We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay! Awesome hostess!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pilot Whale Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pilot Whale Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 8 Cheticamp B&B and Inns
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great stay! Awesome hostess!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a place in Cheticamp, but this B&B was only 15mins away from the town. Clean, relaxing, and a great breakfast! The host was wonderful! This B&B isn't on the ocean, it instead has more of a country feel (maybe a 5min walk from the water). We would definately recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hkp440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    20
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed two nights with my daughter in the basement suite. Large bedroom and bathroom, both very clean. Betty ann, her husband Johnny, and Geraldine made us welcome. Good dinner recommendations. Geraldine cooked us a terrific breakfast with good strong tea and a large assortment of homemade jams and jellies. There is a large front deck with gliding chairs to watch the mountains and the sunset. There are even swallows nesting in the garage! We'd stay again anytime.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed for one night in this beautiful chalet with my family and parents. Betty Ann prepared a homemade jelly that evening to serve for guests in the morning. . The living room has the cathedral ceiling decorated with knotty pine woods and a large stoned fireplace. Your eyes wonder to this country feel. The bedroom we had was clean and comfortable. In the morning, we had a hearty breakfast and were warmly accompanied by John, Betty Ann and Geraldine. Thank you very much for your hospitality!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isab2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed one night in a delightful B & B just south of Cheticamp, Nova Scotia after doing the counter-clockwise drive around the Cabot Trail. What a spectacular drive!! Gorgeous scenery and coastal views!!!
A lovely hostess/owner greeted us upon our arrival and showed us our beautiful room.
Had a great breakfast and a lovely chat with the owner and her sister. What a quiet, peaceful location!! Had a great sleep in our suite. Thank you for your wonderful hospitality!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a very good B & B. Betty Ann was a lovely host and made us feel very welcome. Her husband Johnny was very interesting to talk to telling us about the fishing in the area. The rooms were lovely and comfortable. Geraldine cooks a lovely breakfast. All in all very welcoming and homely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShirleyM71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was the best experience of our 7 day trip, 2 nights at the Pilot Whale - - comfortable and clean room, friendly and welcoming hosts, delicious breakfast and helpful, local travel tips. Our stay was quiet and convenient. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our mini Cape Breton vacation started with 2 nights at the Pilot Whale B&B near Cheticamp. Our hosts Betty Anne & Johnny were wonderful, friendly and informative . Geraldine, their assistant cooks a great breakfast. The French Toast was excellent I had to have it both mornings!

We had the room in the basement ( lots of light) , just off of the large TV Room . Our private bath came with a big Jacuzzi soaker tub, perfect following a day of hiking! This B&B is spotless throughout and felt like being at home. Excellent Wi-Fi and TV.

If you choose this B&B you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank windsorwand31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheticamp
34.7 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
9.9 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
6.3 mi away
Auberge Doucet Inn
Auberge Doucet Inn
#3 of 8 in Cheticamp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Yellow Sidecar B & B
The Yellow Sidecar B & B
#1 of 1 in Cap Le Moine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
6.8 mi away
Duck Cove Inn
Duck Cove Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
5.6 mi away
Island Sunset Resort
Island Sunset Resort
#1 of 1 in Belle Cote
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilot Whale Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilot Whale Bed & Breakfast

Property: Pilot Whale Bed & Breakfast
Address: 77 Bazile Road | St. Joseph-Du-Moine, Cheticamp, Nova Scotia B0E 3A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Cheticamp
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Cheticamp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pilot Whale Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilot Whale Bed & Breakfast Cheticamp, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing