We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Enjoy Good Food and Good Service”
Review of Harbour Restaurant

Harbour Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Cheticamp
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: Located along Cheticamp Harbour, We have the best spot to capture an amazing sunset and watch the fishing boats drive by. We serve fresh seafood, steaks, pastas, ribs and much more. We do have a casual bar, and a kids menu available. We also offer FREE shuttle service within the Cheticamp Region only. Please call or drop in to inquire on this service.
Wiarton
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Place to Enjoy Good Food and Good Service”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

On a previous trip to Cheticamp we had dinner at the Harbour. We were so impressed that as we were planning on staying in Cheticamp on a Sunday this trip, I emailed a month before our trip to make sure that they would be open on Sundays in June. If they were closed Sundays during June I would have altered our itinerary so that we would have been in Cheticamp on a different day of the week. I also asked them in my email to make sure they had a couple orders of mussels on hand for me. I also asked them to reserve a table by the window......great water view. The young lady that I was emailing with was Louise and she was just great. When we arrived she had everything we asked for in place. As we were an hour early, we sat at the bar and chatted with the servers and the owner. What great people!! Our meal was just as good as on our previous visit years earlier. It was Fathers Day and the place was really busy but the service was excellent.
Just a great place to eat, chat with the locals and kick back and relax.
We will be back!!!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Wiartonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    132
    52
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney,N.S.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Being frequent visitors to Cheticamp we have been trying most of the restaurants and really enjoyed the quality of food here and Stacey our waitress altho very busy kept making sure we were happy with our meal We watched her stop and take a picture of a couple eating lobster---that type of service is great to see. We will most likely be back as the view was awesome near the water. Being able to walk the boardwalk after was nice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vimmyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“great location and good food”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We ate here both nights of our stay in Cheticamp. First evening in the indoor dining room as they had a neat singer who gave a nice history of the area. Second night on their waterfront porch. Both the cod and haddock were excellent and the service was friendly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank trekkerman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston, sc
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great View and Good Lobster”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was our first experience eating a whole lobster and the kitchen staff made it easy by cutting the shell to make it easier to eat. We had a table with a water view which was nice. We were there off season so expected the service to be a little better than it was. The food was good and had a good selection of wine.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rsb80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Good food and good view”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Don't let the dark decor or blackclothed servers put you off this restaurant. Eat your freshly caught and freshly cooked lobster supper overlooking the harbour with little fishing boats coming and going all evening. The locals gather here for a supper of lobster, crab or broiled salmon. Prices are reasonable and food good and well prepared. Coffee and a small desert may be included in your price.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wyntyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour Restaurant also viewed

Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
 
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Harbour Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing