We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, super clean”
Review of Merry's Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cheticamp
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Merry's Motel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cheticamp
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very nice, super clean”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

This is a very simple motel in the usual style of motels, but what really impressed us was how spotless clean it was. This was really no surprise after meeting Suzanne, the proprietor, who takes running her establishment very seriously. She was super friendly and helpful in suggesting dinner locations, and gave us a bit of local history too. There is also a BNB in the big main house, which is in front of the motel. We had a great view of the harbor to top it off. Our room was plenty spacious, with two queen beds, a fridge, and a small bathroom. Only issue for some may be this is a working harbor, and early fishing activity can be a bit noisy, but this would affect all lodgings in this town, which are right along the harbor. It was not an issue for us.

Room Tip: one end of the motel room strip is behind the main house, and so do not have the harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellinguy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    72
    24
    3
    0
See reviews for
34
77
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

My family stayed for two nights as a base to explore the Cabot Trail, Cheticamp being a perfect location to do so. The town offers a number of amenities including restaurants, a Tim's and a bakery. Merry's Motel offers immaculate lodgings - both the motel bedroom and bathroom were absolutely spotless. It faces the water and is a very short walk to two restaurants and whale watching tours. A light breakfast is available, and the blueberry muffins are, indeed, delicious and warm. (Don't expect to get more than one per person, if you're lucky!) We found the beds a bit hard after hiking all day, but that's a minor grumble. I would bring a sleeping bag or extra comforter along next time to try to take the edge off. We were charged an extra $10 for my 16 year-old to share the room. This is a small establishment, so book early to avoid disappointment as they seem to reach capacity quickly.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MomCanDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

my husband and i stayed here last night on our way around the Cabot Trail. lovely host and hostess. the room was spotless and the bed very comfortable. breakfast included toast, blueberry muffins and fruit. would stay there again, no problem. very cheap too.

Room Tip: any one at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louretta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAlester, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
154 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed in the big house, in two rooms. They were nice and very clean. The owners are friendly and helpful. The price was very fair. There was a continental breakfast of coffee and toast/muffins. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qbeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

All I ask for at a unknown motel in a sparsely populated area is for a clean room. This motel satisfied that requirement! The room was basic, but very clean. This motel is a very short walk to the restaurants and waterfront.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillSweeney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here for one night. Cute little place with breakfast included. Immaculately clean and very economical. Our room had a beautiful view of the water. Service was great. A very well cared for motel. Perfect location if you are driving the Cabot Trail.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is a good value for a night's stay. No frills. The motel is older and dated, but my room was large and clean. There was a fan, desk, and TV in the room. A light breakfast is available in the main house. It is just toast and coffee, but that is what I was expecting. There are restaurants with in a short walk or drive from the motel as it is on the main drag through town.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheticamp
30.5 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
2.7 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Wind Suites
Bay Wind Suites
#4 of 8 in Cheticamp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean View Motel & Chalets
1.7 mi away
Auberge Doucet Inn
Auberge Doucet Inn
#3 of 8 in Cheticamp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laurie's Motor Inn
Laurie's Motor Inn
#6 of 7 in Cheticamp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merry's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merry's Motel

Property: Merry's Motel
Address: 15356 Cabot Trail | P.O. Box 1052, Cheticamp, Nova Scotia B0E 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Cheticamp
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cheticamp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Merry`s Hotel Cheticamp
Merrys Hotel Cheticamp
Merrys Motel Cheticamp
Merry's Motel Cheticamp, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing