We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check the rate before you pay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean View Motel & Chalets
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cheticamp
Reviewed August 14, 2008

A lovely view, but it was way over priced for what you receive.

I booked in advance and was quoted $220.00 per night for a chalet. I considered this expensive, but travelling with my folks and a dog I figured that it would be a nice spot.

The views of the harbour were great and there was a place to have a fire out front, but the chalet only had one bedroom and was attached to another unit (two units per building). There was a very small kitchenette which made cooking very limited and an uncomfortable pullout.

It was too small for 4 and lacked far too many perks and services to make it worth the price I paid. For example, when we asked for a screen for the window of the bedroom, the owner suggested that we take one from the other window. After saying that we would like to have that window open during the night as well (as there is no airconditioning in the rooms) she had a screen put in which she took from another chalet.

Apparently there were muffins available in the morning which no one told us about and was not mentioned in the amenities booklet in the room.

To add insult to injury speaking with other travellers staying there I learned that they paid only $120-$130 per night for the same or perhaps better chalets (I didn't dare ask if they had a whirlpool tub!) When I asked for discount or at least to wave the pet charge I was refused. All of this left quite a sour taste in my mouth. I would suggest arriving late afternoon or evening and trying your luck at a cheaper rate. If not there are plenty of other accomodations in the town.

I wouldn't stay again and if you do, I wouldn't recommend paying anywhere close to the $220.00 per night that we did.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Mythoughts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickynoo03, owner/manager at Ocean View Motel & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2008

I would like to address the issues posted on August the 14th.When the reservation was made, the reservation was clearly made for a one bedroom chalet unit having queen bed in the bedroom and double sofa bed in living room. We do not have any two bedroom units and we do not advertise such. Our units are duplex units with 18 inches of interior insulation for each unit being private. The pictures on our web site clearly marks them as such even numbered on the aerial photo. The rate quoted was $190 for four adults and the extra $15 was for a pet which we post . Our rates are also posted on our web site as well as in the NS Doers & Dreamers guide. Some establishments do not permit pets, we do but we do have a policy and the $15 fee is to cover extra cleaning details often required to maintain our standards of cleanliness. The couple that received the better price was a late walk in , they were two adults and no pets. It can be compared to discounted airline tickets, clothing sale....ever paid full price for an item one day and saw it half price the next day??? The chalet was also the exact duplicate of theirs which isn't really an issue. When asked for the screen, I was alone at the office and suggested switching a screen but when I was told it wasn't satisfactory, it took me 5 minutes to get them one. We take pride in our property's upkeep and if a screen or two is misssing out of 18 units, it means they are out being repaired instead of being in the windows with a tear. As to the muffins, we have a welcome page in binders placed in each unit offering these muffins. If the customer fails to read this welcome, am I responsible?

Paulette LeBlanc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 153 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2008

From Mr. & Mrs. Jaeschke, Plant City, FL, USA (57 & 48 yrs. old). For the past 7 yrs., and hopefully many years to come :), The Ocean View Motel & Chalets has provided the perfect seaside/mountain view accommodations for us. The owners are a warm & gracious couple, Guillaume (Bill) and Paulette LeBlanc, who from day one, have made us feel welcome, and at home away from home. We love the 3 room chalets, which give you a sparkling clean kitchen/living area with 2 front facing ocean view windows looking directly out onto the Gulf of St. Lawrence, a full bath, & a queen bedroom suite w/pine furniture. There are 3 sets of windows for fresh sea air, comfortable furniture throughout, remote ceiling fans in living spaces, 2 TV's/ one w/DVD, kitchenette appliances & kitchenware, quality daily housekeeping, & a lovely, well manicured lawn right outside your front door, that walks you up to the sea's edge. We especially love the setup in the living/kitchen area, as the dining table sits in front of the double windows, providing breathtaking views of the Gulf. Besides a stove top in the kitchenette, there is also a gas grill & picnic table right outside your chalet to further enjoy the awesome vista, and lawn chairs right at the sea's edge for comfortable relaxation, plus a nightly bon fire. Additionally, The Ocean View provides a clean, comfortable laundry facility with computer /internet access to use while laundering & a book exchange, all complimentary. In The Ocean View's office, you will find a complimentary CD movie library . In closing, we would like to say The Ocean view's quality accomodations, many amenities and in particular, the LeBlanc's gracious hospitality :), keep us day dreaming the year through in anticipation of next years return to The Ocean View Motel & Chalet's (and Paulette's delicious, freshly baked muffins every morning :) fuel for hiking the Highlands Nat'l Park!!! Go Moose!!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank welovenovascotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2008

I had a fine experience at the Ocean View, but was surprised and felt mislead to discover that "a cottage" actually means HALF a cottage: they each have two units.

In my opinion, the property is deliberately deceptive about this in their advertising. I had come there needing and expecting privacy in my own cottage, and when I complained the owner was irritated (!) --saying that "well there are 18 inch walls between the units". It was only because I said I was going to leave that she offered to give me a half cottage with no one next door.

Once I had that, everything else was mostly great. They're in a very good location with lovely sunsets. They also offer free Internet, free laundry, and a vast selection of recent DVD's to watch in your (half!) cottage.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank tonymoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2007

My family (2 adults, 4 children aged 19, 15, 10 and 7) spent one night here in August 2007. They couldn't accomodate us in a single suite, so we rented 2 adjacent suites. The accomodation is spare and plain, but well-kept and clean. If we were spending longer exploring the park, this would certainly have been a great place to stay. Nice ocean view. I read several reviews raving about the muffins for breakfast. Well, they were muffins, but nothing to write home about. Probably not enough to fortify you for the entire morning, so best buy some other breakfast supplies.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kishore V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2007

We stayed at Ocean View on the first night of our three day bike trip around the Cabot trail. It was a great place to stay after our first day of riding, and before the second day, which we knew would be long and difficult! We splurged a bit and took the cottage with a jacuzzi tub instead of the standard motel rooms.

We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, and the cottage was terrific -- spotlessly clean, roomy, comfortable, and with a beautiful view of the Gulf of St Lawrence (the sunset was absolutely beautiful!) We definitely enjoyed the comforts of the king size bed and jacuzzi tub! Only wish we'd been able to stay longer to enjoy the area abit more and also take advantage of the cottage's kitchen facilities and fireplace (we were too tired to stay up -- too bad the fireplace was in the bedroom instead of the living room!). We walked to dinner at one of the restaurants down the road, and then bought a few groceries to cook a hearty breakfast in the cottage's kitchen. It was stocked with pots, pans, plates, mugs, salt & pepper, coffee, coffeemaker, coffee whitener, etc. The office also offers a continental breakfast. One other nice touch is that there was a tv (with cable) in the kitchen/livrm as well as the bedroom.

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Arlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2007

I was nervous because we left home to drive around the Cabit Trail but didn't book a motel. But we thought we would see where the wind blew us. After having a great day on the drive up to Cape Breton and doing the Cabot Trail, up Cape Smokey and ending in Cheticamp we were ready for a comfortable place to stay. We saw what appeared to be a "nice" place so we stop and got a chalet at Ocean View Motel & Chalet. Little did we know how great the place would turn out to be. It made our weekend that much more enjoyable. Friendly people, clean chalet, reasonably priced, close to the trails we wanted to hike the next day. Couldn't have been a better end to the day including the prefect sunset. We will definately be back. Did I mention my boyfriend popped the question that night in that chalet too, it was the prefect setting for the next step in life. You won't be disappointed with your stay for sure. We will be back to celebrate again.

Stayed: June 2007
5  Thank LoraDartmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickynoo03, Owner/Manager at Ocean View Motel & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2007

Thank you Lora for the thumbs up. Always glad to see our guests leaving pleased and ready to return. Best wishes in your new beginnings......Paulette & Guillaume

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheticamp
30.1 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
0.4 mi away
Laurie's Motor Inn
Laurie's Motor Inn
#6 of 7 in Cheticamp
223 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pilot Whale Chalets
Pilot Whale Chalets
#1 of 9 in Cheticamp
92 reviews
29.8 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
46.5 mi away
Fair Isle Motel
Fair Isle Motel
#1 of 2 in Whycocomagh
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Motel & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Motel & Chalets

Address: 15569 Cabot Trail | P.O.Box 419, Cheticamp, Nova Scotia B0E 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Cheticamp
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cheticamp
Price Range: $60 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean View Motel & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Acadian Hospitality at its best. Great place to relax, and enjoy the best of waterfront accommodations. Ideally located for day trips to return in the evening to catch a beautiful sunset and watch the boats coming in from their whale watching expeditions. Convenient to Le Portage Golf Course and Cape Breton Highlands National Park entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ocean View Motel & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Motel & Chalets Hotel Cheticamp
Ocean View Motel And Chalets
Ocean View Hotel Chalets
Ocean View Motel & Chalets Cheticamp, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing