We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of Merry's Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cheticamp
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Merry's Motel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cheticamp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We had a nice stay at Merry's B&B.
We had B&B room #9 with garden and sea view and a shared bathroom.
But they also have some motel room on the back of the house (with private bathroom).
It's quiet and clean, 2 mn walking distance from harbour and restaurants.
Owners are from switzerland, and the wife is very friendly. She can have nice chat with you.
Breakfast is simple but good (hot drink, toasted bread, butter and jam)
I recommend the place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OscarKapac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 157 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed here for one night while driving the Cabot Trail. Room was small, but clean. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom was tiny with a shower stall. A breakfast of toast and muffins was included. The owner recommended a whale watching tour to us that was fantastic--we saw a dozen whales, and it was the highlight of our vacation. There are several restaurants in the area, even a Tim Hortons. I would recommend this motel for a short stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank jubejube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I was travelling on the Cabot Trail with my cousin and 2 aunts in July-August of 2012. We started on the east side of the trail and made our way around to Cheticamp for the night. We had booked a room at Merry's a few days prior and were lucky to have gotten it as nothing else was available for the night we needed when we called around. The reviews for this place suggested we would have a nice stay and we did. The room and bathroom were very clean, the motel was very quiet and it included a very light breakfast in the morning so we were pleased with our luck in getting a room here. We rolled in around 7pm and our lovely hostess (Susanne?) recommended two restaurants close by to eat at (the restaurant review is a separate experience - please look for it - Le Gabriel - did not meet expectations). She provided us all the extra towels we would need as all four of us shared a room (2 double beds). We were happy that the room had a small fridge as we were able to keep our cooler ice frozen and our perishables cool in the fridge. When we got back to the room after our extremely long meal we noticed that the room was quite warm. It was hotter than usual in the area, especially for being a coastal town so there is not a lot we could do about it. We opened all our windows and eventually things cooled off and I'm not sure that its economical to have air conditioning units blocking windows for the few nights of the year they would actually be needed. Just an observation, not a complaint against the hotel. There was a fan that we used to move the air around and I'm sure if we'd asked for a second fan we would have gotten it however we'd come back so late from dinner we didn't want to disturb our hosts to ask. After a pretty good nights' sleep (it was also nice to be able to use the free wi-fi too - my aunt and uncle don't have internet at their place yet so I'd been without it....) we got up and headed down to the inn part of the property to avail ourselves of the light breakfast. We noticed in the reviews that some people complained about this.....I have a problem with those complaints. The hosts have not misrepresented the fact that breakfast is juice/coffee/tea/fruit/muffins and toast. This is on the sign right outside the motel, it was on the website and she told us when we checked in! I thought it was great - if I'd wanted more I was free to go somewhere else to have more. As it was I was quite content with toast, fruit, a muffin and some coffee. The only downside was that Susanne only bakes a finite amount of muffins for the guests so if you don't get there early enough, there may not be any left and they are excellent! While we were eating we told Susanne of our awful experience at the restaurant the night before and she felt terrible for having recommended it to us. She said she was going to stop sending people there if they couldn't treat their customers right. The best part of this place was the price - all four of us stayed and ate breakfast for less than $115 (split four ways that's a pretty good deal - $28.75 per person). As its likely I'll return to Cheticamp in the future, I would be very happy to return to Merry's!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderWoman7115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I was delighted to stay in such a cozy, well-run establishment. I cannot speak for the motel, but stayed in the Bed and Breakfast room. The price was $50 which included a typical European-style continental breakfast of a muffin, coffee and fruit.
The owners, being from Switzerland, made me feel as if I was back in Europe. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom, shared but very clean and modern. I would not hesitate to stay here again. Dankeschön für einen sehr schönen Aufenthalt!

Well Wörth the Time and money!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed here on day 3 of our 4-day cycle of the Cabot Trail, our room was very basic but impeccably clean with a small fridge; no A/C but a fan and windows front and back offering good ventilation; walking distance to a few good spots to eat. Susan was friendly and helpful and offered to put our bikes in the shed. We didn't take advantage of the light breakfast since we needed substantial fueling for the day of cycling to Baddeck.

Stayed: August 2012
Thank Isa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed in the apartment. There is a small kitchenette and tv room on the main floor and 2 double beds and a cot on the second floor. Bed was comfortable but watch your head on the sloped ceiling ( I am only 5"4 and smacked my head twice). Breakfast is light but we were told in advance. Overall, it was no frills but suitable for our overnight stay.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank love2travel1167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

The room was clean . No air conditioning but the windows opened to let in the ocean breeze, and there was an electric fan. Even in the heat wave, it was more than comfortable. The wood floors were swept clean, much nicer than carpet. Beds were comfortable, and TV had satellite. The only downside was the breakfast- mostly carbs. But generally it was a good room for the price during high season.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy9537785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheticamp
2.7 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
214 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean View Motel & Chalets
0.3 mi away
Laurie's Motor Inn
Laurie's Motor Inn
#6 of 7 in Cheticamp
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.8 mi away
Kow's Inn
Kow's Inn
#1 of 1 in Little Bras d'Or
27 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pilot Whale Chalets
Pilot Whale Chalets
#1 of 9 in Cheticamp
92 reviews
1.7 mi away
Auberge Doucet Inn
Auberge Doucet Inn
#6 of 7 in Cheticamp
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merry's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merry's Motel

Address: 15356 Cabot Trail | P.O. Box 1052, Cheticamp, Nova Scotia B0E 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Cheticamp
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cheticamp
Price Range: $40 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Merry`s Hotel Cheticamp
Merrys Hotel Cheticamp
Merrys Motel Cheticamp
Merry's Motel Cheticamp, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing