We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Nice Trail

My wife and I came for a short walk into this trail yesterday as we were staying in the Parks... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
JFLeB325
,
Moncton, Canada
via mobile
Incredible views

We loved the trail. There are great walks all over the trail that are well marked and maintained... read more

Reviewed August 8, 2019
Michele M
,
Croton on Hudson, New York
Read all 79 reviews
  
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveler rating
55
21
1
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
55
21
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great hike coastal views wild blueberries take your time coming down loose rocks take your breath away second half counter clockwise parks canada national park take photos beautiful scenery stream steep forest moose
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 79 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2018

Great hike, kind of like 5 hikes in one.....terrain goes from lush, moss, forest, canopy, to top of mountain open air. Great views of Cheticamp (make sure you do trail counter-clockwise to see views coming back down). Takes about 2-3 hours depending on how fast you go. Wild blueberries on the top! Wonderful hike close to the village of Cheticamp.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Michel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

Coming down towards Cheticamp from Pleasant Bay, you get to see the most icon scene of the Cabot trail there is.

Then a pretty glimpse of the ocean and the cliffs. They reminded us of the somewhat larger Cliffs of Moher.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Daryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

My new favorite National Park trail! Absolutely stunning views! Not for the faint of heart, but well worth it!!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Connector297224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018

We had a clear fall day for our hike on the Acadian Trail...perfect conditions as far as I am concerned. The elevation change is from 65 ft to 1,200 ft, so the trail is a bit of work, but you will be rewarded with beautiful outlooks over the town of Cheticamp, the Cheticamp River and beach, and the Gulf of St. Lawrence. We could even see Les Îles-de-la-Madeleine way off in the distance.

The trail is a loop of about 8.5 km. While others have suggested walking the "left" trail both ways because there isn't much to see on the other side, I would recommend doing both sides - both are quite different and both beautiful in their own way. And, if you don't like coming downhill on loose gravel like me, go counter-clockwise. You will climb up some moderately tough terrain (loose rocks and roots) following a lovely babbling creek, with moss covered rocks and lots of shade, to reach the plateau and ultimately out to the scenic outlooks on the other side. The descent going this way is gradual with better footing.

I would not suggest bringing young children on this hike - might be a little too much for them.

Either way - do both sides!

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Zuzilla2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2018 via mobile

This circular trail combines wonderful Acadian woodland on the inland leg and spectacular coastal views on the return. I'd recommend anticlockwise route otherwise you'll be forced to keep doing and turning round. The woodland section was my favorite. Beech trees hang on to steep slopes. Occasional "mother" trees are worth the walk themselves. Squirrels chattered at each bench. The stream maintains a soundtrack and Legolas could be imagined guarding Lothlorien.

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank L9187HTmarkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews