We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“authentic experience”
Review of Co-Op Artisanale - CLOSED

Co-Op Artisanale
Description: A unique dining experience. Succulent Acadian dishes should not be missed by travellers touring the famous Cabot Trail. Our mouth-watering desserts will make a return visit a must. We offer a 15% discount in the giftshop to those who eat in the restaurant.
Restaurant details
Description: A unique dining experience. Succulent Acadian dishes should not be missed by travellers touring the famous Cabot Trail. Our mouth-watering desserts will make a return visit a must. We offer a 15% discount in the giftshop to those who eat in the restaurant.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“authentic experience”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Directly on the Cabot Trail, this authentic Acadian restaurant (and gift shop) is very sweet. The restaurant interior is painted the bright blue and red of the Acadian flag, and church ladies in traditional costumes - worn with New Balance sneakers! - take your order. Our meat pie was absolutely fantastic, with a tasty pulled meat filling and a light crust that seemed closer to bread than pastry. The fish chowder was the broth type (non-creamy) and had way more potato than fish, and an odd flavour. Prices were on the high side.

Still, worth stopping in for a quick bite. Note that with your bill they give you a 15% off coupon for the gift store, so do your shopping after eating.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lomimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Emmaus
Level 6 Contributor
608 reviews
314 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Great fishcakes and Blood Pudding”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The fishcakes and Blood Pudding were really excellent. The seafood chowder was pretty bland, it consisted entirely of fish and potatoes, no dairy products at all, but it was authentic. A very homey atmosphere, we were about the only ones there not speaking french.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bern666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Satisfied every time”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Friendly staff, hearty and delicious food - just what you need on a chilly, foggy evening!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sukkha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious hearty meal - just what you want after a day of hiking”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We were somewhat skeptical about eating here after reading some of the reviews, but it was right across from our hotel (Albert's Motel), so we figured we would give it a try. We were SO glad that we did! It was exactly what we needed after a long day of damp hiking to warm the soul. The atmosphere was very cute, with all the waitresses dressed in traditional Acadian wear, and the service was quick. It wasn't gourmet food by any means, but the fish cakes, potatoes, and stewed chicken were hearty and tasty.

Basically, if you're looking for a stick to your ribs/comfort food kind of meal, this is a great place to get it!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ryanandyvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“VERY NICE PLACE TO UNWIND-GREAT SERVICE-FOOD WARMS THE BODY”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

This is much like diner style eating but with an Acadian gourmet twist. There is no doubt the food is prepared fresh, and after a long dail hiking trails in the park, getting some warm, home cooked food without the frying and the grease, into the belly is a welcomed treat. I would say the portions are average but the prep seems well thought out and really delightful on the pallate-don't get me wrong, we had enough to eat. The stewed chicken, meat pie, and other specialties were all very good. Lorette, our server was super fantastic, always there when we needed her and very polite and helpful. The wine was good-not great- and a little pricey, but added to the warmth of the meal. We took our deserts to go-the strawberry rubarb pie was the best I had ever had. Overall I would say that this will likely be your best dining experience in Cheticamp, and we ate at many of the restaurants.. If you want a great tasting meal that is reasonably priced relative to others in town, great service, a relaxing atmosphere that is quite and overlooks the water, and food and atmosphere to warm the body and soul after a long day, this is your place. P.S. - they stop serving food at 8pm so get there early!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank W J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Co-Op Artisanale also viewed

Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
 
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
 
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing