We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real, pet friendly, gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Merry's Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cheticamp
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Merry's Motel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cheticamp
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real, pet friendly, gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

Clean and tidy. Wifi worked well. Pet friendly. The morning breakfast included in the price was an unexpected bonus and very welcome. Very gracious hostess.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forestfloor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    72
    24
    3
    0
See reviews for
34
77
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

The host was very friendly and the room was nice, big and comfortable. It had good wifi and was in a great location. The Breakfast was simple and tasty.

What more can i say? It was a great, solid B&B.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davadking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

A very cozy, clean motel with a nice basic breakfast. The owner is very hospitable and friendly. She makes great blueberry muffins and coffee. We have stayed twice in the past year and will return for the great value and warm welcome!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NovaScotiaSeaport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

We recently stayed here on the last lag of our trip through the Cabot Trail. Cheticamp is beautiful and Merry's Motel is right next to the boardwalk. It's average accommodation, what I would expect from a motel. The rooms are very clean, the beds are quite worn down, but you get a good sleep. Breakfast is basic, but filling. Overall, I would say if you're looking for an affordable place to stay with no frills, this is it. The woman running the place is great!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eyeonadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, New Brunswick
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

My wife and I stayed here while touring the Cabot Trail. Merry's is located in the centre of town and within walking distance to restaurants. It's a basic motel room, not fancy, but very clean. There is no air conditioning. Not a problem when we were there. It does have sat. TV, WiFi, and a simple breakfast. If you only need a clean place to lay your head and a good start in the morning, Merry's will fit the bill.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canam778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

Merry's Motel is one of several motels accommodating tourists heading to or from the wonderful Cabot Trail through Cheticamp, Nova Scotia. (By the way, don't go through Cheticamp too fast -- it's got a fair amount going for it, albeit geared for tourists). Merry's is clean, comfortable, and convenient. Fridge, satellite TV, wireless internet, light breakfast with coffee/tea, fruit, muffins. If you're expecting a good night's sleep in a modest facility just across the street from the harbor, you'll be fine with this non-budget-busting motel; if you're expecting a jacuzzi tub, chocolates on the pillow, room service, and little bottles of shampoo you can take home, you won't find those at Merry's and that's okay by me. My only suggestion for Merry's owners: The towels and washcloths could use some fabric softener. My suggestion for people staying at Merry's: when you brush your teeth, be careful if you bend down to swish and spit so you don't bop your head on the shelf above the sink.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wotanleroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

First of all, prices are high around the Cabot Trail so don't expect to find inexpensive lodging. That having been said, Merry's Motel is clean, comfortable and our hostess was VERY helpful in helping us find your way around. MONEY SAVING TIP! If you stay in the main house where two rooms share one bath. the cost goes way down and the sleep is just as comfortable. This motel was easy to find coming in and the central location was walking distance to "The Doryman" club where local entertainment plays nightly (seasonal). Breakfast was simple but tasty and eating area was large enough for comfort. WE would stay there again should we come back to Cheticamp.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheticamp
30.5 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
2.7 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Wind Suites
Bay Wind Suites
#4 of 8 in Cheticamp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean View Motel & Chalets
1.7 mi away
Auberge Doucet Inn
Auberge Doucet Inn
#3 of 8 in Cheticamp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laurie's Motor Inn
Laurie's Motor Inn
#6 of 7 in Cheticamp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merry's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merry's Motel

Property: Merry's Motel
Address: 15356 Cabot Trail | P.O. Box 1052, Cheticamp, Nova Scotia B0E 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Cheticamp
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cheticamp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Merry`s Hotel Cheticamp
Merrys Hotel Cheticamp
Merrys Motel Cheticamp
Merry's Motel Cheticamp, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing