We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, service a bit slow”

Main Street Restaurant and Bakery
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Ingonish
Price range: $7 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a large restaurant and Bakery with a large menu. We provide take-out as well as full service dining, serving everything from burgers and fries to halibut, lobster, crab, etc. almost everything is made from scratch and we take much pride in our food and service. We also have a large deck. The restaurant is new, modern and clean.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, service a bit slow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were the on a holiday weekend when it was very busy. Our hostess warned us that service would be slow. The food was wonderful. I had soup and a seafood appetizer. My husband had a seafood pasta dish that had much more seafood than pasta, which was delicious. Our kids both had pasta. Our waitress seemed overwhelmed. She got the order wrong but was able to correct it quickly. But we had to ask for water twice and then get up to ask someone else to get it. But we would go back. I think it was just too busy, and the food was still delicious.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    117
    40
    24
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of a few places to eat around there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

You can drive for miles and miles in Nova Scotia and not find a place to pee, let alone eat. This is a welcome little spot with good seafood options and fun cocktails (of all things!). I had a grilled veggie salad (lunch) that was exactly what I needed after days of vacation eating -- too many carbs and calories, not enough veggies. It was good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HealthyFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tasty. Quick. Great Location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

I ordered the white egg omelete which was salty but delishious.
So the food was great but the service could improve a smidge. I asked the waitress how she was and she said "tired" thatwas it. I mean it wasnt mean just not open friendly. She was very efficient being by herself. I would come back again. Its a great location.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“You can't call something "fresh" that comes from a can!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

This seems to be a favorite breakfast spot. However, not so for us. We arrived at 08.30 and the place was as good as empty. Still, the waitress was so sleepy, tremendously slow and forgetful that I had to go the bar several times, e.g. to get a coffee refill.
However, what made we really angry is this: I ordered their "fresh raspberry and blueberry smoothie". The waitress said she's sorry but they have run out of the syrup for the smoothie machine! Upon asking incredulously she confirmed: The "fresh" smoothie is actually nothing but! Its made from some kind of berry flavored sugar stuff that comes from a can! That is simply a lie on the menu! Makes you think: Are the home made pancakes really home-made or are they from a pancake mix with lots of chemical additives? At least they were honest about the syrup: it says "maple flavored syrup" on the menu. So let me get this straight: We are in Canada, the main producer and exporter of maple syrup and they serve pure liquid sugar with a chemical added that makes it taste like maple? We tried to find an at least somewhat healthy breakfast alternative, so we chose the egg-white omelette with spinach and feta. Well, if only it had been feta it would have been delicious. However, this cheese clearly wasn't made from sheep's milk! Was it made from milk at all?
Sooooo, if you want a regular, high-carb, fatty bacon and eggs on toast breakfast with lots of fake nutrients and real chemicals, one that helps your plan of becoming sick and obese really quickly, go and have breakfast here...

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Spuetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
96 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Don't let the crowded parking stop you from eating here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised with both the service and the food. The server was helpful and stopped by numerous times to check on us. The restaurant was quite busy. We both had the ham and bean soup--it was loaded with ham and veggies. Our main course was the Salmon--it was prepared simply but well. The rice was OK. Would go back when in the area

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Main Street Restaurant and Bakery also viewed

Ingonish, Cape Breton Island
Ingonish, Cape Breton Island
 
Ingonish, Cape Breton Island
Ingonish, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Main Street Restaurant and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing