We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people - poor quality”
Review of Co-Op Artisanale - CLOSED

Co-Op Artisanale
Description: A unique dining experience. Succulent Acadian dishes should not be missed by travellers touring the famous Cabot Trail. Our mouth-watering desserts will make a return visit a must. We offer a 15% discount in the giftshop to those who eat in the restaurant.
Restaurant details
Description: A unique dining experience. Succulent Acadian dishes should not be missed by travellers touring the famous Cabot Trail. Our mouth-watering desserts will make a return visit a must. We offer a 15% discount in the giftshop to those who eat in the restaurant.
South Portland, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Nice people - poor quality”
Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly staff, but poor food quality, especially for the price. I inquired about the "Seafood Chowder" and found out that the "seafood" was all haddock. I tried a cup and noticed a large reddish-brown chunk in the middle. At first I thought it was a piece of French bread, but when I finally tasted it, I found out it was chicken. It looked like chicken tasted like chicken and chewed like chicken. Besides the slight chicken taste, the soup was flavorless. I had the "Fish Cakes" as an entree and it was basically pan fried mashed potatoes with almost no fish in it. I wish that i had the nerve to send it back. I felt ripped-off by paying for mashed potatoes. I told the server about the chicken, but she said that it was "impossible" that there was chicken in my chowder. The cashier commented that she would have told the manager "if she were here".

Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“delicious!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Truly authentic - delicious homemade fare. Seervice was very pleasant , and the desserts amazing! Be brave, and try the boudin!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MDO44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“authentic experience”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Directly on the Cabot Trail, this authentic Acadian restaurant (and gift shop) is very sweet. The restaurant interior is painted the bright blue and red of the Acadian flag, and church ladies in traditional costumes - worn with New Balance sneakers! - take your order. Our meat pie was absolutely fantastic, with a tasty pulled meat filling and a light crust that seemed closer to bread than pastry. The fish chowder was the broth type (non-creamy) and had way more potato than fish, and an odd flavour. Prices were on the high side.

Still, worth stopping in for a quick bite. Note that with your bill they give you a 15% off coupon for the gift store, so do your shopping after eating.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lomimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus
Level 6 Contributor
608 reviews
314 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Great fishcakes and Blood Pudding”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The fishcakes and Blood Pudding were really excellent. The seafood chowder was pretty bland, it consisted entirely of fish and potatoes, no dairy products at all, but it was authentic. A very homey atmosphere, we were about the only ones there not speaking french.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bern666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Satisfied every time”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Friendly staff, hearty and delicious food - just what you need on a chilly, foggy evening!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sukkha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Co-Op Artisanale also viewed

Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
 
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing