We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointingly expensive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disappointingly expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Beautiful location but very average accommodations. Excellent Aveda spa on the grounds where one can have manicures/pedicures, massages etc. One can also spend time in the whirlpool and sauna at a daily rate. Probably a good location if one is into golf and kayaking, but I was into neither. The lodge has an outdoor swimming pool and one can walk or drive to the Ingonish Beach which is spectacular. I did not eat dinner in the restaurant because they said reservations were required. However, one can get light meals in the Sitting Room and there is entertainment every night from 7 to 11. I found some of the staff outstanding and others inhospitable, so the service was uneven at best.

Room Tip: I don't know what the rooms in the lodge itself are like. The rooms in the separate units are pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamdowngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review for us. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful location, AVEDA concept spa and nightly entertainment. We’re sorry to hear that our service wasn’t what you expected and I encourage you to contact me directly to talk about this situation. I would love to help ensure this occurrence doesn’t happen again.

Until then,
Matthew Mackenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    289
    170
    105
    40
See reviews for
208
499
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
delta,BC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

have stayed here before and always enjoyed it immensely. This time, we were disappointed as it looks like a very old property that needs constant updating and is not getting it. we shared a cabin with another couple and it was ok but certainly not worth the very high price.It was not good value. the breakfast buffet was fine but again not the quality that we expected. we had a most horrible experience in one of the restaurants and for that reason alone, will not be going back to this place. Did play Highland Links golf course and really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westcoastcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. On behalf of the Keltic Lodge team, we want to apologize for the less than expected experience. Please contact us directly so we can discuss these concerns in further detail. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed yourself at the Highlands Links Golf Course, it’s such a magnificent course.

I look forward to talking to you soon about your stay.

Until then,
Matthew Mackenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
155 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

This was by far the most expensive and supposedly luxurious place we stayed on our Nova Scotia/Cape Breton adventure, and we'd looked forward to something of a contrast to our usual preference of B&B's. Unfortunately, it wasn't the contrast we'd anticipated. Instead, we felt let down the minute we encountered our room (in the newer building overlooking the sea, not the probably more-authentic lodge itself). It had little more charm than the average chain motel room, with its beige decor, stark furniture, and worst of all, tiny windows that truly did no justice to the potentially magnificent view. Then, as we tried to watch the Democratic National Convention, our television flickered on and off uncontrollably for hours, actually putting us in mind of potential political sabotage! We should have stayed longer in the comfortable bar where a delightful Cape Breton folksinger entertained us, part of an enthusiastic and friendly after-dinner crowd. The next morning, the included breakfast was professionally served in the large dining room, and included lots of tasty choices in the buffet -- and afforded a much better view through equally large windows!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We apologize that the Inn at Keltic guestroom did not meet your expectations and that you had experienced issues with your cable reception. Please contact me directly so we can further rectify this issue.

We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience and local entertainment. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Until then,
Matthew Mackenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here one night as part of our week long visit to the Cabot Trail. The lodge is a tradition and an essential spot to see and, if possible, stay in. The night we reserved only had a room in one of the cabins, and our experience might have been better if we had had a room in the main lodge. The room was one of four in a cabin, and had been recently renovated. However, there was a noise factor from the other rooms, and the room was quite small with a double and a single bed taking up most of the space. Otherwise, the experience was great. The gounds are lovely, the views spectacular, the pool very nice and the main dining room had great service and great food. Not an inexpensive stay, but worth the experience for a least a night or two.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Value-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful Cabot Trail. On your next stay, be sure to speak with our Reservations Team to ensure you reserve the best suited room type for your needs.

We’re happy you loved the stunning views, your dining experience and our guest activities. We look forward to welcoming back to the Keltic Lodge soon.

Until next time,
Matthew Mackenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new city ny
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

During our recent trip through Nova Scotia, we primarily stayed in inexpensive B&Bs. Very nice, but not luxurious. I decided I wanted one splurge, and chose the Keltic Lodge. Did I ever choose right! First of all you can't beat the setting, high up on the bluff, you can see it, and from it, for miles, and it is gorgeous. Everything about the hotel is beautiful: the grounds are immaculate, our room (with a view) lovely, the staff top notch. We ate dinner in the Purple Thistle room and it was delicious. I want to make special mention of our waitress at breakfast the next morning: Susan, very efficient and great fun.
You can't go wrong staying at this place. It's got the best view on the entire Cabot Trail.

Room Tip: we booked this through hotels.com and still got a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charp52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share this review with us. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed our spectacular location, comfortable rooms, and dining experience. Susan is a great asset to the Keltic Lodge team and we’re happy to hear that you enjoyed her service. Thanks again for sharing this positive experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Until next time,
Matthew Mackenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahopac, ny
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

knew we made the right choice when we inquired at the front desk about availability. Katie was highly professional and charming-setting the perfect tone for our stay. Room was fine if a tad bare bones. location was magnificent. Breakfast buffet (included) was excellent

Room Tip: bring slippers-bare wood floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnsMahopac_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for writing this review for us. We’re happy to hear that you had an enjoyable vacation at our Cape Breton resort. Katie is a great asset to our Keltic Lodge team and we’re happy she shined during your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Until next time,
Matthew Mackenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niagara falls
Level Contributor
241 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Great location and historic buildings. Quite pricey. CAA basic rate of $279 seemed to be the best deal. The hotel "packages" do not offer that much more value. Buffet breakfast in the Purple Thistle was included. We stayed in the newly renovated "Inn at the Keltic" which was quite nice. It is a 5 minute walk down the hill from the main building. The pack patio and lawn at the Inn is absolutely beautiful and offers views of the ocean and Ingonish Beach. The golf course is a 3 minute walk away. Ingonish beach is a 5 minute drive away. The trailhead for a hiking trail at the tip of Middle Head is a 3 minute drive away. This trail is part of Cape Breton National park and is a beautiful forested/cliffside trail which takes about 1.5 hours round trip. After a day on the Cabot Trail, we returned around 5 pm wanting to play a round of golf but did not have time for a full round. Instead, for $21, we played the first 6 oceanside holes (the most scenic) which was great. (Unfortunately, the uphill walk back to the clubhouse and hotel property was not). It's a pity that the hotel restaurants were not that good. I expected much much better. The breakfast at the Purple Thistle was decent but our dinner was not. (see my separate restaurant review on the Purple Thistle). You are better off skipping the fine dining and going to the Coastal Pub to have a burger. Nevertheless, we enjoyed our 2 days/nights at the Keltic Lodge. The beautiful natural surroundings makes up for any shortcomings.

Room Tip: Rooms at the Inn at the Keltic were renovated in 2012. The back lawn/patio offers breathtaking view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babynat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshleyNCH, General Manager at Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We always love to hear how our guests enjoyed their stay. We are blessed with breathtaking views surrounding our Cape Breton resort and we’re glad to hear that you enjoyed the scenery.

The Highlands Links Golf Course is any golfers dream. We are happy to hear that you got to experience part of our course! We're sorry to hear we didn't meet you dining expectations ans we want to apologize for that. Please feel free to contact me directly to help rectify this situation.

Until next time,
Matthew Mackenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingonish
2.4 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
43.0 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
54.7 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
1.7 mi away
Skyline Cabins
Skyline Cabins
#4 of 7 in Ingonish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
42.7 mi away
Inverary Resort
Inverary Resort
#5 of 7 in Baddeck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa

Property: Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Address: 383 Middle Head Peninsula, Ingonish, Nova Scotia B0C 1L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Ingonish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ingonish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic Cape Breton resort, Keltic Lodge Resort and Spa, is located in the heart of Cape Breton Highlands National Park overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Just 2 hours from Sydney, NS and a scenic 5 hour drive from Nova Scotia's capital city Halifax, the 100 room resort has been welcoming guests to Cape Breton, Nova Scotia since July 1940. Keltic offers versatility for Cape Breton accommodations with rooms in the Main Lodge, spacious rooms in the Inn at Keltic and cozy two and four bedroom cottages with fireplaces and verandas. The Cape Breton resort is the perfect spot for a Nova Scotia family vacation with recreation facilities on-site or nearby that include a heated outdoor pool, Atlantic Ocean Ingonish Beach, hiking, wilderness trails, lawn games, whale watching, Eminence Spa and boat cruises. Adjacent to the resort is the Cape Breton golf icon, the 18 hole championship Highlands Links Golf Course. The Cape Breton golf course, rich in the Scottish tradition, has been restored to Stanley Thompson's magnificent original design. The Purple Thistle Dining Room and Atlantic Restaurant and Bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean offer a comfortable dining experience and traditional Maritime menu. The Highland Sitting Room features a pub menu for lunch and dinner and nightly live Celtic entertainment. Nova Scotia conferences are welcome at Keltic Lodge with 13,000 sq ft of meeting space spread throughout the resort utilizing the restaurants and bars for private functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keltic Lodge Resort And Spa
Keltic Hotel Ingonish
Keltic Resort Ingonish
Keltic Lodge Nova Scotia
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa Ingonish, Nova Scotia - Cape Breton Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing