We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”
Review of Hometown Kitchen - CLOSED

Hometown Kitchen
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
vancouver
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I stopped at the Hometown Kitchen during our trip to the Cabot trail in October.The restaurant was hosting a lunchtime performance by musicians affiliated with the Celtic Colours festival when we arrived. Although the place was initially very crowded, our servers were extremely friendly and happily accommodated our request to be reseated into an area with a better visual vantage point once the opportunity arose. Since we were not too hungry, we ordered soup, which arrived hot and steamy, and turned out to be the very best clam chowder we had during our entire Maritime trip. Well done Hometown Kitchen! Great soup, lovely people, with service at it's best!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank atigrevlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele P, Owner at Hometown Kitchen, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thanks so much for reviewing our Restaurant! That was the first time we had entertainment this season! Very happy you enjoyed our Seafood Chowder. It is one of the most popular items on the menu. Please come visit us again! :)

Michele
owner/operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    33
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Small restaurant, good service, great food.”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Enjoyed eating here on a few occasions. It's a small restaurant though I think they have another room to open if it's busy. The battered haddock is very good, not greasy, light crust, white fish. Reasonable prices. Good service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wpbdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele P, Owner at Hometown Kitchen, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
thanks so much for taking the time to write a review of our Restaurant. :) The other room is open in the summer months for sunset/ocean dining. Come visit us again!
Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice service and good food”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Five us had a late lunch at the Hometown Kitchen after cycling from Baddeck. The server was very pleasant and the food was very good. All of the ingredients were fresh and nicely cooked. The restaurant is clean and has a nice view of the water. Everyone was pleased with their meal. You won't find a lot of choice in Cheticamp and this may be the best for decent food - not the greasy or bland fare offered by so many places on the Cabot Trail and advertised as "mom's ' grandma's" cooking which tastes like it has sat on the warming plate since they were last there!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele P, Owner at Hometown Kitchen, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thanks so much for the nice review and hope to see you again soon! :)
Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, CA
Level Contributor
134 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Outdoor Dining With A View”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Nothing special from the outside and nothing special on the inside. But my tour group thoroughly enjoyed dinner one night and breakfast the next morning.

One of my group is celiac and they had no problem fixing tasty meals that accommodated that need. Each of us had a different meal, while mine was the haddock. I love coming to the maritime provinces for haddock, lobster and scallops, and they did a great job on my meal.

Breakfast was basic, no benedict or the like. But everything was cooked the way I wanted it and the service both times was friendly and efficient.

If the weather is good, definitely get one of the five tables on the deck. A wonderful view of the ocean to dine by...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slobird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele P, Owner at Hometown Kitchen, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Good day and thanks for your review! I am considering adding Eggs Benedict to the menu for next season as well as Bagel and Lox and some other different things. I will be working on the décor this winter as well in the Oceanside room. Could you maybe give me more input as to how to improve the outside patio? hometownkitchen@live.com Very happy you enjoyed your meals.
Thanks again,
Michele
owner/operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgie
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breakfast was disappoining”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were 4 to have breakfast. I asked for a scrambled egg, cereals and coffee. The egg never came up and the cereals were served when the others had already finished their eggs and bacon. The portion of cereals came out-of-the-box for children and was too small for an adult. Yoghurt was not even available to make it a healhty breakfast.
Some people that came in after us, where served before us and some left even without being served ...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hans R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele P, Owner at Hometown Kitchen, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Good Day,
I regret that you didn't enjoy your experience at the Hometown. I will survey the servers to see if there is a demand for Yogurt. It is difficult to stock everything for everyone and we do the best we can. I appreciate the feedback and need to be aware of our shortfalls to therefore improve the customer experience.
Hope you will give us another chance!
cheers
Michele
owner/operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hometown Kitchen also viewed

Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
 
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
 
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing