We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deep-fried everything, canned vegetables”

Restaurant Evangeline
Ranked #8 of 20 Restaurants in Cheticamp
Restaurant details
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Deep-fried everything, canned vegetables”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Didn't finish half of my meal because it was inedible. Peas were canned and slimy. Apple pie was frozen and put in the microwave. Clams and scallops were frozen, re-heated, and then deep-fried. Paid $50 for two persons.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyy103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    51
    20
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Worst food ever, OMG”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was one of the worst, very worst, restaurant choices I have ever made. Sorry but the food was truly appalling. I can't even bring myself to fully remember just how bad it was. Coupled with the indifferent service and incredibly utilitarian cafeteria style decor, we just couldn't wait to leave. The only good thing about it is that we didn't get sick. Truly ugh!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachSwaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good meal on a crappy day”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Accommodating staff and entertaining clientele! I had the omelette (good) while my wife had the pancakes (no taste). Cafeteria-like decor was a bit depressing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IstvanOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent, returned everyday for breakfast whilst in Cheticamp”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

What a lovely little restaurant, food was very nice, prices very reasonable but what made us return 3 mornings running for breakfast was the service. We had the same waitress who was excellent, she made us feel very welcome and we were touched that each morning she remembered our previous orders, how we had our tea, our eggs and what bread we had. For us British who love a nice strong cup of tea this is the place to go . Would also recommend the Omelette.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaKW79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson, Arizona, United States
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A local favorite”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

When most locals think of where to eat, Evangeline's is usually the place to go. The food is very good, the prices are competitive and the service is friendly. That plus usually someone you know is eating there. The do have a killer poutine with the works and very good fish & chips. We ate there often. You should check them out when you're passing through.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Evangeline also viewed

Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
 
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Restaurant Evangeline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing