We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food & service”
Review of Hometown Kitchen - CLOSED

Hometown Kitchen
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Had the pleasure of having dinner & breakfast the next morning at this restaurant. Everything is homecooked and the butterscotch pie is awesome. Excellent service and friendly staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele P, Owner at Hometown Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Very happy you enjoyed our hospitality. Hope to see you again soon!
Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 72 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed in Cheticamp for almost a week, and ended up eating 7 straight meals at Hometown Kitchen.

The staff is very friendly and helpful.

The food was excellent. We have eaten on roadtrips in 9 provinces and 49 states the last four years. Without question, our favorite overall restaurant was Hometown Kitchen.

The butterscotch pie and turtle cheesecake are so good, you will need to save room after the meal.

The salads were fresh and the meals very filling. You will get more than you pay for.

Our favorites were pan-fried haddock, crab and lobster, the lobster dip appetizer. The menu includes a nice pizza and hamburger too, in case you are not a seafood person.

We were particularly impressed with the view as well from the screened porch dining room. What a wonderful way to see a sunset while you dine.

For breakfast, you will also enjoy a variety of fresh and bountiful portions no matter what you select. The eggs, sauces, etc. were well prepared dishes. So unexpected to find such a wide range of excellent food in a small town restaurant.

If you stop to eat at one place in the town, this is it. It is on the right side of the Cabot Trail as you enter the town coming from Pleasant Bay.

There are plenty of good places to dine in Cheticamp. The town is friendly and has a beautiful location to spend a few days. I would like to suggest seeing inside the church (amazing beauty) and the Acadian museum (not far from the Hometown Kitchen). The hooked rugs take artwork to a new level.

Having said all this, we really felt like family at Hometown Kitchen.

We ate there 7 straight meals once we discovered this restaurant. 'nuff said :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank butterscotchpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele P, Owner at Hometown Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Thanks for the great review! We enjoyed having your family as our guests. :) :) Hope to see you again.
Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The clam chowder is second to none! The pizza we had was incredible as well for a great value. The new owner is very friendly and full of great information to travellers. Overall we loved this place and would return in a heart beat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrewwi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele P, Owner at Hometown Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thanks!! so happy you enjoyed the Seafood Chowder and the Pizza. :) Hope you guys had a wonderful time "traveling" the Cabot Trail as well. See you again soon hopefully!
Michele
owner/operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Six of us stopped for dinner near closing time and off season. Owner-operator and her trainee made us feel welcome despite the hour. Even better was the experience when our meals arrived. Great food: best pizza in years; delicious soup and a perfect authentic Caesar salad ...not in this area too often, but definitely a reason for returning!

Thank ferdfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele P, Owner at Hometown Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Thanks so much! Hope to see you again soon. :)
Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I did an East Coast trip to visit my daughter July 2013. There were 4 of us traveling together. We were told if we wanted a great lobster dinner to have it while visiting the Cabot Trail. It was the Hometown Kitchen we all decided on and 3 of us had the Lobster dinner, and all 3 of us were extremely disappointed in the dinner. The service was slow, the lobster was chewy and over cooked, the veggies were not fresh but from frozen packages (we all quickly realized that) It was a terrible dinner. EXTREMELY disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank frazel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele P, Owner at Hometown Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

thanks for your candid review of Hometown Kitchen. I apologize that your experience was less than what you expected. I can assure you that the Lobster is cooked while still alive. I will review the time frame that the cooks are using to prepare the lobster and rectify the situation for the 2014 season. We cannot fix what we don't know therefore I appreciate the comments. All the best for 2014 and hope you give us another try next time around!
cheers
Michele
Owner/operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hometown Kitchen also viewed

Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
 
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing