We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lauries motel”
Review of Laurie's Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Laurie's Motor Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Cheticamp
Reviewed August 6, 2014

we stayed in the homestead rooms right on the road and it was amazing. quiet, even though 4 other people showed up to party until we went out. met another couple that were just relaxing and having a good time. the room was clean and spacious. 2 beds, air conditioner, coffee pot, breakfast the next morning was buffet and it was delicious , everything from cereal to eggs benedict and it was complimentary if staying at the hotel and all you could eat, loved the eggs benedict. would stay again, within walking distance of everything.

Room Tip: if you are looking for just a getaway on the trail and want to go to the dorymen or the le gabrial s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank edeanking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 219 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed two nights as part of a bus tour. It is the only hotel in town that is large enough to handle 40 plus people. Rooms were average at best but beds were good. Staff were good and friendly, a plus. Breakfast was good but dinner was subpar. There are very few hotel choices in Cheticamp as it is a small fishing area. The large church in town is beautiful and should not be missed. There are several good seafood restaurants in Cheticamp.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ArtVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We were nearly finished with the Cabot Trail and needed a hotel that allowed dogs. We booked the same day and found this property just fine for our needs. Free breakfast buffet we good. Rooms were very large, neat and clean. Comfortable and within budget. A good place to stay.

Room Tip: We would recommend this property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rnash10419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

When we booked it was for the house with 5 bedrooms but were told it was for the house with 2 bedrooms when I called the day before to verify it. Since we were going to a family reunion we kept it because we didn't know if there would be anything available in the area at this short notice, Not what we were expecting.Was told that people book it every year and we shouldn't have been told it was available. The house we were in was old and musty smelling. Some of the drapery needs to be changed as it had holes all through them. There are new owners for this hotel and I hope that they will try to make improvements. The television never worked all weekend. We had someone come in on the first night but it didn't last for too long. We had it going a few times but would only last for 5 to 10 minutes before it would go again. When I told them at the desk all this, they said they would get someone to check it out. Personally I think it's the wiring. The house was clean. The cleaning staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet was good and the staff was great. Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a family reunion but would not have stayed a third. If we ever go back, we would have to check for something else.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ellen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Good ,solid motel with clean romms located in the heart of Cheticamp. As usual,host were very helpful and friendly. This place has views ,from almost any room and any building. Good breakfast too,and good close by resturants.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hotel is dark, dank, dated and depressing. There are new owners for this hotel and I am sure they will try to make improvements but really I don't know where they will start because everything needs updating and upgrading. The doors were hard to open, furniture was ancient, coloring and decor dark, television old and poor quality, etc. I will say that the rooms were large and they were clean. I suspect that this was the best option in Chetticamp, but I would make Chetticamp a pit stop and not a destination. The breakfast buffet was adequate, but the dinner was inedible although the wait staff was great. Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour but would not have stayed a third.

Room Tip: There are two separate buildings. Try to get a room in the front building as it would have a harbor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ldawnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed 2 nights as part of a tour. The rooms are very big and comfortable. We had breakfast on both days and dinner on one evening. For breakfast there was a choice of both hot and cold items. All the staff were very friendly and helpful

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank redscarfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheticamp
21.5 mi away
Margaree Riverview Inn
Margaree Riverview Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Forks
167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean View Motel & Chalets
2.5 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Duck Cove Inn
Duck Cove Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Harbour
52 reviews
1.9 mi away
Auberge Doucet Inn
Auberge Doucet Inn
#4 of 8 in Cheticamp
148 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pilot Whale Chalets
Pilot Whale Chalets
#1 of 9 in Cheticamp
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurie's Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurie's Motor Inn

Address: 15456 Cabot Trail, Cheticamp, Nova Scotia B0E 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Cheticamp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Cheticamp
Price Range: $95 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Laurie's Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a seasonal property located in the heart of the Acadian Village of Chéticamp, Nova Scotia, Choose between a motel unit, suites or one of our vacation homes, so that you can make Laurie's your home away from home. During our peak season, enjoy our complimentary hot/cold buffet breakfast in our Restaurant. All rooms are air-conditioned, cable TV, radio, WiFi, telephone, hair dryers and ample parking. We also have a playground, pay-phone, coin-operated laundromat, small canteen, ice and pop machines. We are centrally located and minutes away from the renown Highlands National Park and the famous Cabot Trail. Enjoy rug hooking museum, beaches, golf course, gift/craft shops, horseback riding, hiking trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Laurie's Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurie`s Motor Hotel Cheticamp
Lauries Hotel Cheticamp
Lauries Motel Cheticamp
Laurie's Motor Inn Cheticamp, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing