We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly decent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merry's Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cheticamp
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Merry's Motel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cheticamp
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Surprisingly decent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here for a night while driving the Cabot Trail. Price was decent (around $70) and we were given room 2 with an "ocean view". We were pleasantly surprised at how clean the room was - the wood floors are much better than carpets you usually find at motels. In fact, Merry's was cleaner than many of the more expensive motels we stayed at during our 10 day roadtrip of the Maritimes. It looks like the rooms were refreshed not too long ago. Breakfast was good (proprietors noted it was a *very light* breakfast) - toast, some fruit, coffee - no frills. Everything in Cheticamp is also within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayashi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    71
    24
    3
    0
See reviews for
34
76
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This motel is clean but the furnishings are very 50's and worn. The beds are hard and the towels are small and thin. We stayed in the condo unit with 2 beds in the loft. There was a third bed but it was like a teaspoon and unusable and fortunately we did not need it. The stairs to the loft are narrow and steep and if you have to get down them in the night for the washroom it is difficult. taking your cases upstairs is not recommended. The kitchen has sufficient equipment . The TV works well and has many channels. Breakfast was very light!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RainbowTraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is one of my best motel because of the great ocean view. I opened my window in my bedroom and I could hear the ocean breeze... I slept like a baby. The beach is absolutely beautiful. Price is reasonable and it is very friendly.

Room Tip: Choose room facing ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucien224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was my second year staying at Merry's Motel as part of a bike tour around the Cabot Trail. The rooms in the motel are neat, tidy and comfortable. The motel is set back from the road so it is quiet. There are some comfy Adirondack style chairs outside of each room and it is quite pleasant to sit out on the porch in the evening and watch the sunset over the water. Merry's is centrally located so that you can walk to several good restaurants. The owners are very nice and know the area very well. They will be happy to recommend places to go and eat. They cleared out space in their shed so that we could store our bikes securely and out of the weather. Wifi access is free. Merry's was one of the best values in accommodations for the entire trip and I will definitely stay there again when I return for another visit to the Cabot Trail.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cb_maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We had a nice stay at Merry's B&B.
We had B&B room #9 with garden and sea view and a shared bathroom.
But they also have some motel room on the back of the house (with private bathroom).
It's quiet and clean, 2 mn walking distance from harbour and restaurants.
Owners are from switzerland, and the wife is very friendly. She can have nice chat with you.
Breakfast is simple but good (hot drink, toasted bread, butter and jam)
I recommend the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OscarKapac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville
Level Contributor
74 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed here for one night while driving the Cabot Trail. Room was small, but clean. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom was tiny with a shower stall. A breakfast of toast and muffins was included. The owner recommended a whale watching tour to us that was fantastic--we saw a dozen whales, and it was the highlight of our vacation. There are several restaurants in the area, even a Tim Hortons. I would recommend this motel for a short stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jubejube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor Ontario
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

I was travelling on the Cabot Trail with my cousin and 2 aunts in July-August of 2012. We started on the east side of the trail and made our way around to Cheticamp for the night. We had booked a room at Merry's a few days prior and were lucky to have gotten it as nothing else was available for the night we needed when we called around. The reviews for this place suggested we would have a nice stay and we did. The room and bathroom were very clean, the motel was very quiet and it included a very light breakfast in the morning so we were pleased with our luck in getting a room here. We rolled in around 7pm and our lovely hostess (Susanne?) recommended two restaurants close by to eat at (the restaurant review is a separate experience - please look for it - Le Gabriel - did not meet expectations). She provided us all the extra towels we would need as all four of us shared a room (2 double beds). We were happy that the room had a small fridge as we were able to keep our cooler ice frozen and our perishables cool in the fridge. When we got back to the room after our extremely long meal we noticed that the room was quite warm. It was hotter than usual in the area, especially for being a coastal town so there is not a lot we could do about it. We opened all our windows and eventually things cooled off and I'm not sure that its economical to have air conditioning units blocking windows for the few nights of the year they would actually be needed. Just an observation, not a complaint against the hotel. There was a fan that we used to move the air around and I'm sure if we'd asked for a second fan we would have gotten it however we'd come back so late from dinner we didn't want to disturb our hosts to ask. After a pretty good nights' sleep (it was also nice to be able to use the free wi-fi too - my aunt and uncle don't have internet at their place yet so I'd been without it....) we got up and headed down to the inn part of the property to avail ourselves of the light breakfast. We noticed in the reviews that some people complained about this.....I have a problem with those complaints. The hosts have not misrepresented the fact that breakfast is juice/coffee/tea/fruit/muffins and toast. This is on the sign right outside the motel, it was on the website and she told us when we checked in! I thought it was great - if I'd wanted more I was free to go somewhere else to have more. As it was I was quite content with toast, fruit, a muffin and some coffee. The only downside was that Susanne only bakes a finite amount of muffins for the guests so if you don't get there early enough, there may not be any left and they are excellent! While we were eating we told Susanne of our awful experience at the restaurant the night before and she felt terrible for having recommended it to us. She said she was going to stop sending people there if they couldn't treat their customers right. The best part of this place was the price - all four of us stayed and ate breakfast for less than $115 (split four ways that's a pretty good deal - $28.75 per person). As its likely I'll return to Cheticamp in the future, I would be very happy to return to Merry's!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderWoman7115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheticamp
30.5 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
2.7 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.7 mi away
Auberge Doucet Inn
Auberge Doucet Inn
#3 of 8 in Cheticamp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bay Wind Suites
Bay Wind Suites
#4 of 8 in Cheticamp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean View Motel & Chalets
0.6 mi away
Cabot Trail Sea and Golf Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merry's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merry's Motel

Property: Merry's Motel
Address: 15356 Cabot Trail | P.O. Box 1052, Cheticamp, Nova Scotia B0E 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Cheticamp
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cheticamp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Merry`s Hotel Cheticamp
Merrys Hotel Cheticamp
Merrys Motel Cheticamp
Merry's Motel Cheticamp, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing