We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location with beautiful views!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pilot Whale Chalets

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pilot Whale Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good location with beautiful views!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Rented A Chalet in Early October and Was Very Pleased When we Drove in. THE Chalets were Cute Log Cabins with Small Porches. Once Inside not as Pleasing, Very Clean (WHICH IS A PLUS) but Rather Stark, Should Have Carried the Log Theme Inside. They are Advertized as fully Equipped Kitchens, But are not! No seasoning, Dish Soap, towelling, or pans to use in Oven or Broiler. There was one Unusable fry pan. Did have a nice Microwave and Coffee Maker. We were glad to Have Atleast a Grill on the Porch. Next Morning we Awoke early to Run out to the Co-op to get Dinner to Grill Before Going Hiking. Upon Returning we Found the Grills had all Been Removed from the Porches! We were Told that it was done because off Season YOU DO NOT GET GRILLS. But MID-STAY? Spoke with the Office When we Came Back from Hiking Found a Small Tabletop Grill on the Porch abd a Fry
Pan in the Kitchen. One Bedroom was good, Mattrress as okay, but the mattrress in the Second room was ancient!

Room Tip: little more expensive but worth it are the chalets closest to the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cat2009Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    33
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
37
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
205 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Cozy cabins with a great view of the Cabot Trail and water. Well-appointed accommodations with a grill, stove, dishwasher and fridge. They even offer a wide selection of DVDs you can borrow for the evening. We left on a rainy day, I really just wanted to stay and curl up with a good book. Only one suggestion, we recommend they get longer internet cables since they don’t have wifi. It was a balancing act to use our computer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSandersCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
171 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We chose Pilot Whale Chalets from its roadside appearance and the brief review we could find. As there was just the two of us for one night, we chose a studio room which was the loser floor of a two unit building. While being nothing fancy, the unit was well equipped and very clean with a very comfortable bed, good coffee maker, internet access and satellite TV.

Room Tip: If you are staying a few days, go for the upper units that have more light and a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, NJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Almost a year in advance, we reserved the Pilot Whale for a week in high season. We were impressed by the reviews here and particularly in the descriptions of the kitchens, which were indeed excellent. We were looking forward to making some really good dinners, because in this part of the province you can get some of Canada’s best seafood--great scallops, lobster, mussels, and several varieties of fish.

Upon arrival we were greeted with the most outrageous rule I’ve ever seen anywhere in the world. Big sign: it is FORBIDDEN to cook SEAFOOD in the chalets. $300 charge if you do. We don’t like the odor, and our maids can’t get rid of it.

Owners can make wildly eccentric rules for their properties if they like, but this is bait and switch. They advertise full, modern kitchens, and this is a seafood region. What do they expect people will cook in these kitchens? Accordingly, if they wish to have such a rule, it is mandatory to feature it prominently in their advertising, so that people like ourselves who would not wish to rent under these conditions would not make the mistake. In the middle of high season, needing a week’s lodging, we had no possibility of switching properties. Hitting new arrivals with this rule out of the blue is completely unacceptable.

Enough of that. The other significant downside is the lack of wi-fi, contrary to some printed advertising. The chalets have wired internet only, and the location of ours required sitting on a rather soft couch. Unfortunately, I had to make unexpectedly heavy use of the internet during our stay. I would have loved to have done the work out on the patio, enjoying the fabulous views. Management could easily buy a router for each unit that would make this possible. I would have brought one myself if I knew, and I would have bought one locally, but as far as I could tell there was no computer store within a reasonable drive.

Those are the gripes. If you can live with the cooking limitation and the lack of wireless, then I highly recommend this place and agree with most of the favorable reviews. I have stayed in one other property in Cheticamp, and this one was better in most respects.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MChevreul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Cabin was clean, spacious. We had an apartment under a chalet. It was bright and roomy and noise was not a problem. Great location for visiting Cabot Trail. Just outside Cheticamp so we could run in for groceries, a drink on a patio, restaurants. Quirky art gallery/shop and coffee bar within walking distance. Skipped stones on the private beach and watched an incredible sunset each evening.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AD_on_holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
148 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

It's only 2 min. to the Visitors Center for the Park, the town Visitors Center (with free internet), and a good french bakery, nice view of the mountains but not the water. We had the main level with 2 bds., very comfortable beds and nice shower and bath. It's time for the towels to be replaced, and please add utensils to the kitchen, there were only 4 forks and no pan to bake in. Receptionist was very pleasant and helpful. When you reserve suggest you ask for a chalet with no apt. underneath to avoid noise problems which we only had one night. Made a great base for hikes in the park.

Room Tip: Reserve well ahead, they stay booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buttondeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Pluses:
Large suite
Large Bathroom
Fully equipped kitchen (no stove) & Outdoor Gas grill
Pretty location but no Ocean View
Short walk to private ocean beach (with stairway)
Moderate walk to town along gravel road overlooking water
Comfortable beds
Large fan on stand
Free videos at office
Internet service via cable
Friendly staff
Clean
Tiled floors means cleaner room
Two units per cabin with opposite side entrances on separate levels
Drive right up to door

Minuses:

No air conditioning. Yes it was near the ocean, but it would be nice especially if you needed the windows shut.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TymeToGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheticamp
0.0 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
0.0 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auberge Doucet Inn
Auberge Doucet Inn
#3 of 8 in Cheticamp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bay Wind Suites
Bay Wind Suites
#4 of 8 in Cheticamp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabot Trail Sea and Golf Chalets
0.0 mi away
The Yellow Sidecar B & B
The Yellow Sidecar B & B
#1 of 1 in Cap Le Moine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilot Whale Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilot Whale Chalets

Property: Pilot Whale Chalets
Address: 15775 Cabot Trail, Cheticamp, Nova Scotia B0E 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Cheticamp
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Cheticamp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pilot Whale Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilot Whale Chalets Cheticamp, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing