We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Despite slow service... good food!”

Main Street Restaurant and Bakery
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Ingonish
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We are a large restaurant and Bakery with a large menu. We provide take-out as well as full service dining, serving everything from burgers and fries to halibut, lobster, crab, etc. almost everything is made from scratch and we take much pride in our food and service. We also have a large deck. The restaurant is new, modern and clean.
Waterloo, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Despite slow service... good food!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I too will say "ditto" to the most recent reviewers' comments about how the slow service. We too spent several minutes to actually have acknowledgement that they saw us while we waited for a table, despite being passed by many restaurant staff. We were ready too leave and would have if we weren't so hungry. We actually had to ask for service, I don't remember this ever happening in a restaurant before. Once seated our server was attentive and the drinks and food came fairly quickly. The server however did not know the menu and was confused about our order at first, having to clarify it with another staff member. The Bloody Ceasar cocktail was fantastic and the lunch menu specials, tasty, with appealing presentation. The pie for dessert was not as good as some we had at another restaurant on the Island, but did please our palates. Hopefully the owner of this establishment will read these reviews and get some better staff training, because if the service matched the food at this restaurant the patrons would be more than pleased.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    123
    41
    25
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisvegas
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best meal so far!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We dined tonight @ the bakery & it was the best meal we've had so fat in Cape Breton. Having said that all others have been terrible! We shared a seafood pasta dish for two. The seafood was over cooked but the flavours were lovely. The pie for the dessert was great too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachshackBrisvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Shockingly poor service (pretty good food)”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

At the time of our visit, this was a highly rated spot so I thought we'd give it a try. I'd say "ditto" to the most recent reviewers' comments about how the service went. Took a long time to actually get acknowledgement that they saw us while we waited for a table. Took forever to get service once seated. I was starting to take it personally but then looked around and saw every other table was also pretty neglected. The food is decent but this place is really a service disaster. It's like the place is missing a boss to tell people what to do. Don't get me wrong - the waitresses were all super nice and friendly which makes it even harder to say this. In fact, one of them was also our trail guide on the Middlehead Trail the following morning and she was super nice. But ... really, I haven;t ever seen anything as bad as this. After finishing our main course and telling our waitress we'd have dessert, she actually went away and started helping clear away dishes in the kitchen and doing non-waitress duties. They were all extremely unfocused and chaotic. If there were an option to say "0" for service here, I would.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sfryyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food - slow service”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Food is excellent - great fisherman's seafood platter; awesome desserts & fresh baked goods but service can be a bit slow. Great bakery for taking home fresh pies, breads, etc.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lolacamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Service Needs Updating”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Because of Trip Advisor, gone are the days when snobbish and condescending service gets a pass, and thank goodness for that. We stopped by this "bakery" for a piece of pie and coffee after hiking the rugged 8-mile Smokey Trail to the end of Cape Smokey, for a celebratory snack around 3:30 p.m. You would have thought we were carrying the plague when we requested pie and coffee rather than a complete meal.. Although we were the only incoming customers, it took several minutes among the four employees at the counter to determine which waitress would seat us. Finally they assigned a newbie, a smiling and helpful young lady who answered all our questions in the most helpful way. The owners should have all their employees follow her example before they lose more business.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank SallyEline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Main Street Restaurant and Bakery also viewed

Ingonish, Cape Breton Island
Ingonish, Cape Breton Island
 
Ingonish, Cape Breton Island
Ingonish, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Main Street Restaurant and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing