mine stayed here as a teenager with her family and recommended it, but it was booked up on line during our planned stay, however we stopped by in person while in Ingonish Beach and got a room for our last night on Cape Breton Island. The place lived up to its recommendation in all respects: room, food, staff, views and activities. Having a great breakfast buffet with ocean views added to the value, as the rooms are hardly inexpensive!

One item to be aware of is that the rooms in main lodge, which was built in the mid-1930's and don't have AC. This wouldn't matter except we stayed during a stretch of temps in the high 20's to low 30s C, and light winds. The staff was great about supplying an extension cord for the window fan and bring up an additional fan for the room.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about staying cool, and are traveling in July or August, be aware that the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We’re happy your friend recommended Keltic Lodge Resort and Spa from her experience years ago. We’re as happy as you are that you were able to experience the Keltic Lodge during your adventure around the stunning Cape Breton Island. It sounds like you had a fantastic and memorable stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your Keltic Lodge experience with our team.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed our accommodations, location, delicious cuisine, on-site activities and friendly staff. We will be sure to share your kind words with the Keltic Lodge team.

We look forward to your next visit in Cape Breton.

Until next time,

Matthew Mackenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    294
    171
    105
    41
See reviews for
211
505
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location and beautiful property. Very clean.
We enjoyed our visit to this property. The music on 7/10 in the lounge was truly excellent.
We stayed in the main lodge and while the rooms are funky and old (what would you expect), they are well appointed and comfortable.
Food in the restaurant was just OK - you'd expect better for the cost. Servers were excellent and a shout out to the dining room host - she is excellent and very friendly.

The Spa:
Well, not quite dreadful, but pretty close. The men's locker room is awful, here are the lowlights:
- water cooler was empty
- had to ask for towels
- no product other than hand soap
- no conditioner in the shower
You know, pretty basic stuff...
We had mixed experiences with the massages, one good (Thanks Jenna) and one bad. I wouldn't waste money on spa'ing here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damien2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to share you feedback with us. We’re happy you enjoyed our local Cape Breton entertainment as well as our Main Lodge accommodations.

We’re really disappointed to hear that our spa didn’t meet your expectations. We can assure you this isn’t a typical spa experience. We’ve shared your comments with our Spa Manager to ensure that this doesn’t happen again.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Keltic Lodge again soon.

Until then,
Matthew Mackenzie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This lodge a real gem. When you arrive you immediately have a sense that you are going on a journey back in time. No cookie cutter hotel with make believe atmosphere.

Outdoor activities rule the day and are just steps away. Go hiking, swim in the pool, swim at the beach, hike a trail, ride a bike, take a kayak........it just goes on. If you wish just have a seat at one of the many brightly colored lounge chairs and enjoy the spectacular scenery and read a book.

We arrived during a heat wave, so the lack of air conditioning was a concern, but it just added to the experience. If you really need air conditioning stay in the lodge or one of the many cabins.

The food was excellent at all of the restuarants.

You will never forget the Keltic Lodge

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdterp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We’re thrilled to hear that you had such a memorable stay at the Keltic Lodge. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We have numerous of activities surrounding our Nova Scotia resort and we’re happy you were able to enjoy these.

We’re happy you had to opportunity to experience our one of a kind property. We hope you get to “step back in time” at the Keltic Lodge again soon.

Until next time,
Matthew Mackenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had been driving across Canada with two little boys, and Ingonish was our second to last stop. We pulled in a little on the late side, and were delighted to be informed that we were chosen as the guests of the day and received a free room upgrade. We were directed to the executive suite: an expansive 1500 sq ft two bedroom, 2.5 bathroom palace of luxury. There was even a wooden spiral staircase leading up to an observation room with a telescope. This was indeed a generous upgrade!

The grounds are remarkable. There are adirondack chairs everywhere was gazing at the surrounding ocean. The heated outdoor pool was perfect for playing with the kids, but long and deep enough to do laps.

We had the supper buffet at the Atlantic Restaurant. The poached salmon was the best I have ever had. The ribs literally fell off the bones. The dessert table had a vast assortment of cheeses and delicious fresh made lemon meringue pie!

To top the evening off, we enjoyed like music in the ballroom/lounge. The musician was very personable and talented, and sang a variety of Cape Breton songs and other popular scores.

This hotel was such a treat! It is so worth it to stay here and enjoy the Cape Breton hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We can’t thank you enough for taking the time to share this fantastic review with us! We’re committed to providing one-of-a-kind experiences for our guests. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed our delicious cuisine at the Atlantic Restaurant as well as our complimentary nightly entertainment.

We will be sure to share all of these kind words with our team. We look forward to your return.

Until next time,
Matthew Mackenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We used a spring promotion and got a room for $149. Even though we arrived at 1:00 pm and check- in was at 3, the desk clerk found an available room. The room was lovely with a very comfortable king bed, large walk in closet for lots of storage ( ironing board & iron) and full bath. Windows overlooked the swimming pool which was a treat but quite frankly, the scenery is so...o...o... spectacular that who would sit inside and stare out the window anyway!
Although the room didn't have an AC unit, the fan in the window worked well to cool the room down, given the outside temp of 30.
The staff was very accommodating and seemed interested in what they were doing.
Concerning meals: the room directory needs some work, it wasn't as helpful as it could be as it doesn't list menus or prices. The Purple Thistle room was out of our league but we did try the $25 supper buffet at the Atlantica. The staff here were wonderful, very attentive and polite and the food was good.
Nightly entertainer Buddy MacDonald was a real pro, excellent with the crowd and made folks feel at home.
Spa staff were excellent but the prices are quite a bit higher than at other comparable places.
The lady at the Golf Course Pro Shop needs to put a lot more effort into the job...she made no attempt to make us feel welcomed, didn't even tell us about the course, provide any tips or engage in conversation...the attitude appeared to be "Don't bother me."
Later, we went in for a drink and the girl tending bar was delightful, friendly and attentive....a stark contrast to our first impression of the course.
As Nova Scotians, we are glad that this wonderful facility is in our backyard and would return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2NovaScotians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing this review with us! We take pride in our service and we’re happy to hear that our associates were able to accommodate your early arrival. We strive to create memorable, unforgettable experience like the once you’ve received.

We’re thrilled you were able to try our world-famous Highlands Links Golf Course and we apologize about your Pro Shop experience. We can assure you that you’ve shared these comments with our team to ensure this situation won’t happen again in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Cape Breton resort in the future.
Until next time,

Matthew Mackenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Location couldn't be more stunning but a bit overpriced - although I don't think think there is really any other comparable properties up that way in Cape Breton, I still think it's overpriced. The building is old which is fine (I stayed in the main lodge; the Inn is the newer building and other reviews say those rooms are bigger and w/ air con ... but you do have to walk up the hill to the main lodge which has main dining room); my room thankfully was on the cool side (when I arrived it was 31-33C). The 'bedroom furniture' had all been upgraded and floor replaced so it was a nice hard wood; but the ceiling and window fans were cheap cheap cheap, as was the bathroom fixtures - it doesn't cost much to get nice shower curtain rings, nice fixtures, good towels, tissue holder, light fixtures, etc. You can do a lot to give a facelift without having to completely tear out the bathroom. The bed (kingsize) was great, slept like a log (when the weather finally cooled). Staff was great. I only ate dinner in Purple Thistle once, and it was outstanding; I wasn't put off by any dress code - I wouldn't go in torn jeans but I had on quite casual clothes. Breakfast was incl. in my price and it was more than plenty. I did not eat any other meals there because I was out and about all day. I did use the Aveda spa once; treatments were absolutely wonderful; the spa doesn't get a 5* from me because there were very few amenities in the women's area - most day spas provide at least lotion - there was shampoo/conditioner/soap (all Aveda products) but no lotion or other amenities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, Guest Relations Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Keltic Lodge and for sharing these comments with our team. We’re happy that you enjoyed our memorable location, comfortable beds, AVEDA spa and Purple Thistle Dining Room. We can assure you that we’ve shared your comments with our staff members.

Thank you for the feedback concerning upgrades on property. We recently completed renovations to key guest areas including our cottages, Main Lodge, restaurants and the Highland Sitting Room. If you have any additional comments, please reach out to me directly.

See you again soon.
Until then,
Matthew Mackenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were very excited to spend a couple of days at the world renowned Keltic Lodge in Ingonish for our honeymoon.When we arrived, we were treated like royalty. However the room was not what we expected for $300 a night.It was dark, gloomy, very small and quite frankly (although very clean) out dated.The scenery was incredible, heaven on earth even, but the room unfortunately brought us down. We cancelled our 2nd night and when they asked why , we told them.They offered us a free upgrade, (although bigger, still out dated) we declined.We felt bad,and so did they, they gave us free dessert after our amazing meal congratulating us on our marriage, and chocolate covered strawberries later that evening.I have to say , their friendly hospitality made us forget all about that small dark room.We probably will go back just for that service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHR, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We’re thrilled that decided to stay with our Cape Breton resort during your anniversary. We are sorry to hear that our rooms didn’t meet your expectations and we hope we have to opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Please feel free to take a look at the affordable packages we have on our website. We might have something that will work for you!

See you soon,
Matthew Mackenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingonish
2.4 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
42.9 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
588 reviews
54.7 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
42.8 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
612 reviews
1.7 mi away
Skyline Cabins
Skyline Cabins
#4 of 7 in Ingonish
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa

Property: Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Address: 383 Middle Head Peninsula, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C 1L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ingonish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic Cape Breton resort, Keltic Lodge Resort and Spa, is located in the heart of Cape Breton Highlands National Park overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Just 2 hours from Sydney, NS and a scenic 5 hour drive from Nova Scotia's capital city Halifax, the 100 room resort has been welcoming guests to Cape Breton, Nova Scotia since July 1940. Keltic offers versatility for Cape Breton accommodations with rooms in the Main Lodge, spacious rooms in the Inn at Keltic and cozy two and four bedroom cottages with fireplaces and verandas. The Cape Breton resort is the perfect spot for a Nova Scotia family vacation with recreation facilities on-site or nearby that include a heated outdoor pool, Atlantic Ocean Ingonish Beach, hiking, wilderness trails, lawn games, whale watching, Eminence Spa and boat cruises. Adjacent to the resort is the Cape Breton golf icon, the 18 hole championship Highlands Links Golf Course. The Cape Breton golf course, rich in the Scottish tradition, has been restored to Stanley Thompson's magnificent original design. The Purple Thistle Dining Room and Atlantic Restaurant and Bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean offer a comfortable dining experience and traditional Maritime menu. The Highland Sitting Room features a pub menu for lunch and dinner and nightly live Celtic entertainment. Nova Scotia conferences are welcome at Keltic Lodge with 13,000 sq ft of meeting space spread throughout the resort utilizing the restaurants and bars for private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keltic Lodge Resort And Spa
Keltic Hotel Ingonish
Keltic Resort Ingonish
Keltic Lodge Nova Scotia
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa Ingonish, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing