We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food with a great view of the water”
Review of Harbour Restaurant

Harbour Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Cheticamp
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: Located along Cheticamp Harbour, We have the best spot to capture an amazing sunset and watch the fishing boats drive by. We serve fresh seafood, steaks, pastas, ribs and much more. We do have a casual bar, and a kids menu available. We also offer FREE shuttle service within the Cheticamp Region only. Please call or drop in to inquire on this service.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great location and good food. We sat inside with big open windows looking out to the water. It was a great location with fair priced food. I had fish and chips which were really fresh and my girlfriend had the lobster dinner. She was very happy with her meal as it came with lots of sides as well and dessert.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brandon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 332 of 426 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

I stopped here for a late dinner - around 8:00 P.M. The service was very slow. The restaurant was fairly full, but it still didn't explain why it took so long for my server to come by and for the food to be sent out. I had the lobster club with fries. It was good, but could have had a little more lobster. Short tap beer list. I also had a glass of a house white, which was quite good. As was dessert - the apple cake. It was expensive - more than I had originally planned to spend. Overall the good was fine to good and the location was very convenient.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

A local recommended us this restaurant, so we had high expectations. Probably a bit too high, also by lack of comparison. Reception was friendly, but we did not feel really welcomed or wanted. We got a table in the main room, which is rather dark, and quite loud. The view is nothing special.
We had two different soups, and these were excellent. The french onion soup was very tasty and rich, and the soup of the day was also very good. The lobster was very juicy and tasty, though so small compared to what is being exported from Nova Scotia and served elsewhere... But the taste really was very very good. In contrast with that, the salmon was dry and tasteless. Being asked about the meal when we paid, I shared this feedback, and go no reaction, let alone apology, whatsoever, again adding to our feeling that the staff really does not care that much. Too bad...
By the way, the Nova Scotia muscat wine was a really nice discovery.
My conclusion: OK for a decent meal; nothing really special, and ambiance quite lacking.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sablod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager3800, Manager at Harbour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Im sorry you got the "not wanted feeling" from our staff. We do have a great staff, who usually go out of their way to please customers. I am glad however, that you enjoyed your meal as for the dry salmon, i wish you would have told us about it, cause we gladly would have re-done it for you... Hope you had a great vacation :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We were four friends dining together and both couples ordered the same meals. The starter of bacon wrapped scallops was nicely cooked. However, the crab and lobster main was very poor quality. The crab was tasteless and the lobster had a flavour of gasoline, as though it had soaked in some in the bottom of the fishing boat. The apple cake dessert didn't have any taste of apple, but of dry hard stodge accompanied by artificial cream. The icecream desserts also tasted artificial. I would not recommend this restaurant if you are looking for a good meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager3800, Manager at Harbour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

I can assure you that the lobster and crab did not soak in gasoline onboard the boat - the OWNER of the Harbour restaurant also has a fishing license, and he supplies the lobster, therefore, we know for a fact that he keeps the lobster in salt water the whole trip back to the wharf... if you were not satisfied with the meal you should have told your waitress. we aim to please our customers, and should they not enjoy their meal, and speak up about it, we will offer to redo or bring something else... I am disappointed that you didn't like the desserts. All desserts are made on site, fresh each morning. we use no artificial anything in our desserts. I do hope you had a good vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Walking around Cheticamp considering that evening's meal, we noticed the Harbour offered a courtesy lift to the restaurant from your accommodation. As we were staying a couple of miles away and enjoy a drink with our meals, this was music to our ears.

We were picked up on schedule by the owner, an extremely interesting lady, and sat at the Harbour's welcoming bar for a while before taking our table.

The food was excellent. The seafood sensation of haddock (not in batter, but pan fried in egg and flour, we believe) and generous portions of prawns and scallops was the best we had in a month of travelling in the Maritimes.

It was with regret we accepted our lift home! We did, however, return the next night. Why risk something inferior?

Thank PGeorgeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager3800, Manager at Harbour Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

It was a pleasure to meet you, and chat with you while in our restaurant. We thank you for your comments, and hope you enjoyed the remainder of your vacation. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour Restaurant also viewed

Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
 
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
 
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Harbour Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing