We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifullllll !!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pilot Whale Chalets

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pilot Whale Chalets
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautifullllll !!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

These cabins were beautifull inside & out !! Also very clean, lady at front desk was great ! Willl be back 4 sure !!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelchick0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    33
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
37
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheticamp, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

We had a wonderful week in the deluxe chalet - the view was spectacular, beautiful views of the water on three sides. The staff was great, very in tune with the area and made great suggestions. Chalet was very clean. Re: kitchen supplies, we could have used more plates/knives, etc as we had a large group staying. The free laundry facilities for guests were a great idea! Beds were brand new and very comfy, bathroom had whirlpool and shower and having both was a great idea. See you next year!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PB2Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

Had single room with kitchenette. Spacious bedroom and bathroom. Walked to back of property to see sunset. Only issue was that windows couldn't be darkened to sleep late. Otherwise great value and good location to Cape Breton Park.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldwiseHouston_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
83 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

For practicality Pilot Whale was great - for what it could be, we wished for a little bit more.

We were a group of 4 - we stayed in a two bedroom chalet and a small individual room. They were functional and clean - yet impersonal and 'sterile'. The furniture was cool vinyl and the floors were white tile with no rugs, and the walls were stark white. There was little that was cozy and inviting. The biggest flaw was that the views are breathtaking but the windows are tiny - so you have to go outside to see the views. Honestly - with the ocean and Cabot Trail views it was just a very poor decision to not put in large windows.

The front desk service was as cool and sterile as the rooms - polite enough, accommodating enough, but not warm and welcoming. There is a free DVD library and a wood burning stove in the chalet. So we had a god time, the views were stunning, we got our money's worth - but we would have so loved a little bit of coziness.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieScarlettO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

The Pilot Whale chalets is a great spot to explore Cape Breton. Its nice to be able to self cater, and the kitchen was well equiped with the basics. Its not plush, but comfortable, with great views, and very close to Cape Breton Park. We used the free DVD libary when the rain temporarly stopped play, and we hunkered up in our chalet.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane_and_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Waterford, NS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

My husband and I along with another couple decided to do a mini 3 day vacation to enjoy the Cabot Trail. The accomodations at the Pilot Whale Chalets in Cheticamp, NS were exceptional. The chalet boasted leather sofa and chair, digital TV, phone, internet availability along with a dishwasher in the room also (who wants to spend their time doing dishes on vacation when there are so many other things to do). There is a beautiful private beach on site along with laundry facilities, The chalet was positively gleaming and the owner, John Power came to check to see if everything was to our liking. How could it not be? Everything was perfect, the only problem was we could only stay one night. This little fishing village has wonderful restaurants, gift shops, night life and friendly people and the scenery is astonishing. We sat on our deck and watched the whales in the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2009

Stayed in a 3 bedroom house for 4 nights in June. Purely a fluke when we had to change our original plans. Accomodation was clean and service was excellent, Fridge needed to be replaced but couldn't fault the staff for their help. Having had a week of rain the weather was bright and sunny. Saw moose and bear & watched whales out at sea.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thompsons_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheticamp
0.0 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
0.0 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auberge Doucet Inn
Auberge Doucet Inn
#3 of 8 in Cheticamp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bay Wind Suites
Bay Wind Suites
#4 of 8 in Cheticamp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabot Trail Sea and Golf Chalets
0.0 mi away
The Yellow Sidecar B & B
The Yellow Sidecar B & B
#1 of 1 in Cap Le Moine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilot Whale Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilot Whale Chalets

Property: Pilot Whale Chalets
Address: 15775 Cabot Trail, Cheticamp, Nova Scotia B0E 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Cheticamp
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Cheticamp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pilot Whale Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilot Whale Chalets Cheticamp, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing